We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic house which deserves to be more famous!”
Review of Speke Hall

Speke Hall
Ranked #15 of 207 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great historic house which deserves to be more famous!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Speke Hall seems to be one of the less well-known National Trust properties and also doesn't feature in the list of top attractions in Liverpool. I don't know why! It's a great place to visit - the house is very historic and interesting inside and the gardens are lovely...though it's true the grounds are not as large or impressive as at some other NT places.

You can also take a walk out to the Mersey which has very nice views. The path goes along the perimeter of Liverpool airport and across the old airport taxiways so you get to see lots of Easyjet and Ryanair 737s landing and taking off...great if you're into aviation, but they are not too noisy or intrusive!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    276
    58
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As a local I find the entrance cost prohibitive, paid £16 for three adults to walk around the gardens only, which are fine but not spectacular,, add to that the cost of entrance to the Hall.. too expensive, I would love to visit more often but cant afford it, one good thing was the buggy lift from the car park to the gardens

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bringing history to life for kids of all ages!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We thouroughly enjoyed the traditional christmas fayre (all 11 of us from 4 years old to 60 years old) and the father christmas was brilliant-very good at engaging with the children! The staff looked lovely all dressed up-we also enjoyed doing the small extra activities eg making sugar mice! Fab!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smell-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to be...”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Definitely a National Trust place to visit in a South Liverpool....great for families and people alike...and dogs...lovely food and lovely grounds and picnic areas....one of my favourites.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deronda43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a beautiful building!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having not visited in many years, I had a fantastic day out there! Building was beautiful and it was free flow Tuesday which meant we could take our time exploring. Guides in every room answered any questions we had in a friendly and informative way. Food in the cafe was delicious and there was some good walks around the grounds. Would recommend a few visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaz1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speke Hall also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Speke Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing