We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$139
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$187
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$103
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
US$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$149
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
192
124
30
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
124
30
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanthony gormleysea viewcrosby beachsouth roadfreshly cooked breakfastbar loungefull englishno liftlovely hotelcity centrenight porterfresh fruitten minute walkfirst floorstayed one nightexcellent value for moneyvisiting liverpool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We've been staying here annually for several years now and intend to book again in 2012. The accommodation is good and since the hotel is close to the High st. we can leave the car & take the train into town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Bill H,
Thankyou for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back and if there is anything we can assist you with on your next visit, please do not hesitate to ask
Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Lovely hotel - excellent value for money.

We were a party of two couples and stayed here for the new year evening. Both rooms were spotless, plenty of space and staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

There was a themed pirate night which we attended, music and entertainment from DJ was great, the buffet food served was fantastic.

We stayed bed and breakfast, breakfast was buffet style, with a good selection.

All in all excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayReviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed our New Year's Eve celebrations and we look forward to welcoming you soon
Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Royal Hotel is in the suburbs of Liverpool overlooking the Mersey and Welsh mountains, which on a fine day would make for a pleasant view but it was gray and murky when we stayed for 1 night. The rooms are smallish but quite well appointed and comfortable. The hotel and decor are traditional, dark wood and chandeliers, rather than bright and modern. There is no lift (elevator) and when we arrived back late from a party it was several minutes before the night porter arrived to let us in as he had other duties. At over £75 per night for double room and breakfast for 2 people it was a bit expensive when there are city centre hotels at the same price. English breakfast was perfectly fine and the staff were friendly enough. There are good rail and road links to all the city attractions. Nearby is the Antony Gormley artwork "Another Place" which is well worth seeing. No real complaints and would probably stay there again for convenience when visiting relatives.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view but may present problems for disabled - no elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for your review.

As mentioned in previous reviews, our rooms are of different sizes due to being a Grade 2 historic building. We contact guests shortly after checkin and if guests require larger rooms please ask, we do have them. The staircase is dark wood, however, reception, bar & restaurant are all light wood, Ash to be precise. Again, we do not have a lift. We offer assistance with luggage at check in. Also, for disabled guests, there is no problem as we have the "Lodge" which is on the ground floor, has a disabled parking pay right outside, ramp to front and also walk/wheel in shower and so on. Anyone with walking or mobility concerns can book "The Lodge" as it was purpose built for our disabled guests. I am happy that you generally enjoyed our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I've stayed here several times over the last few years on business. Some of the rooms were in need of a refurbishment but that seems to have been sorted now. The bar meals menu is new and as always the food is good. Service is always friendly and helpful.

I'll happily continue to stay here when in Merseyside even though it's not th emost convenient hotel for the office!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We needed to stay in Liverpool for two nights. Searches on the web picked out expensive city centre hotels without any adequate parking. Expensive commercial parking is available nearby but very inconvenient. The Royal Hotel is located in Crosby a five minute walk from Waterloo railway station. Trains to Liverpool Central railway station go every fifteen minutes. The journey also only takes about 15/20 minutes. The Central railway station is just across the road from Liverpool One Shopping Centre and John Lewis. There is ample free parking at the Royal Hotel where the bar and restaurant serve excellent food and wine. As we needed to catch the P&O ferry to Dublin for our return home, the hotel is only five minutes drive from the ferry terminal. This friendly hotel is ideally located for a stay in Liverpool for anyone who does not want to be in the expensive city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you for your review.
Yes, The Royal Hotel is not slap bang in the city centre and is located about 10-15 minutes drive from the very centre of Liverpool connected via a direct road just 2 minutes from the hotel. Many of our guests find this better as alot of the city centre hotels are in the middle of the city and suffer from noise problems and also, the parking is expensive.
We hope to be of service again in the near future on your next visit to Liverpool

Regards

Gordon Tartt
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews