We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plenty to see, withtout a fee”
Review of World Museum

World Museum
Ranked #21 of 206 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: World Museum Liverpool is a fantastic family day out! Over five free floors explore: the aquarium and the Treasure House Theatre; the natural world in the Clore Natural History Centre and Bug House; the human world in the World Cultures gallery and Weston Discovery Centre; the earth with dinosaurs and animals from around the world; and space and time through scientific instruments and the Planetarium. There are also two cafés and two shops.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Plenty to see, withtout a fee”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Really nice free museum close to the main railway station. Plenty see for children and adults, many things you can touch and look at closer too. Staff is really friendly and love to tell more about the items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    403
    162
    48
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Disagree it's just for children!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I loved it.

Our children loved it too.

Would definetly go back even though we spent a whole day there.

Egyptian exhibition is amazing.

Completely disagree it's just for children - there is so much information to absorb- there is something for EVERYBODY to learn here.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
634 reviews
572 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“A very small world”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

As somebody has already mentioned this has been designed just for children; so given it's free this makes a great family day out in the school holidays. I must admit the most impressive parts were the stairs and the lifts, because most of the exhibits were geared towards children, and therefore most adults would not learn anything new.

Having walked all the way to the fifth floor to see the space exhibits, after 5 minutes I was bored and took the lift down; after a further five minute wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Museum”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Every floor is crammed full of interesting stuff and you can easily spend a good few hours before you realise how long you've been in there! Lockers next to the entrance for if you had big bags like we did, and plenty of floors to find your fancy.
Would recommend, lots.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For Children Only”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you don't have kids then don't bother coming here. Even just after walking through the main entrance I turned round to my friend and said "this is like a Wacky Warehouse".
I can understand it being full of parents & children as it is geared totally towards young kids and it is free to get in, so it's a good place to spend a few hours for families. But if you don't have children then it is really dismal and somewhat uncomfortable as you can see parents looking at you as if you shouldn't be there because you don't have kids. You know, I might just want to go to the museum because I like history - is that okay ??
Some of the rooms are very dark and this makes it difficult to read the descriptions of the exhibits. I can understand the Egyptian room being dimmed as the light may be damaging to the ancient objects & mummies, but why was the space & time room so dark?
Some parts of the museum haven't been refurbished for a long time - the rain forest section is EXACTLY the same as it was when I visited it as a child 35-40 years ago.
It seems as though the majority of the money used to transform the old museum into this 'World' museum was spent on the central staircase and even that isn't that good.
The cafe is very basic and the 'picnic area' is an indoors room with no windows - it's like a staff canteen.
I know the aquarium has always been in this museum, but along with the 'bugs' (an awful Americanism - we call them 'insects') surely they belong in a zoo, not a museum?
In all, I felt terrifically let down by my visit and I was glad to get out of the place. Not recommended by me.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alexscott6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Museum also viewed

 

Been to World Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing