We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks! ”
Review of YHA Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean, beds and linen clean and the bathroom in the room is a plus. Was a very nice breakfast for a good price. Staff were friendly and helpful as well. Recommend this yha if you want to stay in a hostel in Liverpool for sure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Jonothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Terrible experience. Don 't pick this hostel! First of all Where can I start?, the whole place looks like a hospital, the atmosphere is just weird, doesn 't feel like a hostel at all, very depressing. Everything seems to be about money! Internet is ridiculously expensive, when most other local hostels offer it for much cheaper or free. The rooms lack colour and "happiness". Manager is incredibly arrogant, I'm not even sure why such a reputable Hostel chain, like YHA, would have a manager as such. She looks like the most miserable person you'll ever meet. And she definitely makes sure that you know that she's just really after your money.

There are plenty other better hostels around the city, that'll offer much better service and REAL hospitality. Just look out a bit. Choose any one but this. I wouldn't even recommend it to my enemy to stay at this place... don't save money when you know you're gonna have a bad experience. Spend a bit more, have fun and enjoy this great city! You were warned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your review, we’re sorry you didn’t have a great experience here. We do charge separately for most things, this gives our guests the chance to pay only for the goods and services they require and also means we can charge as little as £10 per bed on some nights. For HI and YHA Members our WiFi service is free of charge and you can become a member for as little as £10 per annum.
With regards to the negative comments about me personally, I am afraid that you have me at a disadvantage as I don't recall ever meeting you and I am sure I would have remembered what appears to have been a very memorable experience for yourself. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss any of the issues that you have raised and I will be more than happy to pass your feedback on to my operations manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for a Uni reunion for one night, we hired a private dorm of 6 of us. The bathroom smelt pretty bad and wasn't the cleanest, slightly dated. But the rooms were comfy and the hostel lobby area has a nice bar and cafe area the staff were friendly too. The location was good, very close to the docks or a cheap taxi ride away to the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelt200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback which is always appreciated.
We are glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbed bar and reception area. We are now looking forward to a small general hostel refurb and decorating project which will also address some of the issues that you raised, hopefully beginning this winter.
I hope that this will not put you off using us again in the future as the YHA Liverpool Team would love to to see you again where we can, (hopefully), exceed your expectations next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location of the hostel and availability of parking is FANTASTIC for the price. Basically right on the Albert Dock, you can't get closer to the action. The bar area has recently been renovated which is great (and again has good prices) but this does mean there's a lack of space to sit and relax in if you're not wanting to drink and party in the bar. Sadly the renovation seems to have stopped at the bar/reception. The decor in the rooms and bathrooms is very dated, faded and therefore doesn't appear clean (especially the cracked showers). Bring ear plugs too - the doors are not in any way sound proof so you can hear every drunk coming back late shouting to their mates in the corridor. I'd stay again for the location and price but if you want a bit of luxury and an uninterrupted night's sleep you'll need to pay more.

Room Tip: Just ensure you take earplugs, even if you're in a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback which is always appreciated.
We are glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbed bar and reception area. We are now looking forward to a small general hostel refurb and decorating project which will also address some of the issues that you raised, hopefully beginning this winter.
We do have a number of social spaces available though, including a tv lounge, restaurant and outside seating area so there's usually somewhere to relax away from the crowds if you need to.
With regards to noise, our night staff do try their best to ensure that our guests are respectful of each other through regular rounds and CCTV monitoring, this can be quite difficult at the weekends, but I hope that this will not put you off using us again in the future as the YHA Liverpool Team would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A great location , close to the city centre, the Liverpool Echo arena is just across the main road ,excellent value for money- good value family rooms , good facilities and friendly helpful welcoming staff, thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback. All of our staff work hard to ensure all of our guests have a great experience and I will pass on your comments to them.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at YHA Liverpool and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very good location close to Albert Dock and Liverpool 1. A nice clean hostel with friendly staff. The breakfast was of a reasonable standard and plenitiful Stayed with my wife in a private room with en suite facilities. The hostel has all the facilities of a youth hostel and was more than adequate for us. A good place to stay in Liverpool for anyone on a busget.

Room Tip: the family rooms are great for couples with or without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbyram_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at YHA Liverpool and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Room stank so had to sleep with window open
Bed rock hard
One pillow which was flat
Duvet was stained when cover was removed
Toilet flush worked occasionally & was hanging off wall
Shower was a dribble. It's a wonder it rinsed the shampoo off my hair
Breakfast was horrible. Nearly broke a tooth on the sausages, they were rock hard
I hate writing horrible reviews but this need to be said.
The next time I come to Liverpool I will not be returning here :(

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sarahblev72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and please accept my apologes for your disappointment. Your comments have been shared with my team and we will review them internally. I am sorry that we may not have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#28 of 100 in Liverpool
2,161 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The International Inn & Apartments
Embassie Independent Hostel
#27 of 118 in Liverpool
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Liverpool

Address: 25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £20 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of everything Liverpool has to offer, this backpackers' hostel is just a stone's throw away from the historic Albert Docks. Close to the city centre, this newly refurbished Youth Hostel in Liverpool is perfect if you're looking for a cheap city break. YHA Liverpool at a glance: £70,000 renovation Extended bar - perfect for relaxing with friends over a drink! Fully refurbished reception area with brand new furniture, lighting, flooring and decor Updated lounge and games room Enhanced CCTV security Not far from the Tate and the International Slavery Museum, Maritime Museum and the famous Beatles Story, there is plenty to do in this city of culture. Don't miss out on the ferry across the Mersey - the terminal is just a short walk away. Just minutes from city centre shopping, live music venues, clubs and bars, including the famous Cavern Club, YHA Liverpool is the perfect location for a budget weekend break. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere at YHA Liverpool makes this a perfect venue for catching up with friends and seeing what this beautiful city has to offer. YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Liverpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing