We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely gardens, dreadful hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely gardens, dreadful hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked this hotel through KGB. Weve used Groupon etc before and have always found the accomodation perfectly fine. This however was woeful. Whilst the gardens are immaculately maintained it seems a shame the same attention hasnt been lavished on the interior.
The hotel is shabby in the extreme; wobbly wardrobe, loose shelves and and a plug socket that was coming away from the wall.
the bedding was poor. We asked the night receptionist if we could possibly have a couple more pillows. He replied that he couldnt leave his desk despite the fact that were another 3 people in the backroom he had come out of.
Dinner was beyond ridicule. One of the starter options was fruit juice. When we asked what wine they had the waitress looked slightly bemused before replying "red or white."
The less said about breakfast the better.
I am slightly surprised that this hotel is on a KGB deal - I dont think we will be using either of them again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdm759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear TDM 759

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, we are currently undergoing a soft refurbished programme on our rooms and public areas.

I am always perplexed when guest leave the hotel without telling us of their dissatisfaction. It’s frustrating when we don’t get the opportunity to right the wrongs.

We do endeavour to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and are comfortable with us I only wish you had made us aware of the issues you felt you had, as I am sure we could have made your stay a more enjoyable one.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss the above

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    194
    163
    113
    131
See reviews for
129
254
34
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

What a good choice we made ... Great friendly staff ... Room 253 large twin overlooking grounds from 2nd floor ... Clean plenty of towels liquid soap etc dropped cases off noticed 2 bulbs out in bathroom mentioned it at reception on our way out .. Was done by time we got back ! Lovely grounds / gardens... Breakfast fit for a king ... 3 course evening meal but neither of us had room for a sweet ! Mrs G had lasagne , I had curry & rice all plentiful ... Ten min bus ride into Liverpool centre £4 return each ... Dident try the hotel bar ... Got back late so went to the 24 hour garage situated in front of hotel but wouldn't let us in to choose a sandwich & drink ! It's a fair walk to any other shop or bar but overall can definitely recomend this hotel without hesitation .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank james007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear James007 uk

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, I am really please we met with your expectations,

So nice to hear you enjoyed your meals and breakfast at the hotel

It’s nice to read positive comments about our team. Our accommodation is undergoing a soft refurbishment programme, once again many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Easy to get to from Birmingham, parking not a problem. The hotel is in a quite lovely garden wallflowers smelt devine. The welcome was warm and friendly and very efficient. Hotel was well presented, rooms really nice clean and spacious. Food excellent will visit again very soon. Hotel staff were all wonderful Thank you all for a memorable stay love your city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Chris S

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, I am really please we met with your expectations, it’s nice to read positive comments about our team.

I am always happy to read nice comments on the warmth and how welcoming our staff are we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Kind regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked this hotel having never been to Liverpool before, I was attending a course on the Dock area of Liverpool and the location for that was really good.
I was staying a total of 5 nights so was important that I got it right, well it was a good choice,
the room was basic but roomy and clean, the bed was ok and I slept well, lots of plug sockets for my laptops and chargers too.
The breakfast selection was good and the staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
I had a couple of meals in the restaurant in the evening and all was good there too..
I would recommend this hotel and give it a big thumbs up...

Room Tip: I slept at the front of the hotel that looked over the car park and has no noise issues..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked on a KGB deal.so for 89 pound for 2 people for 2 nights food included it was ok.wouldn't go back though too far away from city centre and bus service was awful.maybe invest in bed mattress n pillows though please

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

aRrived on easter sunday for a 2 day shopping trip. Reception was lovely and polite. room was very basic but clean ish... the bath had a lot of mould on it - 1 of the lights were not working and I dont think it would have passed a 4 in a bed inspection however it was ok. The hotel is being refurbished and it does need it - it is very tired looking and has a very funny smell. The gardens are lovely and the staff make it. They are so friendly and polite.
Breakfast - very average 1st day served on hot plates not good
2nd day cooked to order much better
I must say the cleanliness of restaurant wasnt good, 4 spoons on our table covered in food. 3rd time lucky with cereal bowl as it was dirty, We did a kgb deal so didnt expect much however 2 tony bottles of diet pepsi £5,, think thats called taking the mick a little.
wouldnt rush back at least not until refurb. location was great for us to shop though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryd494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed on a kgb deal, £89 for 2 nights with breakfast and a three course meal.

Before booking we checked the reviews on here and found them to be good, then a week prior to going we again read the reviews on here and found them to be rather uncomplimentary about the hotel, we did consider cancelling our booking because of those negative reviews but are glad we didn't.

The grounds are well maintained and nice to look at. The reception area was clean and tidy and the member of staff who checked us in was helpful and friendly.

The room was a decent size with adequate facilities, It was very clean and tidy as well.
It had a large bathroom with a shower cubicle that had a shower with good water pressure.

We found all staff to be friendly and helpful and they are a credit to the place.

The menu on the deal menu was a varied but unfortunately everything was served with chips and peas. I had home made soup for a starter and fish and chips for a main, im not a big soup lover but i have to say that the soup was excellent.

There is a bar which is spacious with plenty of seating and again the staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel has ample car parking space a short distance from the entrance.

Like I said we were somewhat concerned by the negative reviews prior to our stay but if you do not pay Ritz hotel prices do not expect the same things that you would get if you stayed at the Ritz!!

We were more than satisfied with our stay and would have no problem in recommending the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and TravelUp so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing