We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First appearance is misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 12 March 2014

When pulling up to the hotel it looks lovely, The garden and grounds are well maintained if only i could say the same about the inside, I knew as we booked a KGB deal it wasnt going to be anything fantastic, I just ask for it to be clean which i was a little disappointed with, The breakfast room didnt look like it had been hoovered in a while and the table cloth was dirty when we sat down for breakfast, Soup spoons were laid out for cereals which was a litttle confusing,You have a choice of hot/cold breakfast or both. The rooms were basic which i dont have a problem with but out of date biscuits and dirty cups isnt a good sign. There was mould in the bathroom around the ceiling and thick dirt around and behind the toilet, The toilet roll holder kept falling off which was slightly annoying. This hotel has a bar area and we were told it opened at 5 o'clock, 6.20pm it still wasnt open and the night befores dirty glasses were still sitting on the side, Overall this hotel needs a lot of work, cleaning and up dating would be a start, Taxi's are around £5 - £7 to the city centre and Anfield Stadia,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely awful. The room is most basic like in a hostel. Bit worse. Bathroom ceiling mouldy, out of date biscuits in room. Dirty glasses at bar. Wires in bathroom!Just awful very upsetting and couldn't wait to leave ASAP which we did & luckily found another hotel in city centre. DO NOT listen to other review saying good. Really do not get to feel the way we did. Miss it out completely.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Mysteryshopper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mystery shopper

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor I am so sorry you felt our hotel was not up to your standards.

We do everything possible to ensure our guest enjoy their stay, it saddens me to read comments from guest who have stayed with us and have not made us aware of how they felt.

I am confident we would have been able to make your stay with us a more enjoyable one, had you made us aware you were unhappy.

I am more than happy to discuss with you the issues you felt you had, please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience on 0151 264 6600.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

i have stayed twice at the Devonshire and on both occasions have found the hotel warm , clean , friendly , welcoming and above all secure.From the moment i arrived the first time i found Juie at reception exceptionally couteous , humorous and efficient even though i had travelled from Aus and arrived before check in exhausted she allowed me to check in early. The hotel might not be in the city centre but a 2 pound bus ride of approx 5 mins gets you to the liverpool square. The Hotel was warm in both the rooms and all other regions of the Hotel which is a blessing coming from a hot climate to the english winter. Breakfast was plentiful all the egss beans and bacon plus continental you can eat for 6 pounds ! The friendly team in the Hotel Bar headed up by Sue meant you could have after dinner drinks and chat to the locals a great way to get to know the locals of liverpool and network travels .At night there is a security guard parading the outside car park and perimeter and Lyn the night receptionist was there to assist in all after hours enquiries. the management team of John duty Manager and Dave Director are at the forefront of this hotel's reputation. I loved it !! what do people expect for 35 pounds a night but clean warm friendly team ...i will definitely stay again in room 101 "room with a view" and have already reserved for the rugby world cup i recomment this hotel for couples on a budget and student travellers ...back packer prices for back packer luxury ...written in true faith Alison ..

Room Tip: room 101 or 103 secure double room with double window locks and a great view of the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was a KGB Deals 2 night stay with dinner on the first night and breakfast both mornings.
The dinner menu was restricted for the KGB guests but still gave an acceptable choice and the food was reasonable. Breakfast was a cold / hot buffet with a good choice and generous portions.

The room was large and cosy with a flatscreen Freeview TV, tea and coffee making facilities and good storage. No curtains at the windows, just roller blinds, but they kept out the daylight in the morning. New towels were provided each day and the shower was sufficient and clean.

We could drive to the multi-storey car park near the Adelphi and Liverpool One in 5-10 mins. The hotel is on the road out to the M62 and was easy to find with plenty of parking.

It's not a luxury hotel by any means but it was warm, friendly and very cheap! - a good place to sleep. We would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

On arrival greeted by a receptionist that just seemed uninterested, no eye contact, didn't listen, we were a dammed nuisance and was just 'going through the booking in motions'. Basically here's your key card and go find your room! Maybe we just shouldn't have bothered. Room 204, basic beyond belief, strange blinds on the windows! Such a depressing room. On closer inspection, the duvet was filthy and duvet cover ripped. The valance round the beds looked like it had NEVER been changed it was so dirty. We decided to ask if this could be rectified, so back to reception. A gentleman on reception when we told him about the room, said 'he'd get housekeeping to sort the room' he then said wait there! Seconds later he popped his head back out of the back room and said 'so you didn't like the room?' We both looked at one another. He was so rude. We were then given room 306, so off we went to 'look' at this room - just as bad but at least this time it was 'only' the carpets that were stained, furniture so old and scratched, lumpy old mattress, old well worn duvet, stained pillows which were as thin as paper - so many things wrong! And still the strange blinds on the windows. Bed bases filthy and stained.
We then went for drinks in the bar - staff were more interested in using their mobile phones than anything else. Dinner was included in the deal - and when we arrived into the restaurant we were greeted by a waitress who shouted 'KGB deal???????' here's the menu! The food we were given was acceptable, but it was the dirty windows and worn dirty carpets that put us off and was glad we hadn't paid the extra £10 per person for an upgraded meal. Even with the candles lit, it didn't hide the coldness of the room which overlooks the car park.
Breakfast was 'buffet' style - scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausages, bacon, beans and tinned tomatoes. We asked for fried eggs which was made for me, toast served to the tables. However on the Sunday morning, we asked for fried eggs and was told only scrambled, so when we said we had them yesterday, the waiter said, oh I'll sort that, then started shouting in the kitchen - they want fried eggs, then shouted down to our table 'what do you want with your eggs??' Very embarrassing! Toast was in a basket to help yourself, which was cold and rubbery!!!!!!
Will never go back to this hotel, it could be so nice. Plenty parking, nice gardens but that's all.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same! Terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxygenHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just got back from a couple of days in L'Pool. Once again had a lovely stay at the Devonshire, never ever found staff so nice and helpful. Food was great, room was comfy and cosy, food was excellent. Will be back again, preferably in the summer when the lovely gardens are in full bloom. Well done all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Marie
Many thanks for your kind remarks, they were really nice to hear, the team do appreciate hearing kind words and positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back on you next visit if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have just come back from 2 nights at the devonshire. It didn't bother us that it was a taxi drive to liverpool centre it was only a fiver but the hotel was a let down. The shower head was broken you had to hold it place. The toilet wouldn't flush which we reported to reception but was not rectified. The room looked shabby and the bed uncomfortable. Would rather be in a travellodge at least they are clean.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank julesbDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Julies Darlington

I am sorry you didn’t find the hotel comfortable, were are aware some areas of the hotel are tired and we are continuing to address the issues.

I would also like to point out were are currently embarking on a soft refurbishment programme this will be on going and any issues that may arise will be added to the programme.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#75 of 98 in Liverpool
597 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#40 of 98 in Liverpool
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
367 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £32 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing