We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 15 May 2014

An old building that was a bit tired but very clean and comfortable. Room was enormous , with all facilities clean and working. Good selection for breakfast and all the staff very pleasant , would definitely go back.

Room Tip: take a taxi into town , its about £5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Alan Reilly

Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor, the hotel is ideally located for football and the city centre. We endeavour to meet all of our guest requirements however small.

Please except my sincere apologies for the mix up with the allocation of rooms.

It really pleases me to know you and your family have had a nice stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Warm, friendly, clean , good location, nice affordable food. Stayed here weekend of May 11th for Liverpool v Newcastle game. Very close to Anfield. Short taxi ride from town. Travelled with teenagers and kids. Caters for all. Had small problem with allocation of rooms but was sorted right away and hassle free. Actually was a problem caused by the booking agent. Staff at reception, restaurant and bar were very friendly . It was like being served dinner by your own Mum. Rooms were ideal. Clean, tidy , wide screen tv. Will make this our base from now on for every Liverpool home game. Highly recommend.. Now David, I told you so.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Alan Reilly

Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor, the hotel is ideally located for football and the city centre. We endeavour to meet all of our guest requirements however small.

Please except my sincere apologies for the mix up with the allocation of rooms.

It really pleases me to know you and your family have had a nice stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we stayed here on a weekend break in may 2014. it,s not a bad hotel, a bit jaded, but the friendly staff and comfortable rooms make up for that. it is not too far from the city centre, there is a bus service directly outside, buses every half hour. i would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Noel57 Dublin

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments on trip advisor, we are currently undergoing a soft refurbished programme on our rooms and public areas.

We look forward to welcoming back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards


John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I can't understand people who want to pay budget prices and then complain that the hotel isn't 5 star. My wife and I went on a KGB deal, paid £89 for two nights bed and breakfast and 1 evening meal. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff were excellent, the food was good and the room clean and spacious. We had room 402 overlooking the gardens, which were very well kept. Whats to complain about??. Alright, the hotel could do with a bit of a makeover, but redecorating the whole lot would cost a fortune and the prices would have to go up.. We were more than happy with our stay and will return. One amusing bit, our bed was on wheels and there was no headboard. When we sat up and leaned against the wall, the bed shot forward. I wedged my shoes under the front, problem solved.

Room Tip: 402,403 and 404 overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Rob 486
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, I am really please we met with your expectations, it’s nice to read positive comments about our team.

Our accommodation is undergoing a soft refurbishment programme, once again many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed at the devonshire house hotel on 18th and 19th april. The reason for my stay was my best friends wedding. I cannot fault any part of my stay, the staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for them.The room was clean and tidy. The gardens are beautiful and so well kept. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. overall a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Eileen L

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor,

it’s refreshing to hear such wonderful comments about the team at the hotel am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your more than happy to recommend us to your friends.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked this hotel through KGB. Weve used Groupon etc before and have always found the accomodation perfectly fine. This however was woeful. Whilst the gardens are immaculately maintained it seems a shame the same attention hasnt been lavished on the interior.
The hotel is shabby in the extreme; wobbly wardrobe, loose shelves and and a plug socket that was coming away from the wall.
the bedding was poor. We asked the night receptionist if we could possibly have a couple more pillows. He replied that he couldnt leave his desk despite the fact that were another 3 people in the backroom he had come out of.
Dinner was beyond ridicule. One of the starter options was fruit juice. When we asked what wine they had the waitress looked slightly bemused before replying "red or white."
The less said about breakfast the better.
I am slightly surprised that this hotel is on a KGB deal - I dont think we will be using either of them again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdm759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear TDM 759

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, we are currently undergoing a soft refurbished programme on our rooms and public areas.

I am always perplexed when guest leave the hotel without telling us of their dissatisfaction. It’s frustrating when we don’t get the opportunity to right the wrongs.

We do endeavour to make sure our guests enjoy their stay and are comfortable with us I only wish you had made us aware of the issues you felt you had, as I am sure we could have made your stay a more enjoyable one.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss the above

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

What a good choice we made ... Great friendly staff ... Room 253 large twin overlooking grounds from 2nd floor ... Clean plenty of towels liquid soap etc dropped cases off noticed 2 bulbs out in bathroom mentioned it at reception on our way out .. Was done by time we got back ! Lovely grounds / gardens... Breakfast fit for a king ... 3 course evening meal but neither of us had room for a sweet ! Mrs G had lasagne , I had curry & rice all plentiful ... Ten min bus ride into Liverpool centre £4 return each ... Dident try the hotel bar ... Got back late so went to the 24 hour garage situated in front of hotel but wouldn't let us in to choose a sandwich & drink ! It's a fair walk to any other shop or bar but overall can definitely recomend this hotel without hesitation .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank james007Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear James007 uk

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor, I am really please we met with your expectations,

So nice to hear you enjoyed your meals and breakfast at the hotel

It’s nice to read positive comments about our team. Our accommodation is undergoing a soft refurbishment programme, once again many thanks for your comments.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#76 of 99 in Liverpool
602 reviews
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#47 of 99 in Liverpool
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#39 of 99 in Liverpool
1,252 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
558 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £35 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing