We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outside tables with water view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 6 July 2014

well, the price 66 lb and the thought of sitting at the tables and relaxing made me book 1 night. very small room. double bed that we could hardly walk around. small bathroom. could not take shower without getting hair wet. but staff were wonderful. ate sandwiches for lunch and they were very good. we walked from lime street station. big mistake. took about 1/2 hr to 45 min. room was clean. next to casino, close to baltic fleet pub that has 5 ales that they brew. close to cathedrals. we walked to cavern area but i didn't time it. easy walk to albert dock

Room Tip: ask for room in back so you can see water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerwen-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a hotel that has it all apart the bathroom. Its clean. The location is great. The food is very good and the staff is very helpful. But the bathroom is so small. Its a caravan style bathroom. Clean but can't move in it. If you are a big fella (I am not) you have no chance to have a real shower in it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_busuttil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I'm living here for work, the hotel is ideally located, the rooms are ok (very similar to etap). The staff are great but the food is poor. The selection of drink is very poor with only one draught lager which is constantly flat. Overall is ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marckarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed four nights whilst attending a course in Liverpool. The room was comfortable and clean. It was cleaned daily to a good standard. The location is excellent. We ate in the bar on three of the nights as it was very convenient to study, eat, and study again without having to go anywhere. The menu is not particularly extensive but there is enough on there to give a variety. The prices are very fair. My food was always of a decent standard. My partner is a vegan, and on one occasion asked for plain tomato pasta, no cheese etc. She was presented with pasta with cheese and even bacon! other than that, the food experience was more than acceptable. The drinks prices are fair too.
The hotel was very busy, and unfortunately we had our sleep disturbed on two nights, once by a group of wobbly drunken middle aged women who had been out on the town until around 3am and took a significant time to find their rooms, stop walking between each other rooms, shut up and close their doors! The next evening we had fans from an Eagles concert coming back after a few post gig drinks at around 1.30 and then another group a couple of hours later. Not great to be disturbed when you have a course to attend and exams on the last day! but I guess that is not to be unexpected in a budget hotel, and it isn't the fault of the hotel in any way, so it has not affected my rating, but it is something for people to bear in mind. The staff ranged from bright and bubbly, helpful and friendly (the vast majority), to unengaging and uninterested (the distinct minority) This is the third time we have stayed here, and the first since I started using tripadvisor so I'd just like to point out that it has improved significantly since our earlier visits about three years ago and they should be pleased with their improvement and progress.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -80-J-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a good, cheap and clean hotel with a view of the docks, the people are nice here and value for money and close (ish) to the centre of town. What more do you want ? Save some money and stay here, you could do worse

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Quiet Location, nice patio area overlooking the river. About a 10 minutes walk to Albert Dock and 20 minutes to town. The rooms are adequate size, very clean, and have everything you would need. As mentioned on other reviews the bathrooms are small, but compact. If you are short you may have problems with the shower as it is attached to the ceiling and will be hard to reach to move direction. You will also have very clean hair especially if you shower twice a day, as if you are short your hair will get wet each time. Shower caps are provided. Would definitely stay here again. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on this but they make a good baked potato!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwestuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wonderful service, very friendly and a great location. Very friendly when working with such a large group of people, nothing seemed too much trouble or hassle. Great value for money also. Very accessible location, literally 15-20 minute walk from city centre location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#70 of 99 in Liverpool
1,039 reviews
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
2,098 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 99 in Liverpool
5,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolby Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Address: 36-42 Chaloner Street | Queens dock, Liverpool L3 4DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £33 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dolby Hotel Liverpool 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel in Liverpool city centre then look no further. The Dolby Hotel Liverpool is situated on the waterfront in Liverpool’s city centre, giving you cheap hotel accommodation within reach of all the city’s major attractions.We offer free wi-fi and free parking to all our guests.If you are visiting Liverpool, and looking for a hotel that is less than a 10 minute walk from the city centre, Liverpool One, The Albert dock, and Liverpool’s Echo Arena & BT convention centre and that is quite close to Anfield and Goodison football stadiums and all Liverpool premier clubs and cafes, then you’ve found the perfect hotel.Whether your visit is for business, leisure or you are just here to watch your favourite team play, the Dolby Hotel Liverpool is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dolby Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolby Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing