We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family night in Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family night in Liverpool”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

As a family of 3 with a 4 year old we were looking for a night out in Liverpool. The Dolby was a good price and location with a 4 year old, just a bit too far out. The room was very clean, small and no internal phone which would have been helpful for the early morning issue. Which brings me onto the fact, yes this is a good value hotel just be warned if you are a family ASK for a quieter location as at 3am we were awoken by fowl mouth drunks, for someone who has to deal with these kind of people a lot I did not want this at a hotel. Overall it is a clean hotel, staff are great and were aware of the drunk issue and explained they do a floor walk every 15 minutes. We would not return due to location and room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family3Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    470
    201
    45
    54
See reviews for
216
410
51
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed in Dolby Hotel Liverpool only for one night just to visit Albert dock and Anfield Stadium. The location is great, just a short walk to albert dock and Liverpool One bus station to get the bus to Anfield Stadium. The staff also really helpfull to give us direction and the best way to Anfield Stadium. I will stay in here again if I visit Liverpool

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DewiIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We chose The Dolby Hotel because we wanted a good value room for three, free parking all next day and near the college. This hotel was great. No frills, but we enjoyed an evening meal when we arrived at about 9:00pm, had a hearty breakfast next morning and could walk to the university and local attractions leaving the car there all day. The friendly staff were very helpful and always had a smile. Good Value!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJC1-JEC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The Dolby Hotel does what it says on the tin !! Before booking i was looking for a room for 3 ( one being my tall 15 yr old son) free parking W fi without charge and value for money breakfast included . I read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and could see overall this hotel had a good rating. Im really glad I took the chance, we stayed for one night mid week so we got a great rate and for an extra cost I booked a cooked breakfast for us all. For one night it was £57.50 in total for 3 of us. For this price you got a clean room the bunk over the double was long enough for a tall teen tea coffee tv and what I would call a 'pod' bathroom and a hearty breakfast. For a place to lay your head and be in relative comfort i don't think you can beat it. Also the welcome was genuine and great and the ambience was clean comfy and modern as you arrived. The cafe area overlooked the dock and had a wide screen TV showing sky sports in the evening if there was a match on which suited my boys! The Wifi was hit and miss but as it was free wasn't a great issue. The main bonus was the free parking - we needed to come and go to visit my daughter in her Uni digs but was only a 10 minute brisk walk to Liverpool One and Albert dock. Yes its not in the posher end of the docks but for what it offers I think its worth just the 10 minute distance for a cheaper deal.It would be a trot to Lime Street but the Taxis are reasonable in Liverpool according to my daughter whose used to paying far more In Cardiff. Im sure we'll use this as an option again when coming back and forth to Liverpool to visit.

Room Tip: I asked for a room overlooking the dock rather than the car park which we were given:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelmsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Booked as we were attending a concert at the Echo area.... location was great for this, literally a 5 minute walk. Nice location, overlooking the docks. Plenty of parking outside the hotel.

Room basic, ours had a double bed with a bunk bed above. Coffee maker, tv etc. Bathroom was small but for 1 night cannot complain. We had a peaceful nights sleep and didnt hear any noise.

We also used the hotel restaurant, food was lovely and very reasonably priced. We found the staff in the hotel to all be very friendly and helpful.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boohoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights with two friends, had a fantasic stay with no problems at all. Staff are very helpful and friendly. This was our first time staying in liverpool on our own and i am pleased to say this hotel helped us in everyway possible. From extra pillows to maps and ordering taxis. We would all highly recomend this hotel for stays of any length!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Dolby was clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly. It was great value for money. It was not a luxury hotel so go expecting basic. They try to cater for everything that is essential. Shower very small though and it was difficult to shower. They also have quite a nice restaurant even though the menu again was basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#66 of 97 in Liverpool
944 reviews
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#49 of 97 in Liverpool
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Property: The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing