We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liverpool walk”
Review of The Bluecoat

The Bluecoat
Ranked #54 of 216 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A former school tucked away in the city center. One of the oldest and most attractive buildings in Liverpool now plays host to contemporary art and performance displays. The rear secret garden is a tranquil, picturesque place to take a breather from the surrounding hubbub.
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We have been on a Bluecoat free walking tour of Liverpool. Our guides Joan and Arthur were very friendly and knowledgeable. They took their time to explain hidden details of the city to us and although we are from Liverpool we still learned a lot and it made you appreciate the city from a different viewpoint. The only down side was the city noise made it impossible to hear everything at times but this can't be avoided on a city centre walk. Perhaps just a smaller group might have helped but I can understand why the walk was so popular. The guides were so knowledgeable, maybe it would have been nice to have a little Q&A session at the end back at the Bluecoat with some extra info available. Loved it though!

1  Thank Ksteon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just been on the Bluecoat's History of Cultural Liverpool Walk and wanted to say how excellent it was. Really interesting hearing about all the buildings and statues that I have walked past every day and had no idea about there history. The Bluecoat guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. The walk lasted for one and a half hours and covered about a mile of the city centre. We will be signing up for the next one!

1  Thank MVG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Popped in to downstairs cafe for coffee, chocolate and quick bite, well impressed by choice for veggie, halloumi and olive, and hummous and pimientos, makes a nice change from the usual "oh give them a cheese sarnie, thatll do" of a lot of places.

Very tasty, very pleasant staff, will use again when we come to Liverpool for longer next year

Music in the courtyard was good, didnt do much else of the complex, next time!

Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We took visitors there and the service was embarrassingly bad. The bistro looks the part with a great long bar, comfy leather sofas and plenty of natural light. But the staff lack any sort of energy or dynamism and the overall experience was disappointing. Firstly the waitress turned up without a pen and paper to take an order of 7 and just shrugged and said they'd run out! When I gently asked if she thought she'd remember the order she said she would but lo and behold the food came out wrong! (I'd even suggested she try the gift shop downstairs for paper). The food then came but no one got any cutlery. We had to chase this as the waiter didn't notice we might perhaps need them to eat say a salad or a burger and chips. The cutlery took ten minutes to come by which time most of the food was cold! When I complained the waiter offered to reheat dishes that contained egg and hollandaise sauce - not safe! One of the kids had to wait a further 20 mins just for his meal by which time we'd all finished and the poor lad was fed up. Again we had to chase this as communication from another waiter was non existant. He then promptly set about doing loads of trivial things over the other side of the bar as if he was scared of telling the kitchen to get a move on! A supervisor, who to be fair was much older and experienced, did sort it out but not before failing to give us the promised discount in full (we had to explain the maths) and she also quibbled with me over a pound charge for a condiment that I genuinely didnt know what was for (surely in light of the awful service a sensible person would scratch that without any discussion? Ive worked in bars and restaurants and I know I would!). Overall it was just plain embarrassing to take friends who were visiting Liverpool for the first time to somewhere with such poor and disinterested service. I cant imagine what an American or Japanese tourist would make of it! The ironic thing is that we went there instead of a nearby tapas place because of terrible service there!

1  Thank NickLLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen R, Marketing Officer at The Bluecoat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Nick

We are sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory experience in the Upstairs bistro and we really appreciate your feedback so that we can make the appropriate steps to improve. We are currently reviewing and developing new policies to ensure that each visitor is offered an experience that they will enjoy. The poor service issues that you have raised are being taken very seriously and the catering manager has addressed the incident of your visit with the relevant staff members. Since your visit, we have also revisited our customer service policy with all catering staff to ensure that we are providing the highest quality service possible at all times.

While we understand you had an unfortunate experience this time around, please let us assure you that we are doing our utmost to ensure that our visitors only have positive experiences going forwards. Again, we are extremely grateful for your feedback and do hope you will return to enjoy an improved experience.

Kind regards,
Jen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a great little spot for a relaxing bite to eat and a stroll round the Gallery. Café downstairs...but a nice restaurant upstairs with light bites. Been here 3 times and can recommend the food on the menu...be it soup/sandwiches or something with chips (homemade and very good). Seating of sofas nice touch.

2  Thank willielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bluecoat also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Bluecoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing