We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife,my 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights as a base for a short trip to explore Liverpool.

The hotel is on the cheap end price wise, is clean and (on the nights we stayed) not noisy. However, the rooms must be based on the U-Boat attraction - possibly the smallest shower/toilet I've ever seen in a hotel. But, as stated, it's a budget hotel, and it provides the basic facilities required. Staff were friendly.

The food of an evening is good value and tasty, and reasonably priced. The breakfast a bit pricey and we walked into Liverpool center to get a cheaper breakfast.

We picked this hotel not just because of the price, but also it's location. Whilst it is on the docks, it's a good 10 minutes walk to Albert Docks, so be prepared for that. Not far really.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlracUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    470
    201
    45
    54
See reviews for
216
410
51
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Rooms are really tiny with the shower room being just big enough to shower a hamster in. Our room was located at the front of the hotel, so when the windows were open it was deafening with the noise from the traffic! On the Saturday evening my partner and I wanted to order a curry, so I went to the reception to ask if they had the telephone number of a restaurant or take away that delivered, only to be told by the lady on reception that no curry house delivers in Liverpool???? I then asked another member of staff who found me 4 numbers, and guess what they all delivered. The only positive I have about this hotel is that is was clean! Enough said

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My friend is 70 years old man, who has no idea how to change a car's tyre. The owner of the hotel helped us to change it. We are so touched about what he did. He is a very kind, warm hearted and handsome guy. Thank you very much! His family name is on the hotel gate!! We will never forget what he did today!
Highly recommend this holiday!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here with my 4 year old and my sister when we attended a wedding and were very pleasantly surprised. For the price I was expecting dubious cleanliness, rude staff and a very basic room. What we got was a small but perfectly formed, very clean room. The shower room is tiny but a small price to pay for the location and you get complimentary toiletries too! You get free wifi too!! The.staff are really chatty and friendly as well so if I ever need a hotel in Liverpool again, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliedenny656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Came to Liverpool via train,11th-15th Oct and only had a 10min journey to the hotel...the reception was very pleasant and was greeted in a friendly manner from the manager and deputy manager, we were given our key and told where our room was. They also gave us a code so we could use the wifi which I thought was very good.
We were slightly disappointed at how small the room was and especially the toilet/shower room, also there where no wardrobe or drawers to put clothes in only 1 peg next to the window with 4 hangers on it....There was a kettle, hairdryer, and t.v..
The room was very clean, as was the bedding and towel...the towels where changed everyday if that is what you wanted...couldn't fault the cleanliness...
We had booked to have breakfast and wasn't disappointed, we had a full English and was told we could help ourselves to the continental, staff where very helpful, friendly and nothing wasn't too much trouble..
The food was very hot and very well presented.
There was a KFC and McDonalds opp the hotel to your right.
Excellent location only being 5-10mins from the Echo Centre and Albert Dock...15mins by foot to Liverpool;s cathedral.
Do use local taxi's and not black cabs....local taxi's are cheaper...just ask at the reception.

Would visit and use again...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wishy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huambo, Angola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed at Dolby hotel for five days (October 10th to October 15th, 2013). It was my second time in Liverpool but it was my first time staying at Dolby Hotel. My experience at Dolby Hotel was excellent. I mean the quality of service was excellent as people were very thoughtful and efficient whenever a request was done. The quality of the food was very good and cheap comparing to other places that I visited in Liverpool.
On the other note, the sight is very beautiful both from the room and from the lounge as there are beautiful lights on the horizon at the back of the hotel during the night. During the day there is beautiful lake.
Finally, I am a quite person and really like a quite hotel and I could experience this at Dolby Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stay here every year at Christmas time. Never had any problems not too far to walk there's a McDonald's across the road which the kids love as we let them have a midnight snack treat. The men love the casino next door have recommended to many

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamjj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#66 of 97 in Liverpool
944 reviews
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#49 of 97 in Liverpool
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Property: The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing