We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY HORRENDOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just returned from a night at this hotel - if it wasn't for the fact we were going to a function there and I had prepaid for the room I would have left on arrival. It was seriously one of the worst places I have ever stayed - think Youth Hostel but worse. We went to the residents bar for a drink - this was cold, dirty and dated back to the 1970's with very unfriendly staff. The room was cold and untidy and overlooked the rubbish in the yard - we were woken in the morning to seagulls ripping the bags apart. Went to the bathroom only to find that the taps didn't work in the bath which meant neither a shower or bath - luckily it was a short drive from home and we couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: I was born in Liverpool and it is beautiful city with lots to see and do and many great hotels - th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. However, I am extremely concerned by the issues you have raised, particularly the bedroom and maintenance issues I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the impact that these issues had on your stay.


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Free and plenty parking.
Nice garden.
Near to city cente.
Quiet and calm.
Spacious quadraple room for £60 per nite.
They had long bath.
Value for £££.Highly recommended.Friendly staff.
Only-no wardrobe.just hanging rack.no fridge.socket too high for charging.but despite all these,we had a nice stay!!!Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerembanDzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Devonshire House Hotel whilst visiting Liverpool.

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I will make sure your comments are passed on to the entire team here.

We look forward to your next visit


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend before Christmas and had a good deal which included breakfast and dinner.

The hotel is set in a decent location if you are spending the weekend in Liverpool and are planning to catch a game. It's halfway between Anfield and the city centre.

The hotel has a nice facade and the communal areas are decent for a 3* hotel, although the bar was a bit smelly. The hotel does not appear to have been modernised much in the last quarter century.

The concierge was professional and checked us in speedily but we couldn't help thinking she was in a hurry.

The room key was quite difficult to use, but the room was spacious and had ample furniture. There were a few broken items in the room such as the soap dispenser, and we found leftover items from the previous guests. The bed was comfortable but the walls and floors are very thin. We could hear guests next door and above us, even if they weren't being particularly loud.

The breakfast was decent if not spectacular. The dinner was plentiful and a decent quality.

Staff did their jobs but nothing more. We got the impression they weren't busy but were somewhat preoccupied. They weren't rude, but then they weren't friendly. They just did their jobs when they had to and the rest of the time it felt like they were socialising. Not a bad thing, it meant that they were clearly happy in their work and the management was sound. It just meant that they came across as being a bit casual.

Do not use the taxi company that the hotel recommend. You will see their cards at the front desk, and their advert in the guest book in your hotel room. I booked a taxi at 1130 to collect us at 1200 for a 1245 kick off at Anfield. The taxi not only failed to arrive on time but when it did arrive at 1235 resulted in us missing the start of the game. Not only were the staff flippant about it (trying to argue with me that kick-off was at 1300) but they also tried to pacify me by telling me at 1220 that I was "top of the queue" and that "the first taxi available would be mine". As it happened one of their taxis was filling up at the gas station next to our hotel and drove off afterwards, so this was dishonest.

All in all a decent stay but the hotel must be seen in the context of being a 3*, and so the rating given is equated with our expectations of other 3* hotels. Would stay here again as it did serve a purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Perreira_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We welcome all feedback from our guests to enable us to make future improvements to our services.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is what it is, Yes the building is a little tired and dated but it is an older building.
The reception was friendly and quickly checked us in.
The room was clean in fact very clean and smelling fresh.
We were happy to meet all the staff and we found them all to be very helpful and eager to help us and were a goldmine of local knowledge and by the way very amusing with their scouse wit and humor.
The breakfast was well presented and served with a smile and a bright Good morning.
Overall we were very happy during our stay the consensus was that our expectations had been met and we would recommend the hotel with just one reservation..

If you are looking for a hotel with all the bells and whistles look elsewhere However if you are looking for a well priced mid range hotel with clean rooms and clean sheets and a very warm welcome then get yourself down to the Devonshire House Hotel next time you are stopping in Liverpool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Stuart

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we really do appreciate it.

I am pleased that you chose to stay with us and that that location of the hotel was suitable for your needs.

It is great to know that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, our service, offerings and facilities.

My team and I look forward to your visit and being able to look after you once again.


Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We arrived today at this hotel and was quite worried after reading the reviews! Yes the rooms are a bit tired but they are clean and comfortable, the restaurant staff were really nice and we could not fault the food on the KGB deal menu, I had a prawn cocktail, half a roast chicken and a baileys cheesecake, my mum has travelled round the world and stayed in a 7 star hotel in Thailand and said that this hotel was certainly not the worst hotel she had stayed in! For a budget break in a budget hotel you cannot fault the Devonshire House hotel, not tried brekkie yet but after our evening meal I am sure we won't be disappointed

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank tracyreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Guest Relations Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Tracy


I am delighted that you were able to stay with us on one of the many ‘deals’ that we are delighted to be able to offer.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am really pleased like many other guests that you found our team members to be always welcoming. I will ensure that your great feedback is shared with them,

I hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Horrendous start to finish. The room had no heating and when I complained that the radiators werent on I was told that the hotel only had 2 boilers and therefore we were provided with an argos fan heater... Im not being funny but for £80 a night thats disgusting. The hotel is very runned down and in desperate need of I would like to say a make over but if im honest its in desperate need of being shut down. Avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the heating issue.

On the night you stayed we did have a probelm with one of our boilers which resulted in some rooms having limited heating this was rectified within 24 Hours.

Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Liverpool you will give our hotel another try.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Grubby room. Sticky handle on bed side drawers. Dirty cups. Dirty kettle. Old teabags. No wifi.
Breakfast: deep fried frozen sausages. The cheapest of tinned tomatoes. Eggs cooked in what tasted like old oil.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Grumlegoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, General Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations. We'll strive to improve on some of the points you have highlighted in your review.

Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#75 of 98 in Liverpool
597 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#40 of 98 in Liverpool
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
367 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £32 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing