We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, homely, perfect for visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embassie Independent Hostel
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Kevin and Kevin, the father and son owners, are amazing, friendly, welcoming, helpful, cracking jokes and making tea. Bread, tea, coffee, and juice are provided for breakfast and there is a kitchen for making your own food (not the best hostel kitchen I've seen but certainly serviceable). The rooms and bathrooms are always clean. The staff are mostly young and travelling themselves, and everyone is agreeable, even letting us take mugs of tea to the park across the road.

There are a couple of good areas for socialising, but I recommend you spend your time hanging out in the upstairs kitchen and reception where you will meet all kinds of people coming through and where Kevin and Kevin will regale you with tales of Liverpool and beyond.

The hostel is in a really pretty Georgian neighbourhood, close to the university and the cathedrals, and in a twenty minute walk to the centre/the docks. We've already gone back once and will again.

Room Tip: The girls dorm on the top floor is quieter as it is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umberrrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Went there for one night very welcoming, room basic but ok. Kitchen small but works ok. Down stairs lounge good would like to see non tv quite lounge? Shower: toilet basic but do the job. Overall not a bad stay but not sure if stay again. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshc913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Kevin,The owner, was amazing and very welcoming. All the staff was nice and available 24/24. They provide maps and all the local informations you need,The atmosphere is great and so friendly. I socialized very well with everybody from different countries. I really had a great time. Rooms, showers and toillets are clean but very very basic! ( you can not expect a lot for 16 pounds/night !!!). The location is good. 5 mins walk from the famous Anglican cathedral, and 20 mins walk from down town attractions. so no need to bus if weather is good. Free acces to WiFi . You can get a personal locker with a deposite of 5 pounds that u get back once u return the key before leaving. Acces to laundry facilities, living room, an equiped kitchen with free tea, coffee, milk, juice, toast, butter & jam 24/24

The hostel is very lovely but old and would definetly get so much better with some renovations and restaurations. Notice that you don't get pesonal towels. But it's normal regarding the price.

This was the first time I try a hostel and I loved it very much. I highly recommand this hostel for young people or solo travelers especially for those who prefer socializing a bit at night with a cup of tea before going to sleep! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I absolutely loved this hostel. The members of the the staff were very friendly and always up for a chat in the dining room or kitchen and everything and anything. Kevin senior gives a free Beatles tour every thursday, for anyone staying at the hostel, which I very much recommend. No matter you are a fan of the Beatles or not I can guarantee that you will have a great time going on this tour throughout the city of Liverpool.

The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. The location of the hostel is a bit out of the city centre (about 2 km (20minutes) walk from Lime Street Station) but in a good area. You can always take a taxi or the bus. Just remember to ask the driver for directions to Falkner Square and you should be alright.
There are lockers in the rooms which you can use by putting down a refundable deposit of £5 at the beginning of your stay. However as Kevin Senior said - it is generally a safe hostel but you might want to put away valuable computers and cameras etc.

Good rooms with pool table, free Internet use and TV. Reception open 24 hours which is great if out partying until the early hours.

I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to go to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

What a great hostel. A warm welcome with a cup of tea in a room like a living room. Cosy kitchen where you can easily meet other travelers. The top was the Beatles tour with many personel anecdotes of the owner.

Room Tip: The room was big and average. We were lucky that only three of the 12 beds were taken, otherwise it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great place to stay. Very helpful hosts. Friendly guests. Large hostel. Lots of rooms so I was sharing a 12 bed dorm with just 2 others.

Room Tip: Room 5 had no Wireless connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very nice, excelent staff, nice bedrooms and a free beatles tour on thursdays. I loved my stay and would definetly go back if I get the chance. Plus free toast, coffee and tea all day long.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanLozano_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
YHA Liverpool
#7 of 113 in Liverpool
304 reviews
Liverpool Gateway B&B
#20 of 74 in Liverpool
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
#29 of 113 in Liverpool
1,033 reviews
Central Liverpool
The International Inn & Apartments
Palatine Hotel Liverpool
#24 of 74 in Liverpool
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassie Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassie Independent Hostel

Address: 1 Falkner Square, Liverpool L8 7NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £18 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Embassie Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassie Independent Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing