We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with lovely staff”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the hotel when we went to my friend's wedding. The room and ensuite were large, bright and clean and the staff were welcoming, really efficient and very friendly. Breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel's situation next to Crosby marina was an added bonus. For us, the stay at the hotel added to what was already great occasion. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metzanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

we had a family Sunday lunch here, the food was excellent, the service attentive and the environment perfect

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsdenique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We held a family celebration in the Royal Hotel with guests ranging in age from 3 months to 100 years. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and staff and the occasion went without a hitch from booking and organising to the event itself.

Some of the large party requirred accommodation - couples, familities with a young baby and with young children. All our rooms and bathrooms were sufficiently sized, very well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The birthday celebrant of 100 years stayed in the ground floor annexe with facilities specially adapted for the less mobile.

Our very tasty breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of options. There was a good choice of menu and wines for the celebration meal and they were competitively priced. The quality was excellent and portions generous. All our meals in the restaurant were efficiently served with unfailing good humour, always friendly and cheerful no matter how busy.

Reception staff had advice on other child friendly places to go to occupy the children and were very patient and helpful, especially with the younger and older members of the party.

The hotel was chosen because of its central location and ease of travelling to cater for local guests and also those from Northern England, Wales and Ireland and proved most successful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I have stayed a few times and always find this hotel excellent, the staff are very friendly and the quality is better than most. I would not stay time after time if the hotel was not good

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinehotelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We were there with extended family for my wife's 60th birthday party. The attitude of the staff, especially the general manager, was appalling. The night was ruined because of the way we were spoken to and treated by the staff. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, after all you only get one 60th birthday and for my lovely wife it was totally wasted. Even the morning after, when we were checking out, the attitude of the general manager had not changed, and we were spoken to like dirt.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank regaltrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

After recently staying at a 5 star city hotel in Liverpool and being very disappointed we decided to try moving out of town a little.We certainly made the right choice.The recently refurbished room was very well set up and very clean.No faults whatsoever.Bar area is excellent with very well priced drinks.Breakfast was well cooked and service friendly and very quick and efficient.We will certainly stay at the Royal again soon and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it anyone who wants a relaxing break with easy access to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Situated on the seafront at Waterloo, the Royal is very good value for a city hotel.
The staff are friendly and the rooms are decent.
We have stayed afew times now.
Some of the showers could do with upgrading, as you get no more than a bit of a trickle.
The sofa beds aren't too great and our teenager had a bit of a sleepless night on one of our visits but a phone call prior to our last stay ensured a better quality mattress on a different type of bed,
Breakfast was enjoyable on all but one occasion when they used a buffet style because of a wedding.
The food in the bar is also very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelbeckWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Park Hotel
#58 of 98 in Liverpool
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Beech Mount Hotel
#75 of 98 in Liverpool
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £82 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing