We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“devonshire hotel liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Excellent value for money, good English food for dinner with excellent service, breakfast was also very good yet again with excellent service, staff were very helpful and friendly, room was clean,plenty of car parking out of view from passing motorists Definitely will use this hotel again, it is a very good find. Thanks everyone we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book early for weekend trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we really do appreciate your time.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. I am also pleased you found our facilities, service and offerings to be excellent.

The team at the Devonshire House Hotel are delighted to be able to offer you a warm welcome and efficient service and we hope that you are able to return to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Liverpool


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed two nights here for £76 inc breakfast. Hotel is set back from road, fronted by a separate building and annexe used for weddings. The gardens are quite large and well maintained and the main hotel is an old listed building. Our room 303 had a double and single bed very clean and maid service came in daily whilst we were there. Bathroom had all you need but very dated and tired as were the carpets. Hotel needs a good makeover and could be much more upmarket. All staff were friendly and helpful, bar is open till 12 in the week. Restaurant is a nice room and breakfast good value for the money. Book this with the hotel as is £5 we paid £6 with Booking. com. Only 3 miles from Albert Dock so quite handy

Room Tip: Our room was fine but from the other reviews this seems not always the case so have a look first and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercedesboy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. I am thrilled to learn that you found all team members to be friendly, helpful and willing to assist.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon when we will have the opportunity of looking after you once again.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Comfortable and clean hotel. Very basic but great value for money and large rooms. Good free parking and is only a short drive from the city centre.
The only slight problem was that the signal from the wifi was too weak to get any Internet connection in out room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiglet18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your stay with us.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to enjoy a future stay

Warmest Regards #


Devonshire House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

As we arrived the location surrounding the hotel seemed to be quite rough and maybe walking to town you might feel a little unsafe. As parking up,the garden and hotel outside looked lovely and well presented this gave a very welcoming atmosphere. Reception area was ok the receptionist was friendly but we couldn't understand what she was talking about as she had an accent. We were walking to our room and the hall way seemed posh but smelt like an old people's home (stale urine and tobacco like the windows haven't been opened in decades) polish tried to covered up the disgusting smell. Our room was basic but looked clean the first thing we recognised was the pancake pillows (flat) went to make a cup of tea and the plug started sizzling and sparking this is dangerous and was reported we were given another kettle and the man tried to pull the plug out but it seemed to be stuck like super glue. First nights sleep was uncomfortable and awkward as the pillows gave us a neck ache we found in the morning that I had been bitten by some sort of bug in the room we started to question of what it was so we went to hospital and later on got told it was bed bugs (disgusting) I wanted to immediately change rooms as I was not going to sleep that night in a Vermin infected bed. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE! I have suffered itching, trips to hospital (A&E) and serious infection. NO hotel should have bed bugs no matter what price you pay! I think this hotel needs serious cleaning and removal of bed bugs, absolutely disgusting. How do you get away with things like this?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Screen182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Public Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Bed bugs are a very serious issue in our industry today. This is not a subject to be taken lightly and one that is acted on immediately. Although we have our hotel inspected regularly for any evidence of bed bugs, we also follow up immediately on any guest concern. In the case of this guest our contracted pest control providor was on called to the site after the alleged report.
We appreciate and are thankful for the concern and awareness of our travelers which would enable us to eliminate a problem immediately should it arise.

We will continue to immediately act on even the slightest concern of any of our guests in this serious matter. We will also continue to support the findings of the professionals we hire to handle any pest control situations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the hotel for one night. We booked 2 rooms, our room was OK for the price we paid, although was very dated, with faded damaged carpets, but was clean. My daughters room however was quite poor. The windows would not open, the TV did not work and overal the decor was very dated and the carpet needed replacing but again was clean.

Due to an early start we were unable to have breakfast so am unable to comment on the quality of food.

Evening receptionionist was very pleasant and chatty, however the morning one was not as pleasant.

The loaction of the hotel was perfect for our stay but I would not like to think I had paid full price for it.
Sorry!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 123wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback,.

We do acknowledge the fact that a limited amount of rooms have not been updated yet but plans are in place to address these over the next 12 months.

The Devonshire House Hotel is still very good value for money.

We can though assure you our rooms have very good levels of cleanliness.

Our commitment to investing in our property will continue this year with renovations to our bedrooms, banquet and conference areas.


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed in lots if hotels with my children and this is by far and a way the best. Expecting the usual double bed with a single sofa bed crammed in I was delighted to have a spacious double with not 1 but 2 singles. As previously mentioned there is a little wall paper missing but the gardens are beautiful the breakfast staff couldn't have been more helpful with demanding fussy children and the whole stay was excellent and I will certainly stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone.

It is great to know that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. It is also great to know that you had a good night’s sleep in our comfortable beds.

I do hope that you return to stay with us in the future, when we will have the opportunity to look after you once again.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have just returned home for having 2 nights at this hotel. We got this as a deal through KGB Deals and for what we paid it was ok. However, for people staying here not on a deal I think it is extremely poor. Decor is appalling, ripped wallpaper, stained and torn carpets throughout the hotel. Room was very poor, spare duvets had stains and a pair of false eyelashes stuck to them!!! Bathroom was clean but date and sink was severely cracked. The only acceptable thing about staying here is the location to the town centre approx £5 for a taxi. Food was disgusting, all cheap frozen food used. States 'home made' soup but it wasn't it was powder soup with water added! Fish and chips were frozen and deep fried and as for the puddings a little circle of so called torte which thy charge £4.95 for. Tables were unclean and not cleaned for next person sitting down. I rate this hotel a 1 out of 5. Shame as gardens beautiful but once you enter you want to turn around and leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest,

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to detail your experience during your stay. I am sorry that your stay was not a positive one, your comments have been shared and addressed with the relevant head of department to ensure we do not receive any similar feedback.

I am disappointed to read that you feel that you are unable to return to stay with us, however I sincerely do hope that this changes and that you consider staying with us again in the future, when I am sure you will have a more positive stay.

Warmest Regards


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#75 of 98 in Liverpool
597 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#40 of 98 in Liverpool
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
367 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £32 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing