We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Bad!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a KGB deal. Overall we had a pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived in the pouring rain and I was immediately offered a towel as I was quite wet.

The gardens and reception were well maintained but the bedroom/bathroom needed a facelift. The room we had was large and everything was clean but looked very tired and dated.

We struggled to get a table for breakfast on both mornings as the restaurant is quite small and there were a lot of guests wanting food at the same time. The breakfast was very 'basic'. There was a choice of cereal, grapefruit segments, juice and tea and coffee which was self service. The cooked breakfast was served on very tiny plates, almost like side plates. We had a choice from scrambled egg (very watery), a hash brown, one piece of bacon, one sausage, tinned tomatoes, baked beans and toast. All in all, not bad but nothing special.

Included in our KGB deal was an evening meal. Strangely enough, the restaurant was completely empty when we went for our meal. Again, the food was okay but nothing to write home about, although it was completely edible.

Would I return again? Maybe, if the deal we had was offered again but I think I would prefer to stay in a hotel within walking distance of the City centre (taxi cost approximately £5).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    200
    170
    116
    135
See reviews for
132
265
36
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Devonshire hotel when the giants were in liverpool 25 26 27 July. staff were very friendly and helpful rooms basic but nice and clean.great gardens round the hotel very relaxing after a busy day.restaurant staff exceptional we had a great stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a Wedding. On arrival the hotel looks runs down and in dire need of a lick of paint! Our bedroom was large, bedding and towels were clean, but the bathroom , it had black mildewed sealant, a dusty lampshade which at some point had been wet as it was stained inside. The sink drain had seen better days, the chrome was all but gone and was black. The bed was uncomfortable, you could feels the springs. On the plus side there was brewing facilities and plenty of storage.
In general the hotel is 'very tired' and in need of lots of TLC .
With regards to the Wedding venue, it was a lovely room, well decorated and the buffet was very good. Drinks a tad dear, but not the most expensive. Bar staff were very efficient.
Breakfast was good - juices, cereal and cooked options. The pictures need a good dust!
Only a five minute journey into Liverpool centre - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 113Tiamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Abertillery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for two nights for my sons graduation. Having read the reviews we were a little worried. But we needn't have feared, as although the hotel is a little dated in some areas the cleanliness and the helpful staff more than made up for this. There were a couple of little problems in room, ( no hair dryer) but this was sorted quickly by the staff after informing them. Our stay was good value for money. Also the hotel is handy for Liverpool town. A taxi Which staff phoned for cost roughly around £5. So all in all a very lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobJoyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear RobJoyF

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, most of our guests opt for the taxi in to the city centre as it is convenient.

It was pleasant to hear the couple of problems you had were dealt with in a speedy manner once again many thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Last year we changed our energy supply and the carrot that was dangled was a free night in a Hotel in England.So we decided on Liverpool for our away day. I must admit i was a little bit concerned when I read some of the reviews. But going by past experiences some people expect Five stars but not five Star rates. The gardens and the site were very well manicured and plenty of safe car parking. We were greeted at the reception by a very pleasant man who I presumed was the Manager. We were in room 256 which was at the back of the Hotel not the best of views. Think the front rooms which look over the grounds are the best The bedroom was clean ,clean fluffy towels nice bed linen a good size television on the wall . In fact a no frills approach but all you need for a good nights sleep. We went into Liverpool for the day came back on the bus and saw all the sights the City has to offer Stunning buildings the Dock area is just fab. Next we went on the Open Top Bus tour which is well worth the ticket with Old sixties records playing and a running talk of points of interest.If we went to Liverpool again we would go back to the Devonshire. In a nutshell yes some parts were a little dated bit it was very clean and friendly. On the day we left one of the room was being prepared for a Civil Wedding it looked very grand. Perhaps the weekends could be lively but in the week it was just the job for us.A good budget Hotel with friendly staff .

Room Tip: The front rooms have a nice view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Christine D

Many thanks for your kind and honest review, I am so glad your stay with us was an enjoyable and you felt your room was fit for purpose, its always pleasing when people write such good comments about our beautiful city there is so much to see and do.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments and we hope you will return to visits us again soon.

Kind regads

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the run down building at the front of this hotel. We pulled up and saw run down building and though what have we down. But we soon found out the actusl hotel was behind it. Staff were friendly and helpful family room was large but dated. Room was clean. Breakfast was great. The price was good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear John R

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor we do value comments made by our guest and do take on board their comments. I am pleased you found the team to be friendly and helpful.

Kind regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived for a 3 night stay. Receptionise was brilliant and friendly and that goes for all the staff. The rooms could do with updating a bit especially the bath room as the soap dish was hanging off the wall but never the less the shower was nice and hot. For wat we paid it was great so remember you only get what you pay for so don't expect 5 star. I would defo stay there again if i was in LiverPool. Also I would recomend downloading the delta taxi app as it is the best way to get round town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Feehily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Brian

Thank you so much for leaving you kind comments on trip advisor, it is really nice to hear comments praising our staff as they do go that extra mile to ensure our guests are welcomed and feel at home during their stay.

It was equally nice to hear you would stay with again, hopefully in the near future once again thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments as we do appreciate it

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Property: Devonshire House Hotel
Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing