We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked this on Booking.com and when I arrived the first thing was that the outside appearance was far shabbier than the photographs. The first room we were shown was nothing short of shocking. It was horrible. Bare,dirty marks on the walls, dingy furniture, no curtains, and an overall appearance of being grubby and in need of a good cleaning. We were then offered an upgraded room! The upgraded room had no bed head,grubby sticky furniture and toilet roll stuffed into the window frame to keep out the draughts and rain. This was supposed to be a 3 star hotel! One star would be one to many. I have stayed in hostels and albergues that were far superior. This is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Book into a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Colin B

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor it always helps to get feedback. I am really sadden you did not make us aware you were not happy during your stay, I am sure we could have made you stay much more pleasurable.

I have asked our heads of department to investigate your comments and put measures in place to ensure this does not happen again.

I am more than happy to discuss your experience at the Devonshire Hotel please call me at your convenience

Please accept our sincere apologies, for not managing your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards

John brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    198
    165
    114
    134
See reviews for
130
259
35
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived in a wet & windy night to find the reception area pleasant but freezing cold. The chap behind reception was polite & friendly.
We had a double room on the first floor. It reminded me of a DSS hostel. Polystyrene suspended ceiling just like a 70"a government building. No curtains at the windows, just a blackout blind which left the room feeling more like a prison cell.
The furniture was old fashioned pine and was incredibly tatty. The headboard was made of fabric but looked greasy & dirty.
The bathroom looked like it had recently been refurbished............by a small child. It had the potential to be lovely but the tap was dripping and when we tried to turn it off the whole tap twisted round. The toilet roll holder was broken. The shaving light did not work along with two bulbs also missing in the bathroom.
After about 15 minutes in the room we decided that we couldn't stay there and chose to book in elsewhere in the city centre. In fairness we did not complain largely due to the fact that the problems could not possibly have been rectified.

The outside of the hotel is very smart as are the gardens. This hotel is in need of a complete refurb.

Stay at the Travelodge in town, modern, better value and most of all, clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucylastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Lucylasitc

Many Thanks for your comments though disappointing to read, you did arrive at the hotel on what can only be said as the coldest wettest and windiest day of the year in Liverpool.

The weather did create lots of problems for us that evening I am really sorry you felt the need to leave us with mentioning your dissatisfaction and any of the issues u had.

I would also like to point out we have embarked on a soft refurbishment program in the hotel as it is our intention to bring all of our rooms up to the same standard.

Please accept our apologises for any inconvenience you felt you had received.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Blantyre
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here in early February on a short stay to Liverpool.the reception hall was cold and uninviting as was the bar when I found it,there wasn't even any drinks on show on the gantry.
The room we were put in was right up at the top and was clean and tidy but needed a bit of TCL.
The food was not what I expected,we could have got a better menu in a cafe in the city.
The staff at breakfast time were very helpful.
When we do go back to Liverpool we will want to stay longer but unfortunately it will not be at the Devonshire House.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Andy1952
Thank you for your comments about your experience when you stayed with us.

As you can appreciate we have been experiencing some very extreme weather conditions in the UK and Liverpool as not been without its problems.

Keeping our reception area warm and inviting can prove to be difficult in the winter months. But we are working on it and apologies if this affected you.

Our bar area is signposted and I will look at that issue to avoid our guest getting confused when looking for our bar area.

We endeavour to please all of our guest who dine with us, are restaurant menu is extensive well balanced and I am sorry you felt it not suitable.

We do encourage our guest to comment on our business as we are always striving for perfection.


Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

just come back from another great stay at the Devonshire, this hotel is the best hotel i have ever stayed in for service and value,yes it may be a bit outdated as some have said, but its clean and fully adequate for a great stay and great value for money, the staff are the best nothing is too much trouble, the restaurant staff in particular are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is great.
Jean and Adrian Shaw

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be amazing but unfortunately its been allowed to out date and get run done. You get what you pay for. Room I was in had a really old pine wardrobe that looked as if it was going to fall apart. A head board that was screwed to the wall off level. Just no attention to detail. Its like as if who ever owns this place really does not care. Breakfast was nice though.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are sorry for letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon.


Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Had a lovely Queenie's Christmas dinner at this hotel just before Christmas 2013 courtesy of Herbert of Liverpool.
The first thing one notices is the well worn carpet in the reception area but otherwise the pace was clean and the toilets spotless considering there were many people there for Xmas dinner.
The food was very tasty and hot, and the service was good. Could not fault anything about the place but we felt that the drinks were a little over priced. We being pensioners we are counting our coppers ! We had a fantastic day with music and entertainment.
This hotel is situated about 5 minutes drive away from Liverpool with plenty of parking space but it needs to be better signposted.
Would definitely go again. We did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the bedrooms.

Room Tip: In a convenient area for busses to Liverpool or a 15 minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Ruby,

Thank you for your excellent review of Devonshire House Hotel and Queenie's Christmas Party courtsey of Herbert .Reading your comments on both our food and service make our day, and really lift the team as a whole.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely building, now looking a bit tired. Comfortable room. Great breakfast. Really friendly dining room staff. Good access to city centre. Inexpensive, and therefore great value for money. Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased by your comments and delighted that you really enjoyed your visit to the Devonshire House hotel Liverpool.

We aim to offer a product that is excellent in both service and quality, whilst also being competitive in terms of price and so I am very pleased that this is exactly what you experienced.

I will make the team aware of your comments, and I am sure that we will welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing