We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - very convenient for Liverpool and the ferry”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We needed to stay in Liverpool for two nights. Searches on the web picked out expensive city centre hotels without any adequate parking. Expensive commercial parking is available nearby but very inconvenient. The Royal Hotel is located in Crosby a five minute walk from Waterloo railway station. Trains to Liverpool Central railway station go every fifteen minutes. The journey also only takes about 15/20 minutes. The Central railway station is just across the road from Liverpool One Shopping Centre and John Lewis. There is ample free parking at the Royal Hotel where the bar and restaurant serve excellent food and wine. As we needed to catch the P&O ferry to Dublin for our return home, the hotel is only five minutes drive from the ferry terminal. This friendly hotel is ideally located for a stay in Liverpool for anyone who does not want to be in the expensive city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you for your review.
Yes, The Royal Hotel is not slap bang in the city centre and is located about 10-15 minutes drive from the very centre of Liverpool connected via a direct road just 2 minutes from the hotel. Many of our guests find this better as alot of the city centre hotels are in the middle of the city and suffer from noise problems and also, the parking is expensive.
We hope to be of service again in the near future on your next visit to Liverpool

Regards

Gordon Tartt
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

The food served at the Royal Hotel is probably the best I have sampled anywhere, the quality and presentation are second to none, as is the service from the resaurant staff where nothing is too much trouble, I am amazed by how reasonabley priced the menu is, I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for quality food and service at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thank you for your Review, Our new menu starts again in January after the Christmas Rush and we hope to improve on our newly refurbished restaurant.
Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Contrary to some views, our room (15) was of entirely adequate size, clean and well appointed. The main rooms / bar were also in good order, although the decor and lighting were too flamboyant for our taste. The breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of choice, although I would rather not take it to the accompaniment of over-loud commercial pop-radio. Another drawback for some would be the absence of a lift, but help was on hand with our baggage. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Given that we were staying here to attend a family party in the vicinity, we found the hotel completely satisfactory. We used the Merseytrain to get in and out of Liverpool - the station was 10 mins walk from the hotel, and this proved very convenient. A bonus for us was its proximity to Gormley's "Standing Men" -- an installation on the Sefton beach that has attracted a lot of attention - not all complimentary!

Room Tip: See if Room 15 is free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Thankyou for your review.
I am pleased to note you were generally happy with the Royal Hotel. Room 15 is one of our newer rooms and we have many more refurbished ones, some with sea views also. I noticed your dislike to Pop Radio in the morning. Upon checking this, I was disappointed that the tuner had been changed to a Pop Radio instead of my insistance that Radio 2 is suitable for breakfast. With regards to the absence of a Lift, this is a downside of being a Grade 2 listed building, however, for those with difficulties with the stairs, we offer "The Lodge" which is on the ground floor, is perfect for those who require a room on the level and also for Disabled Guests as the shower is walk in. We hope you chose the Royal Hotel when next visiting Liverpool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed in a double room for 2 nights. Checkin on arrival was straight forward and our room was available early which was a great bonus after a 4 hour drive

The room was very clean but very small. With our suitcases open we struggled to walk around the bed.

The location worked for us. By car, 30 minutes from the city centre and 20 minutes from Anfield or Goodison. Trains and buses 5 minutes walk away.

If you get a chance eat in the restaurant. It was great. On our table we (6) all ordered different meals and all agreed the meals without exception were fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Thank you for your review. The Royal Hotel was built in 1816 and is a Grade 2 listed building. As such, all of our rooms are different. We do check with guests after checkin to see if everything is all right and should this have been mentioned, we may have been able to offer you a larger room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked the hotel although it was quite far from the Liverpool central because most of the hotels in the town vicinity were fully booked, presumably because of the Labour Conference or / and the Liverpool vs. Wolves football match held there over that weekend, and the relatively good reviews on this site.

Unfortunately, for the price we paid, the hotel wasn't really that fantastic. In general, the hotel felt 'tired and old'. Moreover, there was no lift, so we have to carry our luggages up to the upper floor. The room was small and the water from the shower was weak.

The hotel did has its plus points. The staff was friendly and helpful while the breakfast was acceptable to us. And opposite the hotel, the park is a lovely place to have a morning stroll.

But given a choice, we wouldn't have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Germite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you for your review.
I appears quite obvious that you were really after a City Centre Hotel, as you mentioned you tried all of them first, and the usual box rooms they offer, the Royal Hotel is a Grade 2 Historic building and offers a different style of hotel to the chains. Incidentally, the Chains were offering rooms at about £250 per night on the same night you paid £92 with us.
We do not have a lift unfortunately as we are Grade 2 Listed, however, we do have a room on the Ground Floor which features easy access which other guests may require, no stairs. In any case, all guests are asked if they require assistance with their luggage on check in, we did offer!
With regards to the shower pressure. This WAS the case with some of our older electric showers. These have been replaced with new heads and the pressure is good.
At the Royal Hotel, we attempt to put things right there and then if we can and if we are told, otherwise, we look at tripadvisor and laterooms reviews and improve on them all. One thing we can not change, is owning a 200 year old hotel! ;-)
Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My mates and I stayed the same weekend as the writers of Fawlty Towers review below. Our rooms were both excellent ,with a new bathroom in mine. Breakfast was a bit disorganised ,it's usually waitress service but they said it was busy so it was buffet style. We went in a few minutes before the couple who complained. There was plenty of milk ,the coffee was fine and the hot food was as good as usual.A waiter brought fresh toast ,no problem. I would prefer the breakfast to be served to the tables but the buffet was just as good.
Despite our disappointment at Everton losing the derby we enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: front facing rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I cannot believe the reviews I have read, as it just wasn't my experience. I booked this hotel because of the favourable reviews but was extremely disappointed. I actually booked a double room, not a "four poster" as I thought they looked a bit tacky on the photographs. On arrival we were given a four poster room, but decided not to cause a fuss by asking for a change. The decor in the room was old and tired and the bedspread positively ancient and unappealing. The bed had a scratched pine headboard and was adorned with lace to give the four poster effect (lovely!). The matress was old and creaky. A notice outside the bathroom said that the jaccuzi bath was not operable due to being unable to source replacement parts (we weren't bothered about that).

We decided not to eat there in the evening, although I'm assured the hotel has a good reputation for food. We looked forward to breakfast but the whole experience was out of the pages of Fawlty Towers.

When we arrived in the dining room at 9 am there were no staff members to be seen, so we just headed for the self service table. The fruit salad consisted of a few pieces of chopped apple floating in some grapefruit-not very appetising. Having decided to give it a miss and opt for cereal, it was a case of hunt the milk. The large milk jug was empty and myself and another guest waited some considerable time before a young man emerged from the kitchen and we alerted him. After another long wait, when he presumably went to milk the cow, he came back with a small chrome jug of milk (for tea or coffee). Once again, a wait ensued and he eventually appeared with a large jug of milk.(no choice of skimmed).
Next came the tea fiasco- the machine had no hot water! Again, another wait to alert attention and wait for it to be filled. During this time a new guest appeared, poured a coffee, took one look at what was on offer, and left.

The hot food had clearly been there since 8 o clock-grey scrambled egg, bacon, tasteless mushrooms and what can only be described as tomato puree, (obviously the dregs of tinned tomatoes). A woman came out and gave the eggs a "fluff-up" with a fork, looked into the other containers and left. I've seen, and had better school dinners.There was no bread/rolls.
Once again, to get toast I had to stand by the kitchen door to grab the attention of the young man when he came out. Not at any time did anyone come over to the table.

We foolishly paid the bill before we brought our grievances to the attention of the manager, who in all fairness took our complaints seriously and made notes. He said there had been a staffing problem that morning. However, he made no offer to refund any of the money we had paid despite the fact I pointed out that we had not received what we paid for. I should have realised when paying the bill that the receptionist had not asked if everything had been alright-something you would always expect.
This is not criticism for criticism sake, just an attempt to record a very disappointing experience and warn others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Royalblue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Park Hotel
#59 of 99 in Liverpool
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £82 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing