We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brake without getting broke” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #42 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brake without getting broke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The hotel was conveniently placed and just a short walk to the Albert Dock sites and from the centre of Liverpool. The Hotel was smart and clean the staff were always helpful. We enjoyed the pictures of Liverpool during the 50's that were throughout the hotel. Our room although small had everything we needed. The dining area was pleasant and the food and drink good. There was also ample free parking outside the hotel. All in all it was a break without getting broke.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    421
    181
    42
    51
See reviews for
190
367
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wednesbury
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

we stayed for 2 nights to visit liverpool's attractions so only really needed somewhere to sleep,and found it suited our purpose. We arrived before the 2.30 check in time but were given our room immediately, asked for a waterside view as advised by previous review, and got that too.Our early check in meant that we had extra time to explore the city. Yes, the rooms are small and the bathroom is a moulded plastic caravan bathroom, and smells like it, but that's not a problem for a short stay . The breakfast was excellent value for money and probably the cheapest you will get except mcdonalds over the road. We asked if we had to move our car when we checked out but were told that we could leave it there , so had a bonus extra few hours visiting a couple of things we had missed .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonabass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

A friendly, welcoming budget hotel. Our room was 'quirky'. Think small but also think creative! Someone went to a lot of trouble to design a room that has most of the features of the average hotel in such a small space. Reminded me of a ferry cabin or a caravan. Personally, I would have preferred a little more space but my husband and 10 year old son thought it was "fun". An unexpected bonus were the toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. You don't expect these in a hotel where you're paying less for your room than your evening meal in town.
+ free parking, friendly staff, close to the dock and Liverpool One
- the synthetic airfresheners in the hallways

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtkinsMJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Nice hotel in great location with friendly staff. The room was small with a very small bathroom but fine for a short time. The parking in free which is unusual in hotels these days.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a great little budget hotel.Welcoming helpful staff, ample free parking, only a 10 minute walk from Liverpool One, fast free wifi and very reasonably priced. The room I stayed in (9) was small but perfectly adequate for a solo traveller. It would also be fine for a couple i'm sure. The bathrooom is small and up a step but the shower is excellent with ample hot water. This would be a great base for a budget weekend in Liverpool.

It's not 5 star but it's certainly competitive!

Room Tip: The hotel is on the docks so when booking ask for one of the upper floors over looking the docks if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom_benj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

After a flight back from Menorca my wife and I were ready for a restfull nights sleep before a 300 mile drive back to north east Scotland.
We chose The Dolby due to its reasonable rates and location to The Albert Dock.
We couldn't have chosen better.
We were welcomed by friendly staff and the room was really nice and very clean , not the biggest in the world but had everything we wanted - shower , hairdryer , kettle etc.and a very comfortable bed.
The selection of food and drink was very good and reasonabley priced.
It was a very enjoyable stay and just what we needed before a long drive home.
Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The room was at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet. The hotel is in a very handy location for walking to the city centre. My first visit to Liverpool and it won't be the last. Thanks to all the staff in the hotel who were welcoming and friendly.
:-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemadder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#61 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Property: The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing