We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit further old of the City than expected but was worth the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just has a very cheap and cheerful stay here - two nights with a web deal - bit further out of the City than anticipated but had regular buses so was not a problem. Food was very tasty and lovely and hot, service was great - waitresses very friendly and helpful/ Room was very basis but you do get what you pay for and we only needed a clean bed and bath which is what we received. Apparently they do have more comfortable rooms but we were happy with ours, They were very busy as it seems to be very popular for weddings - the gardens were beautiful so I can imagine lovely wedding photos being taken thank you for making us so welcome

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttynetty1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, General Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Nuttynetty

Thank you so much for leaving your kind comments on trip advisor, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We are in the process of upgrading all of our bedrooms so when you come back to stay you will notice the difference

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
There are newer reviews for Devonshire House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel in the first week of May. Rooms were lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful. I have coeliac disease and my needs were catered to. The hotel is situated just 5 minutes from the city centre. Liverpool is beautiful and we will definatly be returning in the near future, staying at the Devonshire.

Room Tip: You do get a smaller room and menu choice on a kgb deal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianewalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Diane

Thank you for you kind comments on trip advisor I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us, the team here do pride themselves on providing top levels of service and I will ensure they are aware of your comments.

You are quite right about the city of Liverpool it is an amazing city so much to do here again we are really proud of our city

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here on a KGB deal and therefore it was good value for what we paid. The room was spacious and clean and breakfast was quite good - a full English freshly cooked and served at table. However, the room was rather tired decor wise as were some of the public areas. I don't think the stairs were hoovered in the 3 days we were there either.
The evening meal however was dreadful. There was a limited choice on the menu which was fine as it was included in our deal. However, the quality was extremely poor. The breaded mushrooms and battered fish portions were very cheap quality and very greasy, the chips soggy and I would think the peas came out of a tin.
We had asked if we could pay a supplement to choose from the main menu but the answer was no, if we wanted anything different to the limited 'free' menu we had to pay the full menu price.
Location wise, it is about a 30 minute walk to the city centre but there are buses every half an hour from just opposite the hotel, and the taxi company recommended by reception were excellent value at approx £4.50 into the centre.
We wanted a drink at the hotel bar but this wasn't manned a lot of the time and we had to go and find someone to serve us!
Not bad but not particularly good either - if you get a good value deal its fine, but I certainly wouldn't want to pay the full price to stay here.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has a nice view over the gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frecklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Frecklebunny

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor though some disappointing to read.

I am happy you found the cleanliness of the hotel to your satisfaction we do endeavour to ensure the hotel is spotless at all times so I am a bit perplexed as to why you felt the stair case was not vacuumed, I will look into this.

You have also stated you was not keen on the menu, and the response you we given about upgrading you choice disappoints me to, as we do offer upgrade in our restaurant, as this is an opportunity for us to upsell.

We are currently upgrading the bedrooms and the public areas, what a pity you did not make us aware of you dissatisfaction as am sure we could have made your stay a pleasurable one.

Should you wish to discuss any of the above please do not hesitate to contact me

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked 4 months in advance to attend a Family Wedding at the Hotel on the Friday. We were given a room rate for the Thursday and Friday nights we were staying. When we arrived the form we were given also confirmed the room rate for the two nights. An amount greater than the two nights accomodation was charged to our card but many Hotels do this to cover anything charged to the room during the stay. We charged nothing. When we checked out on the Saturday morning we were told at reception that they charge a different (more expensive) rate for Wedding attendees! We put our complaint in writing and the Reservations Manager confirmed in writing that the Friday rate was £23.00 less than we had been charged. She then tried to retract her email by saying she had got it wrong! The Hotel Manager is churlish when responding to a complaint and does not fill one with confidence. Today on-line booking sites were offering the same accomodation on a Thursday and Friday at the rate. It is NOT therefore advisable to book direct. Refund was begrudgingly given when I suggested I would make a Small Claims Court claim.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep check that there are no Parties going on until 4AM before booking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Graham B

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor, though disappointing to read.

Your reservation was made months in advance and to separated charge were applied to your bill at the time of your booking, the first night being cheaper than the second. Friday nights and weekends are normally more expensive due to high demand, your booking came under that category for the second night’s stay hence the room rate being slightly higher.

However when I heard of your dissatisfaction on check out I felt it important to call you personally and work through the facts and explain how you may have come to think you were being over charged.

All our rates change on a daily basis this enables us to give our customers the best competitive price possible in the market place.

During our conversation we discussed how you had enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended was a pleasurable one. It was with this in mind I took the decision as a good will gesture and refunded you the small difference, not because of the mention of a small claims court.

I am a bit perplexed at the mention of 4am weddings as all of our wedding and functions are closed at 1.00 am. to date i have not recieved any noise complaints.

After our conversation I felt we put the matter to rest amicably for both parties, I am really sorry you felt we didn’t manage your expectations in relation to dealing with your complaint, please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went on a Wowcher deal for 2 nights bed breakfast and evening meal for one night and tickets to the Cavern the other night ......We booked in and the receptionist was pleasant and polite. The room was ok a bit dated furniture but you can see lots of decorating is taking place so this didnt bother me. The evening meal was lovely and very filling and then we retired into the bar where we met some other guests and had a good chat to them .....next day a good breakfast then a good night at the Cavern. Loved the hotel was a 24 hour manned station so we didnt have to rush back ....all in all an enjoyable 2 days in Liverpool even the taxi drivers who took us down to Liverpool city centre were polite and was giving us a small tour on the way down lol .....I would definitely book again on our next trip to Liverpool ....Many thanks :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodnarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Bodnarc

Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Devonshire House Hotel, it’s nice when people take the time to leave such positive comments we do endeavour to ensure all of our guest have a pleasant experience when they stay with us.

Kind regards

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

had a KGB deal, two nights inc 3course meal first nite.... (well that was abit disappointing) but i couldnt complain about anything else. the room was newly decorated and very clean, comfy bed and the breakfast was excellant!
ideal location with easy regular bus routes to the city centre, staff very helpful and welcoming would visit again...

Room Tip: room 404, seems to be lovely large spacious room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelasyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Angelasdy
Thank you for your kind response, it’s so nice when people take the time to leave lovely comments about your breakfast and your room,

What a shame you did not share your disappointment about your experience you had in our restaurant.

I would like to take this opportunity to say it would have been beneficial to have had the feedback from yourself, constructive criticism is always welcomed by us, as it helps us manage guest expectation and change what does not work.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very dirty - cutlery crockery ceilings walls bed . Musty smell. Silverfish in bathroom. One referencing feature was a lovely member of staff who served us in the restaurant and asked us about our day when she next saw us. Receptionist more interested in moaning about how tired she was thAn getting us a taxi. Worst hotel ever.

Room Tip: Don't choose any
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Viki A

Thank you for you for your response though disappointing read, we are in the process of upgrading the hotel you may have noticed the signs in the hotel during your stay.

It always disappoints me when our guest do not make us aware of their dissatisfaction as am sure we could have made your stay an enjoyable one. We really don’t like our guest to leave unhappy.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me

John Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 98 in Liverpool
598 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#40 of 98 in Liverpool
1,169 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#29 of 98 in Liverpool
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
365 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#68 of 98 in Liverpool
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £27 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing