We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for a better experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Ranked #58 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
2 reviews
“Couldn't have asked for a better experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

I had my wedding reception at the Alicia hotel and found the whole experience to be brilliant. The staff were helpful and courteous and always on hand during the planning process and went above and beyond to make the day perfect, even sourcing matching candles and crystals for the table a day before the wedding.

We had a BBQ rather than sit down meal and had many comments from guests that it was the best meal they'd ever had at a wedding, plenty of food and perfectly cooked.

The room was fantastic and the whole experience had that extra something, I'd heartily reccomended it to anyone looking for a wedding venue or somewhere to stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaz9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review at Best Western Hallmark Alicia Hotel Liverpool . Thank you very much for your fantastic 5 star rating. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Kind Regards:
James Constantine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    160
    115
    89
    64
See reviews for
138
234
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed for one night only, location hardly within walking distance of city centre but with a car its not too far. Surrounding area not the most salubrious but hardly menacing, check in was ok, staff pleasant enough. Was given a room in the garden wing and to say it was small was an understatement. I'v seen bigger broom cupboards but it was appointed with everything you would need, tea tray, hair dryer, tv and free internet access. The bed was uncomfortable, very soft and sunk in the middle but the bedding was clean and of a fairly good quality. The en suite shower room was clean but clinically un-inviting. I was going to shower but the water pressure was so pathetic and the room so cold just decided to have a sink wash instead. The noise from the road was quite apparent from quite early in the morning but was not of concern to me but if you want a peaceful sleep not so good. The breakfast was dissapointing i am afraid. Firstly no one to welcome you or show me to a table. I eventually found a clean one which was set. Food on offer was continental style of some cheeses and pastries, muslie etc. and a cooked buffet section of bacon, eggs, sausage, beans etc. while the ingedients were of a good quality they had been prepared and presented quite badly, the bacon being cardboard dry, the sausages almost cremated in a deep fat fryer and the beans a solid lump. Had to ask for clean plates and then point out to the staff member that every one in the pile of cold plates had food remnants on them, the glasses were also dirty and several still had lipstick marks ewww. Think they need a better dishwasher. Check out was quick, i wasn't asked if i enjoyed my stay or if everything was alright but i figured by now the staff werent really interested and probably too busy to care. Stayed second night in liverpool in another hotel which is also reviewed.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWtravalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments in relation shower pressure and uncomfortable mattress have been looked into and been rectified.

I am surprised you heard road noise as this is not something I have ever heard before, Sefton Park is a very quiet area, which the hotel overlooks.

Breakfast we believe and many others is something the hotel prides itself upon, it is the one area that I find people continually give me good feedback on. I apologies for the service and the presentation of the food that day, I will look into what went wrong.

We as a hotel value guest feedback and use it as a key tool to ensuring a better standard of service is given to future guests. With your feedback we will ensure the negative things you comment on will be looked into and recified for future guests.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Joe Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I haven't experienced much of British hotels before this week but with having a week off I’m visiting a few cities to see family & friends, starting off my week I spent 3 days here. The bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in and the hotel is generally well kept and extremely clean – the maids are super friendly and work like Trojans! They’re definitely a credit to the hotel!! My view of the park was also great.
It felt like home away from home as you get to know the staff and I got so settled I didn’t really want to leave. I liked the fact that it was safe or at least it felt safe and I had the best nights sleep I’ve ever had in a hotel.
Then the food has been so mediocre that it’s let me down a bit, I’ve been eating out too (I recommend a gorgeous Italian a few streets away) but when I have eaten in it’s not been the best with meals being cold (or maybe the plates being too cold) and the waiting time taking far too long – not sure how much work a salad can be? It made up for with the staff being so lovely, I didn’t meet the Chef but I’m sure he was just having a bad week!
Oh the lady who checked me out was great (I wish I caught her name) she was professional, quick, helpful and polite. Whilst I was waiting for a taxi she was dealing with several other customers all in the same way and was like lightening and seemed to cope with a busy desk and all the questions numerous people were throwing at her she remained calm & professional - I suppose being a woman multi-skilling comes with the territory :-)
All in all a great stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella_240281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

The Alicia Hotel is a great setting for visiting family, with offering FREE secure parking, it is an ideal place for family to visit you and for you to visit them.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Joe Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Measham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed over the Grand national Weekend. Ten minutes or so (if you leave early enough) for Aintree. SeftonPark is a nice area of the city, lots of people running till late at night round the park, so gives the impression of being quite a safe area. few streets away plenty of bars and restaurants down an whole street.

Seemed quite a popular area at night. Reception staff were very friendly and informative, the breakfast was good self service standard, with no limitations. Staff asked if extra hot drinks required, so i'd say a thumbs up. The bar at night was always staffed and drinks served until the room really emptied, which was great if you had enough elsewhere and wanted a quieter drink in the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, large bed and all faccilities were all in perfect working order be it t.v, warm drinks, lighting or very clean bathroom. So no complaints there. has it's own private car park, which looks quite secure. Racing newspapers in abundance which was a nice plus for us.

Time to city, guess around 15 minutes, little bit out but near enough for taxi fare to be reasonable. one downside, notice they bump price up for Aintree weekend, supply and demand i gues, probably made it a bit excessive in my opinion, but i suppose they all do.

It's not anything 5 star, but it's certainly well above average in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay over Grand National weekend, I hope we can welcome you back next year for the races!

Regards

Joe Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for 6 weeks, January through till March, staff very friendly and helpful, some rooms are on the small side but others more generous in sze, Food is very good, you need a big appetite to eat all the meal, Arranged a business meeting at the hotel and was very impressed with the service provided, great views of Sefton Park and not to far out of the city centre, secure free parking a big plus, give it a try you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to go online and post a review in relation to your stay.

It really is appreciated, I will be sure to pass your comments on the staff.

Kind Regards

Joe Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed just for 1 night in March 2012. A very enjoyable experience. Clean and quiet room overlooking the park, but would possibly have been rather on the small side for 2 people. Evening meal was good quality and good value, as was the breakfast. Travelled by car and used the free, secured car park, but not certain what the situation is regarding public transport.
All members of staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay and see you again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlsofDerision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

It is very nice to hear when guests have had an enjoyable stay, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Joe Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have stayed here before and always been comfortable. My room was newly decorated and a good size. I asked for a quiet room, and it was. Staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant food is of a good standard and good value. Buffet breakfast had plenty of choice, only moan - cold plates for the hot breakfast! Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e11traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alica_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your time at the Alicia Hotel.

We do have a plate warmer for breakfast, I will look into why this was not used.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Joe Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Devonshire House Hotel
#70 of 99 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South

Property: Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Address: 3 Aigburth Drive, Liverpool L17 3AA, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Liverpool Alicia)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is kissing the fringe of the 200 leafy acres of Sefton Park in Liverpool city centre. Located less than three miles from Liverpool Lime Street station and just 6 miles from Liverpool John Lennon Airport. The hotel has 41 comfy bedrooms and is a really popular venue for weddings, celebrations and corporate dinners. Stunning photos can be taken in their beautiful Italian terraced garden. The hotel is licenced to host wedding ceremonies and has some great facilities, including on-site parking and Super-fast free unlimited WiFi. Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South is the Green Business Tourism Scheme, Gold Award Winner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liverpool
Liverpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing