We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea at Bluecoat Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bluecoat

The Bluecoat
Ranked #51 of 204 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A former school tucked away in the city center. One of the oldest and most attractive buildings in Liverpool now plays host to contemporary art and performance displays. The rear secret garden is a tranquil, picturesque place to take a breather from the surrounding hubbub.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at Bluecoat Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Amazing building oozing history through each and every pore: I treated my teenage children to afternoon tea, hoping to redirect their cullinary focus from fast food towards slow, nice, simple, honest food. And.....result!
Yummy cakes, fresh sandwiches, nice presentation and very good service!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonaI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    61
    33
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Arriving at 5pm I was able to walk around where I pleased, poking my nose around upstairs without feeling intrusive, wandering through the galleries and pausing or not without feeling observed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great 'hidden' attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is one of my favourite places in Liverpool. I say hidden as a lot of people visiting this great city do not know anything about it.

The recent Liverpool One and surrounding development opened up the building to more passerby as there is a pleasant cut-through from Church Street to the back streets of the Liverpool One complex (and the fab Lunya).

The Bluecoat building itself offers all kinds of entertainment and shopping goodies. The courtyard, when sunny, is a great place to chillout and relax. The modern art gallery is quirky and fun. There was a giant inflatable Felix the cat when I was there which was a surprise.

Its really good to see this historic old building maintained and used in this way especially when you see the modern surroundings.

Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyWozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Odd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Loved the surreal exhibition
Nice atmosphere
Very relaxed
Disliked ........well felt a little like I was intruding

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Historic building.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

It is good to see a building with so much history in the middle of the newly modernised city centre, for a change it has not been destroyed in the progress.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluecoat also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Bluecoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing