We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tudor Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Speke Hall

Speke Hall
Ranked #15 of 204 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tudor Masterpiece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Speke Hall is a wonderfully preserved 500 year old Tudor house on the banks of the River Mersey. It lay dormant for over 100 years before it was refurbished in the 18th century and became a family home again. It was donated to the National Trust in the 1940's.
The house is surrounded by acres of beautiful gardens and woodland.
We joined one of the (included) guided tours which added immensely to our experience.
A lovely day out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    264
    58
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Attended a family wedding and it was brilliant. The venue itself was beautiful and the ideal location for the ceremony. There were plenty of staff on hand to help (even helping the guys with their buttonholes!). In particular the wedding coordinator was fantastic. A really great occasion!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
241 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We suppose this is probably missed by many visitors to Liverpool, as it is situated right next to the airport, but we were glad to be staying nearby and have the opportunity to visit. Entrance is free to National Trust members.

The building is very striking, and it sits in extensive and well-maintained grounds. We enjoyed walking around. We didn't participate in the tour of the house, but overheard part of one of the guided tours, and the guide seemed both knowledgeable and entertaining.

The young ladies at reception when we visited were very friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Personable staff brought the Beatle's to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our tour of John Lennon and Paul McCartney's boyhood homes was a holiday highlight. The personable and knowledgeable staff at both houses share amazing stories, insights, and Lennon and McCartney knowledge. This is a must visit for Beatles fans.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must for the itinerary...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Being National Trust members, we should really make an effort to visit Speke Hall more often than we have done in the past. I’m always in awe of this beautiful Tudor building, which is full of character, atmosphere and rooms with many tales to tell. The staff are very friendly and more than willing to share their knowledge and indulge my theories about the priest hideout! The gardens are well maintained and lovely to wander around, plus there are other walks through the woods or around the estate with views of the Mersey. In the dry weather, it’s lovely to sit and relax on the lawn with a picnic. I’m proud of our heritage and always tell visitors to our city to put it on their itinerary as it never disappoints!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharonwh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speke Hall also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Speke Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing