We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tracy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tracy”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived today at this hotel and was quite worried after reading the reviews! Yes the rooms are a bit tired but they are clean and comfortable, the restaurant staff were really nice and we could not fault the food on the KGB deal menu, I had a prawn cocktail, half a roast chicken and a baileys cheesecake, my mum has travelled round the world and stayed in a 7 star hotel in Thailand and said that this hotel was certainly not the worst hotel she had stayed in! For a budget break in a budget hotel you cannot fault the Devonshire House hotel, not tried brekkie yet but after our evening meal I am sure we won't be disappointed

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Tracy


I am delighted that you were able to stay with us on one of the many ‘deals’ that we are delighted to be able to offer.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am really pleased like many other guests that you found our team members to be always welcoming. I will ensure that your great feedback is shared with them,

I hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    202
    172
    120
    136
See reviews for
134
267
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Horrendous start to finish. The room had no heating and when I complained that the radiators werent on I was told that the hotel only had 2 boilers and therefore we were provided with an argos fan heater... Im not being funny but for £80 a night thats disgusting. The hotel is very runned down and in desperate need of I would like to say a make over but if im honest its in desperate need of being shut down. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the heating issue.

On the night you stayed we did have a probelm with one of our boilers which resulted in some rooms having limited heating this was rectified within 24 Hours.

Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Liverpool you will give our hotel another try.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Grubby room. Sticky handle on bed side drawers. Dirty cups. Dirty kettle. Old teabags. No wifi.
Breakfast: deep fried frozen sausages. The cheapest of tinned tomatoes. Eggs cooked in what tasted like old oil.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grumlegoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, General Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations. We'll strive to improve on some of the points you have highlighted in your review.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

this is what every taxi driver taking me or from this hotel told me!!!! And yes there were plenty of signs of a struggle. The broken stair rails held together with electrical tape, carpet held down with "gaffa" tape. Wardrobes that would tip forward if you opened both doors (room 404) and a bed that was falling to bits, the table that was holding the telly had a dodgy leg and was likely to collapse on a whim. The hotel was opened in the nineties and nothing had changed, it was very shabby, towels were rationed and the downstairs corridor smelt of a public bathroom. This establishment is too far out of town, far better to go with the Crown Plaza or the likes.......sadly the CP was fully booked when we needed to be in Liverpool and this was way down on the list of what was available. it was so bad it was almost funny...........oh do not have the Thai curry, unless you are a fan of Uncle Bens...........and are not a huge fan of coconut . And if you choose to eat in the restaurant look out for the huge cobwebs...........they must be from the nineties too.

Room Tip: Anything in the Crown Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, General Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback,all the points and concerns have been taken up and and are being addressed ,


Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our experience seems to echo many of the other reviews. I had looked at the hotel's owns web site and it looked very nice. We had a KGB deal and we were really looking forward to our stay there. We arrived early afternoon and were given the key for a room on the third floor, when we got in the lift the button for the third floor was missing so we had to go to the second floor and then walk up the stairs to the third floor. The room smelt musty and was as basic as you can get. We went back to reception and explained about the lift and asked if we could be moved to a lower floor, we were given a room on the first floor which thankfully didn't smell but was cold, there were no curtains to the windows just blinds, there was a big stain on the carpet, also a hole in the carpet, the radiators were just aired even though we turned them full on. The toilet was loose and appeared to be coming away from the wall when I sat on it (I am not a large person!). There was only one pillow each on the bed and there was not a wardrobe just a clothes rail like you would find in a charity shop.
We went into Liverpool for a couple of hours and on our return went to the lounge bar for a drink before dinner. As several other reviewers have remarked the whole place is 'tired' and needs a good clean. In the restaurant (which was warmer than the rest of the building) the waiter said KGB and slapped a menu on the table, the choice was limited and everything came with chips! I opted for gammon and egg, I left all the gammon and only ate the yolk of the egg which was solid! - the desserts are best avoided. After the meal we decided we couldn't sleep at the hotel and left. We have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say this is the worst 'hotel' we have ever stayed in.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillsntina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I have just got back from a 2 night stay with a friend. The meal on the 1st night was good. Staff were all very accomadating and friendly. A problem we had with the radiator was fixed very quickly. The breakfast was good and service was excellent. The rooms were very plain but perfectly adequate. The only fault we could find was the television, we were unable to get ITV or Channel 4 but plenty of other channels to watch. We did however need to keep switching off the tv as it kept freezing which did become annoying when trying to relax and watch a film. Overall the hotel was good value for money and a good base for a shopping trip. On a nice day it is within easy walking distance of the town centre. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, General Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Devonshire for work in October 2013. It is very faded from what must have been a good heyday. The room I was in on the first night was depressing in terms of the standards of decor. It was at the front of the building which faces onto a 4 lane dual carriage way which meant that I slept poorly that first night. I asked to move and was given a much quieter room at the back of the hotel for my second night there. Unfortunately the view from the bedroom was of a Scrap yard! The staff were friendly. The restaurant is well decorated and welcoming and served a variety of meals as well as a good English breakfast.
Sorry I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you find it difficult to sleep with traffic noise - ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKirby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Public Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Devonshire House Hotel

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered
during your recent stay. We will review the area of concern and improve.
our team hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you again.


Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
565 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#40 of 97 in Liverpool
1,069 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
579 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#66 of 97 in Liverpool
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing