We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chagall”
Review of Tate Liverpool

Tate Liverpool
Book In Advance
More Info
US$185.12*
and up
Beatles and Liverpool Rail Day Trip from London
Ranked #39 of 206 things to do in Liverpool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tate Liverpool presents displays of work from the national collection of modern and contemporary alongside special exhibitions. The collection embraces all media, from painting, drawing, sculpture and prints to photography, video and film, installation and performance. Entry is free except for special exhibitions. Open every day.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Chagall”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Absolutely fabulous exhibition and so nice to walk around the Albert Dock afterwards. The Tate is a must for all visitors to Liverpool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    391
    244
    124
    80
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning exhibition”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I took all my family to see the Chagall exhibition and we thoroughly enjoyed ours trip to Tate Liverpool. There was a marvellous retrospective of Chagall's work, beautifully displayed with excellent explanatory notes. It was well worth the visit. The building itself is brilliant, with lovely views of Liverpool from its windows. Add to that a tasty lunch and a wide range of items in the Chagall shop and a stroll aroundvthe dock and you have a great day out!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tess500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“A rare gem”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was my first visit to Liverpool in many years. One of the factors that drew me back was the Chagall exhibition, and as a member I gain free admission with a guest, so that was a small incentive too!
The gallery space is excellent; everything one would expect from Tate... crisply organised and superbly laid out. The Chagall didn't float my boat, although it was interesting in parts. I look forward to returning to this little gem in an otherwise rather soulless renovated dock, warehouse and basin complex.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chagall exhibition”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wonderful exhibition. Travelled from London just to see it. The explanations in the gallery were very good - but there was an absolute bonus of the volunteer guide - who was so well informed and fascinating to listen to. Well worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RHC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WORTH A VISIT”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Truly excellent Chagall exhibition made special by the expert guided tour. Rest of gallery ok but much of it conceptual and for me a bit of a let down if you know Tate or Tate Modern in London

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEZWICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tate Liverpool also viewed

 

Been to Tate Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing