We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites!”
Review of Speke Hall

Speke Hall
Ranked #16 of 208 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Ok its time to come clean, I'm a local but this fantastic house is one of our "go to" places and we visit probably at least once a month (we are national trust members but sometimes we just go for a walk around the grounds)
The house itself is magnificent and the only thing that can spoil a visit there is is the occasional easyjet flying overhead. It is a bit close to the airport but that can also be used to your advantage, wrap up well and walk around the grounds and watch the planes take off and land from one of the conveniently placed benches (take your camera for some fantastic shots)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TedScholefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    282
    58
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spooky !!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There's supposed to be the ghost of a lady who is reputed to have thrown a baby out of one of the bedroom windows. The reasons are mixed. One is that the lady was a maid servant who was trying to rescue the baby. The other is that the lady is the baby's mother, and she threw her baby to someone below. Either way, it seems the lady was trying to save the baby from something or someone.
I think they do ghost tours here too. Bet that would be really earie

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spekes to the nation!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This amazing Tudor house has everything for everyone with mazes and play areas also its historical facts. A very good trip for schools and tourists. If you come to this fabulous house you will come back with a pile of interesting facts and some new words. If you want to learn how to look rich or dance like proper Tudors, Speke Hall is the place for you! Speke Hall gives you a beautiful house with no foundation but sandstone. This historical building is over 400 years old but still has everything that it had to offer when it was first built.

Whilst visiting this lovely home why not get an amazing tour guide to walk you round the whole house.This magnificent place doesn't offer the best central heating but you wouldn't want to ruin the furniture would you? I would recommend this house to any age but maybe not disabled people since there are a few stairs.

Megan Michell age 9

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michell222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Super trip with something for almost everyone”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Enjoyed our visit very much. Lovely gardens (will be fab in the spring and summer I imagine) nice walks with the added bonus of close - up plane spotting if that takes your fancy. Nice picnic areas and kids park - a maze has been planted and will be great with it's matured. The hall is interesting and nice to get around - the guides are friendly and informative. There's plenty to see. We had lunch in the restaurant - not cheap but nice quality and very friendly service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“a great day out”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

lots to do and see hear for all the family well worth every penny and if you are a NT member its FREE, and go to the bottom of the garden and see the planes taking off

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speke Hall also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Speke Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing