We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good enough :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I only stayed one night as a quick overnight stay. Room 303

The Gardens where very nice, I can see why they have weddings there Looked to have a decent business centre too.
I found the Staff to be very good and friendly.

I booked a single room and was given a room with a double bed plus a single bed so plenty of space for myself, I couldn't sleep in the double as it was uncomfortable and squeaky ever time I moved in it, So slept in the single which was perfect comfortable and quiet The room was good enough, The hotel was very quiet, a reason why I was given a bigger room? which was very Welcome. I went for Breakfast and there was only me there at the time (8.00am) and The breakfast was very nice.

It was near perfect for me, but If I was with my Fiancee I think the Double bed would have been an issue, perhaps if I had been with another we would have been given another room

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baroslfc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Director of Sales at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay at our hotel, I am delighted that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. I'll make sure to pass your comments on to all the team here.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    198
    165
    114
    134
See reviews for
130
258
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night to attend a family party close by. The room was a good size,clean and very warm. You could not adjust the radiator and it was difficult to work out how to operate the shower and television. We only paid £50 for the room and an additional £12 for breakfast for the two of us. In some areas the hotel smelled like a nursing home and it needed a good hoovering. There were many signs of wear and tear and the decor was in definite need of updating. We were told at breakfast to help ourselves to the food on offer but there was at least one and sometimes two people serving the hot food from a small serving area. It was quite intimidating and not self service at all. However the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall the hotel is probably decent value for money but it needs a thorough makeover and a lot of money spending on it. It is well placed for the city and costs less than city centre hotels but all in all if you are going into the city the taxi fare would be better spent on a city hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Devonshire House Hotel,

I would however like to thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback as I will personally review each of your points with the management team, and take corrective measures to insure the consistent delivery of service standards.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Ok please dont book this place and expect 5* cause it aint, I paid £38.50 for 1 night inc breakfast and it was ok. It was a bed for the night whilst away from home with work. My room was red hot and I couldn't turn radiators down but a call to reception and it was sorted by the time I came back to hotel after eating out. Friendly staff, good location for city and very reasonably priced.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Squawking44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Devonshire House Hotel and secondly for sharing your feedback, the team will be very pleased to note that they were mentioned as being “ friendly”.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

By reading all the previous reviews I was actually dreading my pre booked trip to Liverpool at the devonshire . We had planned a couple of days sightseeing in Liverpool. Albeit it's quite a walk into the centre but were walkers and it didn't deter us one bit, altho if you were laden with bags you might wanna take a bus (loads and loads available) or taxi back home. The rooms were plain, furniture bit dated, but clean and at the end of the day nothing more than we needed for a sightseeing weekend. We Sussed the radiator which left our room lovely and toasty and the English staff were really accomadating at evening meal and breakfasts.. All in all I was satisfied with the devonshire. It's a old building with history so be prepared xxx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rizzo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Front Office Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback with everyone, we appreciate your time.

I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you found our facilities, service, location and team members to be to your satisfaction.

I really hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to Liverpool

Warmewst Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I started to work in Liverpool 20 months ago. I stumbled across the Devonshire House Hotel the second week I was there and stayed every Monday to Thursday for the duration of my contract. It is an oasis with a beautiful large garden and close to the city centre, perfect for my needs. The hotel is clean and tidy and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The service is excellent and the staff are all friendly - it was their friendliness and helpfulness that really made my stay away from home each week bearable.
For a budget hotel this is a delight and far outstrips the characterless hotel chains. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an economic, city centre, friendly hotel. Thank you to everyone at the Devonshire!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Harmesh,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while working in Liverpool

I am pleased that we were able to look after you during your stay over the last year and that the hotel was to your satisfaction.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I can assure you that all of the team members will be made aware of your comments as they serve as a great motivator.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and I am pleased that over the last year there was no exception.

It has been a pleasure to look after while you were working in Liverpool.

Come back and see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The house keeping service didn't make the room one day and others only stretched the sheets. I went to talk reception that night and the ma'am told me that she was there "only for security reasons". No solution to the problem and really bad rude way. They force you to pay when you checked-in (even when they have your card as guarantee), but they won't give you the bill until the check-out. Not wi-fi in the room. They don't accept AMEX card. Two bulbs burn out in my room. A really bad experience at Devonshire House Hotel.
Breakfast too expensive for what they give it to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamboleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to detail your experience during your stay. I am sorry that your stay with us did not wow you and your comments have been shared and addressed with the relevant head of department to ensure we do not receive any similar feedback.

I am disappointed that you encountered less than perfect service as our team members are fully trained to offer a high quality service and I am very sorry that you did not encountered this during your stay. All relevant team members have been given visibility of your comments to ensure that there is no repeat.

I do hope that you are able to reconsider visiting us in the future.


Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I'll write my conclusion first so that people who want to read my detailed review can then carry on. In a nutshell, I didn't see any evidence of damp, broken furniture or uncleanliness and I feel previous reviews are very unfair. Why don't people leave good reviews? I suspect because they enjoy moaning!

Pros: cheap, comfortable bed, spacious room, warm, clean, tidy, lots of storage, no noise, decent breakfast.

Cons: Staff are sometimes a bit dour and abrupt, poor instructions and signs to find our room.

Basically:
if you're a snob don't stay here.

If you're on a budget but still expect The Ritz for £35 a night, don't stay here.

If you want a nice warm bed, TV, shower/bath and breakfast that you'd get at a greasy spoon for a good price - stay here.

I've stayed at ibis budget etc, paid way more and got much less. Also, the building and gardens have character and are much more interesting to look at.

Full Review
I stayed at this hotel with my wife on New Year's day as we had travelled to watch a football match in the city. We had booked the hotel due to the price (£35 for the night) and its proximity to Liverpool city centre. We then became worried after clicking on here and reading several bad reviews. So, what a lovely surprise it was to be greeted by such a nice hotel with real character.

Firstly, we arrived in the morning too early to book in as we had a hospitality day booked at Anfield but the staff were happy for us to leave our car (free) in the car park whilst we went. We caught a bus from nearby Prescot Road (5min walk).

When we got back, check-in was quick although directions to the room were a little sketchy and there was a lack of signage to help us. After a bit of exploring and trying our luck with what seemed to be a random white fire door we found our room (402).

The room itself was spacious with a nice view of the surrounding gardens, everything was very clean and tidy (fresh soap, new toilet rolls, spare pillows, tea and coffee etc) and the TV was a lovely, big, slim Samsung - great to watch the new epsiode of Sherlock! In response to previous reviews, it was also lovely and warm, despite the weather outside being completely miserable!

We had a great night's sleep and in the morning we headed down for our breakfast which we were advised would be £6 each. For that we had a choice of Sausage, scrambled egg, chopped tomatoes, beans and hash browns. There was also a choice of cereals, toast and yoghurts as well as tea/coffee/fruit juice. The breakfast tasted perfectly good to me, it wasn't michelin star stuff but then you get what you pay for. Further to this, when we checked out, we were told that as a new year deal our breakfast was actually FREE! (my favourite!).

So, all in all, we really enjoyed our stay and saw none of the problems mentioned previously. The reason I decided to write this review is because it seemed so unbalanced and unfair that there are so many negative reviews for what seems like a great, cheap hotel. Things like "knives and forks look like they were from the pound shop" - Who Cares?! Did it chop your food up? Wasn't the hotel only £35? What did you expect? They have to make a profit somehow.

I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Front Office Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during you visit to Liverpool

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I can assure you that all of the team members will be made aware of your comments as they serve as a great motivator.

Our team work hard to deliver high standards of hospitality at all time and I am pleased that on this occasion there was no exception.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing