We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & affordable in a great central location”
Review of YHA Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Being someone who regularly stays in hostels when visiting cities I totally recommend this as a great place to stay.

I chose this place especially for its central location and everything you could want to experience in Liverpool is only a short walk away. It is almost opposite the Albert Dock and about 10 minutes by foot from the city centre. This was my first visit to Liverpool and not really knowing the area, I found it easy to find both on foot and by car. There is also a limited amount of parking for guests that means we could just not worry about the car. This is again a welcome convenience in a city centre.

The staff were very friendly and polite. They would do absolutely everything they could to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I noticed they were also very security conscious, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing and they weren't by any means over the top with it.

The room we had was spacious and very clean. It had an en-suite facility that was a bit in need of updating and some maintenance, but was also clean and perfectly adequate. The beds were not the most comfortable I have slept in, but then you are in value accommodation and again they were adequate. The hostel is on a main road and during the day this can generate some noise, however this was not a problem at night and I had a very good nights sleep.

The place has a university halls of residence feel about it and this isn't surprising when you consider the target market of the YHA. This is what I love about hostels as it gives it a strong welcoming atmosphere.

They serve food on site and although I only had breakfast, I found my food to be good quality for the price. Again the food handling facilities very clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

like all hostels its not the most high quality accommodation experience. But this delightful accommodation more than makes up for this with its central location, easy access and high levels of service. Overall it's good value for money for a place to stay in Liverpool and I would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback. All of our staff work hard to ensure all of our guests have a great experience and I will pass on your comments to them.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at YHA Liverpool and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for YHA Liverpool
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was the first time I was sleeping in a hostel. It was packed of people who came back from a party, but were not noisy at all. The service was not too friendly and helpful, when asked about really general issues such as the location of the public library... even though bathroom was clean, I have serious doubts if the bed linen was regularly changed... Great location though, as it is literally 2 minutes walk from Albert's Dock

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, I apologise that we did not fully meet your expectations in this instance. As you stayed in September last year it is very hard for me to follow up on your comments further. However, I can assure you that all of our departed beds have fresh linen every day.
We hope to see you again in future and we will aim to exceed your expectations next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fiend booked this for a girls weekend so all 18 of us could be close. I tried to book another hotel when I saw it but all were booked up with it being a Saturday. At £35 each..that's £210 per room for 6 we could have got an apartment! Never been to prison but felt like I was in one. curtains having down from rail! Furniture and decor very shabby. Carpets are minging and all the bathroom just stunk of disinfectant. Corridors and rooms just smelt sweaty and disgusting. Needed a drink to sleep here. Will never ever go to a hostel again. The downstairs facilities are good which must be where're 4 stars come from. The rooms are -4 star. Location good if you are not bothered where you stay. Staff friendly too

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilllianeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and please accept my apologes for your disappointment. Your comments have been shared with my team and we will review them internally. I am glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbed bar and reception area. We are now looking forward to a small general hostel refurb and decorating project which will also address some of the issues that you raised, hopefully beginning this winter.
I am sorry that we may not have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here with 4 friends. As a couple of us were running in the rock and roll liverpool half marathon. And to be honest i was a little apprehensive as ive never stayed in a hostel before. But my fears were soon dispelled. The recetion area was modern and super clean. And the people on the desk were very friendly. We checked our bags in early and went off for our race. On our return we were given our room which had 3 bunk beds and en suite bathroom. Everything was clean and neat. We had breakfast the following morning which was as good as ive eaten amywere. All in all a great value place. Im sure i will stay again.thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fudge j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am glad that your first experience with YHA was a positive one. Liverpool is a fantastic city and we hope to see you again in the near future and that your stay will be here at YHA Liverpool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a great stay in the 6 person private en suite dorm. A few of my friends were very apprehensive about staying in a hostel, so I'm pleased to say they all enjoyed their first hostel experience and had a brilliant time!!
Reception lovely & cheap breakfast, pub grub tasty, room & bathroom were clean. What more can you ask!!
Obviously there's some outside noise from traffic etc when you've got the windows open for fresh air, but we were just happy to be in the centre of the city! Only 5mins walk from Liverpool One too.

Thanks for a great stay YHA, none of your hostels ever let me down :D

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loobeylou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Liverpool is a fantastic city and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean, beds and linen clean and the bathroom in the room is a plus. Was a very nice breakfast for a good price. Staff were friendly and helpful as well. Recommend this yha if you want to stay in a hostel in Liverpool for sure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Jonothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Terrible experience. Don 't pick this hostel! First of all Where can I start?, the whole place looks like a hospital, the atmosphere is just weird, doesn 't feel like a hostel at all, very depressing. Everything seems to be about money! Internet is ridiculously expensive, when most other local hostels offer it for much cheaper or free. The rooms lack colour and "happiness". Manager is incredibly arrogant, I'm not even sure why such a reputable Hostel chain, like YHA, would have a manager as such. She looks like the most miserable person you'll ever meet. And she definitely makes sure that you know that she's just really after your money.

There are plenty other better hostels around the city, that'll offer much better service and REAL hospitality. Just look out a bit. Choose any one but this. I wouldn't even recommend it to my enemy to stay at this place... don't save money when you know you're gonna have a bad experience. Spend a bit more, have fun and enjoy this great city! You were warned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your review, we’re sorry you didn’t have a great experience here. We do charge separately for most things, this gives our guests the chance to pay only for the goods and services they require and also means we can charge as little as £10 per bed on some nights. For HI and YHA Members our WiFi service is free of charge and you can become a member for as little as £10 per annum.
With regards to the negative comments about me personally, I am afraid that you have me at a disadvantage as I don't recall ever meeting you and I am sure I would have remembered what appears to have been a very memorable experience for yourself. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss any of the issues that you have raised and I will be more than happy to pass your feedback on to my operations manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
0.2 mi away
Pullman Liverpool
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 98 in Liverpool
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Liverpool Centre Albert Dock - Liverpool One
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Liverpool

Address: 25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £18 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of everything Liverpool has to offer, this backpackers' hostel is just a stone's throw away from the historic Albert Docks. Close to the city centre, this newly refurbished Youth Hostel in Liverpool is perfect if you're looking for a cheap city break. YHA Liverpool at a glance: £70,000 renovation Extended bar - perfect for relaxing with friends over a drink! Fully refurbished reception area with brand new furniture, lighting, flooring and decor Updated lounge and games room Enhanced CCTV security Not far from the Tate and the International Slavery Museum, Maritime Museum and the famous Beatles Story, there is plenty to do in this city of culture. Don't miss out on the ferry across the Mersey - the terminal is just a short walk away. Just minutes from city centre shopping, live music venues, clubs and bars, including the famous Cavern Club, YHA Liverpool is the perfect location for a budget weekend break. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere at YHA Liverpool makes this a perfect venue for catching up with friends and seeing what this beautiful city has to offer. YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Liverpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your YHA Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing