We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolby fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dolby fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Me and the wife stayed here for one night and I've got to say we was surprised how lovely this place is we usually stay in the more expensive places in Liverpool but couldn't get in , and I'm glad we didn't loved this place the staff are friendly the bar isn't over expensive the room are just ideal will be going back in July as I have a a field trip booked

Room Tip: Get a cab into the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    496
    222
    47
    54
See reviews for
243
436
54
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

No problem to find this hotel using sat nav or phone map, and easy access to car park from road. Triple room was double bed with a bunk above. TV worked well, and hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities were supplied. Very small room, very small shower, but for the price, the location, the cleanliness, the excellent breakfast and the fabulous staff, this hotel deserves the 5 stars without hesitation

Room Tip: Our room looked over the car park and the main road. Traffic was heavy but noise wouldn't stop a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langhame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've just spent a lovely 3 nights at the Dolby Hotel for a sightseeing weekend in Liverpool. We were welcomed and booked in efficiently by the pleasant staff on reception. I had read the previous reviews so was not surprised by the very small room and even smaller bathroom! However, this was not a problem at all, once we learned how to manoeuvre around the room and aim the shower away from the toilet area (No Curtain or screen) It was absolutely fine for a few days, although not sure it would have been big enough for a longer stay, there's no wardrobe and very little storage space for clothing and belongings. Exceptionally clean and comfortable and we both had 3 really good nights sleep, despite having a room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel, we heard no noise apart from the odd returning guest.
We had breakfast one morning, the full English and it was delicious and ample - you can help yourself to as much toast,cereals, fruit juice etc as you want for a reasonable price.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walking to the Docks and so very handy. Approx £5 in a taxi back after a night out in town, so very reasonable. All in all we enjoyed staying, oh yes and the weather was lovely so able to sit out at the back with a drink and enjoy the views over the river. Would definitely use again next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheebsnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire, england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good points : With in 10 mins walk of Liverpool one &5 mins walk to the echo arena, free car park (permit given at check in), double room £39 for 1 night
Poor points: bloomin uncomfortable bed and the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in my life!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkendall72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We love staying at the Dolby due to the proximity to Liverpool city centre and the friendliness of the staff there. Recommend this as a convenient, inexpensive and comfortable place to stay whilst visiting Liverpool any time!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rach30ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have stayed at the Dolby 4 x times now it's in a great location for the Echo Arena, Docks & Liverpool One. We have already booked another show at the Echo in November & will be staying at the Dolby again. It's a small hotel alongside the Mersey, I have always found the staff very friendly & helpful. Food & drink in the hotel is reasonably priced & the bar is open until 1:0 pm. The bedrooms are not very big & the en suites are only adequate but if you take in the price & location then your getting a good deal.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a small hotel and is very reasonably priced. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable with ruthlessly efficient cleaning staff who really seem to care. The breakfast was excellent and ample , there is no way you could leave the table hungry. The greatest attribute of the hotel is the staff , from the manager down they were quite superb. Friendly , welcoming and very helpful. Without doubt the nicest and most professional hotel staff I have come across anywhere in the world. Not possibly the best location in Liverpool but certainly the only place I would want to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#67 of 97 in Liverpool
968 reviews
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#51 of 97 in Liverpool
132 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
4,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Property: The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing