We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Great Space to Be In!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embassie Independent Hostel
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a Great Space to Be In!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was blown away by this hostel for a few reasons, bare in mind I only stayed one night, however it was one of the best nights of my life, and definitely a highlight of my two and a half week trip. If you get the chance to come to this hostel on a Thursday... DO NOT HESITATE. The owner, Kevin provides a free Beatle's walking tour every Thursday and it was probably the coolest experience of my trip. His stories are incredible, his memory, impeccable and he's so excited to share everything with anyone who will listen. You can ask him anything and he'll have something awesome to respond with. I was literally holding back tears of joy listening to him share all of his stories, definitely the kind of man you want to take time getting to know! He was so chill, he even let us (three Canadians on the tour) bring our beers with us in the streets, so chill! Included in this tour is free entry to The Cavern where a Beatles tribute band plays all night! It was an incredible time (and apparently tickets are 17 pounds, so a real deal too!)

On top of the Beatles tour the perks included:
An awesome staff, super friendly
Free Tea, Coffee, Lemonade, Toast, Jam, Nutella, all 24/7
Hot showers
Clean beds
Loads of space
An awesome common area in the basement. (Basically a little mini pub- complete with pool table, kitchen, darts and an authentic booth!)
STAY HERE IF YOU CAN, I want to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    51
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
1
6
54
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently (April 2014) for a stag weekend. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cheap taxi ride (3 or 4 quid) away from the centre of Liverpool. Great for a stag do if there's 8 to 10 of you and you can secure the whole room. The free tea & toast was a nice welcome when landing back at 4am, that is of course once we could remove 'Spald' our mate who had taken up permanent residence manning the toaster. Please note that prices are likely to rise sharply do to the amount of cheese that he consumed during our weekend, however there was always a fresh supply which was great.
PS. Kevin (the 6th Beatle) was full of local knowledge and made us all very welcome - cheers Kev.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Me and my 3 mates came in Liverpool to watch LFC foottball match. We have find Embassie Backpackers hostel on Tripadvisor and we've booked few days before our trip. We came in the city after a long journey and we were pretty tired so we decided to find the hostel right away. We came in hostel about 3 hours before as we should, but the lad on reception was nice enough to check us in as soon as we came. We have to wait a little bit to get in our rooms but that was shorly not a problem. First of all, we were all amazed because the staff was so kind. They were there for you for every question and we even get a free ticket for the Cavern club entry from them. They suggests us what can we do in Liverpool and how to get to Anfield, city centre and to the docks. Also on Tripadvisor says that you have breakfast (coffee, tea, lemonade, toasted bread, different jams..) but you can actually eat through all day. Our last day they even prepare some home made tortilla for everybody who were in hostel. They also have a place where you can play pool (it costs less then 1 pound I think) and where you can prepare yourself for the night in city. We were all amazed. Hostel was great, scousers are great people, night life is awesome and we won the match of course! If you are a backpacker, you are in Liverpool and you like Beatles, good music and football of course I suggest you to stay in Embassie Hostel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kopite93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubarao, SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff is really friendly and helpful and they make you feel at home, Kevin Beatles' tour was really interesting, he's amazing at telling the stories and making you feel like a part of them, it's a walking distance to the centre of the city from the hostel, they have free tea coffee and toasts during the whole day and free wifi, I couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Free tea, coffee, toasts during the whole day, free wifi, very friendly staff. I had a great time here, and the free beatles tour is great! It might be a little far from the centre but the walk there and back is very nice, with the cathedral on the way

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Embassie. We had a double room upstairs, which whilst it was small, we were there to sight see so it was ideal! The hostel isn't plush or fancy but what really makes it is the very welcoming and helpful staff who really put themselves out. The free breakfast was great and the place had a real homely atmosphere! It was an ideal place to meet people and chill out. The hostel is about a 15 min walk to the centre although the bus stop nearby is ideal to get you into town quickly and cheaply and is very regular and reliable.

Staying at Embassie made a refreshing change from soulless modern hostels and we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My friends and I were visiting Liverpool for a friend's birthday and was recommended this by said friend as he had heard good reviews from others. We booked this expecting a standard hostel, however the service of the people who worked there made it much more than just a hostel. Friendly, chatty and welcoming were the people, and the building had a lot of memories attached, obvious from all the pictures, and memorabilia on the walls. The hostel provided breakfast in the price, which was something I haven't had before, providing all the basic's (tea, coffee, cereal, fruit). The walk to the city centre was about 20 mins, which I thought was very reasonable and the location of the hostel is very quiet, with a lot of foliage, quite pleasant to look at.
The place was definantly rough around the edges, and I wouldn't book this if you want comfort over convieniance. But for people who want a cheap place to stay after a hard day or night then this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The International Inn & Apartments
YHA Liverpool
#9 of 105 in Liverpool
274 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
#27 of 105 in Liverpool
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool Gateway B&B
#12 of 71 in Liverpool
70 reviews
Castle Lodge Guest House
#14 of 105 in Liverpool
133 reviews
Orrell Park Hotel
#3 of 71 in Liverpool
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassie Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassie Independent Hostel

Property: Embassie Independent Hostel
Address: 1 Falkner Square, Liverpool L8 7NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Embassie Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassie Independent Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing