We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For Children Only”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of World Museum

World Museum
Ranked #22 of 205 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: World Museum Liverpool is a fantastic family day out! Over five free floors explore: the aquarium and the Treasure House Theatre; the natural world in the Clore Natural History Centre and Bug House; the human world in the World Cultures gallery and Weston Discovery Centre; the earth with dinosaurs and animals from around the world; and space and time through scientific instruments and the Planetarium. There are also two cafés and two shops.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For Children Only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you don't have kids then don't bother coming here. Even just after walking through the main entrance I turned round to my friend and said "this is like a Wacky Warehouse".
I can understand it being full of parents & children as it is geared totally towards young kids and it is free to get in, so it's a good place to spend a few hours for families. But if you don't have children then it is really dismal and somewhat uncomfortable as you can see parents looking at you as if you shouldn't be there because you don't have kids. You know, I might just want to go to the museum because I like history - is that okay ??
Some of the rooms are very dark and this makes it difficult to read the descriptions of the exhibits. I can understand the Egyptian room being dimmed as the light may be damaging to the ancient objects & mummies, but why was the space & time room so dark?
Some parts of the museum haven't been refurbished for a long time - the rain forest section is EXACTLY the same as it was when I visited it as a child 35-40 years ago.
It seems as though the majority of the money used to transform the old museum into this 'World' museum was spent on the central staircase and even that isn't that good.
The cafe is very basic and the 'picnic area' is an indoors room with no windows - it's like a staff canteen.
I know the aquarium has always been in this museum, but along with the 'bugs' (an awful Americanism - we call them 'insects') surely they belong in a zoo, not a museum?
In all, I felt terrifically let down by my visit and I was glad to get out of the place. Not recommended by me.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alexscott6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    394
    160
    47
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Liverpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This is my favourite museum to go to in Liverpool as it is full of fun things to see and do. The museum has an aquarium and bug section and also the more generic museum stuff like dinosaurs. This is a fun day out for all ages and worth going to, especially as it is free to get in.

Helpful?
Thank ClaireLancaster93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled by train to lime street station and the museum was a short walk away. There was plenty to see, really great place and very well laid out. Thee is a cafe which is good value. Very pleased we visited and would definitely recommend going.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

A great museum for kids as there is a bit of everything - section on space with a small planetarium which shows great films, dinosaurs, ancient Egypt, a bug gallery and aquarium. Shame the food options are a bit limited.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fanatasic day out for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Its free ! amazing, 5 floors something for everyone, my daughters 2 & 5 were tired after the 3rd floor but its free so it doesnt matter as you can just go back another day, cafe was pleasant basic but clean, we had very yummy sausage roll & latte cookies & cake average priced. If your in Liverpool its a must :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Linds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Museum also viewed

 

Been to World Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing