We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just got back from a couple of days in L'Pool. Once again had a lovely stay at the Devonshire, never ever found staff so nice and helpful. Food was great, room was comfy and cosy, food was excellent. Will be back again, preferably in the summer when the lovely gardens are in full bloom. Well done all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Marie
Many thanks for your kind remarks, they were really nice to hear, the team do appreciate hearing kind words and positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on you next visit if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    200
    170
    116
    135
See reviews for
132
265
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have just come back from 2 nights at the devonshire. It didn't bother us that it was a taxi drive to liverpool centre it was only a fiver but the hotel was a let down. The shower head was broken you had to hold it place. The toilet wouldn't flush which we reported to reception but was not rectified. The room looked shabby and the bed uncomfortable. Would rather be in a travellodge at least they are clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julesbDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Julies Darlington

I am sorry you didn’t find the hotel comfortable, were are aware some areas of the hotel are tired and we are continuing to address the issues.

I would also like to point out were are currently embarking on a soft refurbishment programme this will be on going and any issues that may arise will be added to the programme.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights last week and i have to say i felt a bit of trepidation before arriving as I had read some of the comments on trip adviser.

I booked here based on my budget and the fact it was quite near where I needed to be and parking was free a rare commodity these days.

Up on arrival the gardens where beautiful and well kept the reception staff were pleasant and helpful i was given my room 102 i think it was

The room was really nice and clean basic but nice had one drink in the bar it was also nice
My bed was comfortable warm and i slept well

At breakfast the staff were attentive food was lovely not at all what i expected from the reviews this hotel has had
I would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Mark W

Thank you for your kind comments it always a pleasure when our guest take the time to write such positive comments about the hotel and staff.

The staff are equally pleased to read such positive comments. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return soon

Once again I would like to take this opportunity to say many thanks for taking time out, to make us aware how pleased you were with your experience here.

Kind regards
John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel could do with a good overall the window in our room was chained at the top to hold it in also the taps in the bathroom came off in your hand the shower didn't work all the water came out on the floor so we were on our hands and knees mopping the water up.It was a large room on the front we were given it needed a lot of TLC. The breakfast on the first morning was stone cold also the toast was cold we complained and was told the lights had not been lit under the dishes.This Hotel was to far out of the city buses runs ever half hour quite a walk to the bus stop wont be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiinamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Chiinamay

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor though disappointing to read, I have asked the housekeeper and head chef to investigate on your comments you left on trip advisor.

The bus stop is 100 yards from the hotel and the distance to the city centre is only one and a half miles away.

As always it disappoints me when our guest don’t make us aware of any issues they may have while they are with us. We do our upmost to resolve problems that can happen from time to time.

I do hope you take the decision to come and stay with us again as I am sure we could change your mind set about us.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I booked this on Booking.com and when I arrived the first thing was that the outside appearance was far shabbier than the photographs. The first room we were shown was nothing short of shocking. It was horrible. Bare,dirty marks on the walls, dingy furniture, no curtains, and an overall appearance of being grubby and in need of a good cleaning. We were then offered an upgraded room! The upgraded room had no bed head,grubby sticky furniture and toilet roll stuffed into the window frame to keep out the draughts and rain. This was supposed to be a 3 star hotel! One star would be one to many. I have stayed in hostels and albergues that were far superior. This is a disgrace.

Room Tip: Book into a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Colin B

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor it always helps to get feedback. I am really sadden you did not make us aware you were not happy during your stay, I am sure we could have made you stay much more pleasurable.

I have asked our heads of department to investigate your comments and put measures in place to ensure this does not happen again.

I am more than happy to discuss your experience at the Devonshire Hotel please call me at your convenience

Please accept our sincere apologies, for not managing your expectations on this occasion.

Kind regards

John brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived in a wet & windy night to find the reception area pleasant but freezing cold. The chap behind reception was polite & friendly.
We had a double room on the first floor. It reminded me of a DSS hostel. Polystyrene suspended ceiling just like a 70"a government building. No curtains at the windows, just a blackout blind which left the room feeling more like a prison cell.
The furniture was old fashioned pine and was incredibly tatty. The headboard was made of fabric but looked greasy & dirty.
The bathroom looked like it had recently been refurbished............by a small child. It had the potential to be lovely but the tap was dripping and when we tried to turn it off the whole tap twisted round. The toilet roll holder was broken. The shaving light did not work along with two bulbs also missing in the bathroom.
After about 15 minutes in the room we decided that we couldn't stay there and chose to book in elsewhere in the city centre. In fairness we did not complain largely due to the fact that the problems could not possibly have been rectified.

The outside of the hotel is very smart as are the gardens. This hotel is in need of a complete refurb.

Stay at the Travelodge in town, modern, better value and most of all, clean.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucylastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Lucylasitc

Many Thanks for your comments though disappointing to read, you did arrive at the hotel on what can only be said as the coldest wettest and windiest day of the year in Liverpool.

The weather did create lots of problems for us that evening I am really sorry you felt the need to leave us with mentioning your dissatisfaction and any of the issues u had.

I would also like to point out we have embarked on a soft refurbishment program in the hotel as it is our intention to bring all of our rooms up to the same standard.

Please accept our apologises for any inconvenience you felt you had received.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here in early February on a short stay to Liverpool.the reception hall was cold and uninviting as was the bar when I found it,there wasn't even any drinks on show on the gantry.
The room we were put in was right up at the top and was clean and tidy but needed a bit of TCL.
The food was not what I expected,we could have got a better menu in a cafe in the city.
The staff at breakfast time were very helpful.
When we do go back to Liverpool we will want to stay longer but unfortunately it will not be at the Devonshire House.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Andy1952
Thank you for your comments about your experience when you stayed with us.

As you can appreciate we have been experiencing some very extreme weather conditions in the UK and Liverpool as not been without its problems.

Keeping our reception area warm and inviting can prove to be difficult in the winter months. But we are working on it and apologies if this affected you.

Our bar area is signposted and I will look at that issue to avoid our guest getting confused when looking for our bar area.

We endeavour to please all of our guest who dine with us, are restaurant menu is extensive well balanced and I am sorry you felt it not suitable.

We do encourage our guest to comment on our business as we are always striving for perfection.


Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing