We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Waterloo Welcome”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #41 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Goring on Thames
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Warm Waterloo Welcome”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came up to visit family and friends, and since they live in Crosby, the Royal is well placed. We stayed three nights and from arrival to departure, we would find it almost impossible to find fault. We were given a good twin room with a new bathroom on the second floor with an excellent view across the Marine Gardens and Marina. At reception, we were asked did we need help with luggage. I said no, but the young receptionist insisted on carrying my wife's suitcase up to the room.
As it was Valentines Day, the restaurant was full, but we ate in the very spacious bar lounge, and chose from the excellent menu there, very similar to the restaurant menu. The bar lounge is well furnished for eating, drinking, or just relaxing. Decent house wine from La Mancha was £12.75, and soups, starters and mains were all excellent. Breakfast was very good also, with a lovely lady 'doing' them. Waterloo Station and bus stops are three minutes walk away.
We bought a go-anywhere Merseyrail ticket and managed Southport and Chester in the day for about £4 each, and got around with our bus passes otherwise. They have a direct dial phone to Delta Cars who are top class and cheap. Why stay in an anonymous concrete block in the city centre, when you can stay in this lovely place dating back to 1815, with standards of care and service of a very high standard, and close to the city when you want it? It is obvious that a good deal of investment has gone in here, not just in money terms but in staff training. We stayed here about six years ago, and it's a different place now. My only gripes: just one club chair in the bedroom and no safety grab handle by the bath. Congratulations and thanks to everyone for looking after us so well. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenFrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thankyou for your review.
The Royal Hotel does offer a unique hotel experience with Character which you will not find in the anonymous chain hotels. It is why guests keep coming back.
I have taken onboard your last comment regarding the extra chair, most rooms do have 2 of these. With regards to the grab handle, again many rooms do have these and I am looking at this today as to why in the recently refurbished rooms, the handles have not been replaced.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Assuring you of our best attention
Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    111
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
83
131
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I recently celebrated my 50th Birthday at the Royal. We were a party of 23 and we had a lovely meal on the Saturday evening. The menu was the Large Party Menu which provided a nice choice to suit all tastes. The food was excellent, served hot with nice freshly prepared veg and potatoes, and served efficiently by obliging staff. 14 of us stayed overnight. The rooms were of an excellent standard, some with sea views. They were clean, comfortable and decorated and furnished to an excellent standard. Everyone in my party was very impressed with the whole experience. Excellent value for money too. Thank you to all those involved on the Saturday and Sunday who looked after my party and I. You did an excellent job.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyM884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you Kathy,
We enjoyed looking after your party and look forward to welcoming you in the future
Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We've been staying here annually for several years now and intend to book again in 2012. The accommodation is good and since the hotel is close to the High st. we can leave the car & take the train into town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Bill H,
Thankyou for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back and if there is anything we can assist you with on your next visit, please do not hesitate to ask
Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Lovely hotel - excellent value for money.

We were a party of two couples and stayed here for the new year evening. Both rooms were spotless, plenty of space and staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

There was a themed pirate night which we attended, music and entertainment from DJ was great, the buffet food served was fantastic.

We stayed bed and breakfast, breakfast was buffet style, with a good selection.

All in all excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed our New Year's Eve celebrations and we look forward to welcoming you soon
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Royal Hotel is in the suburbs of Liverpool overlooking the Mersey and Welsh mountains, which on a fine day would make for a pleasant view but it was gray and murky when we stayed for 1 night. The rooms are smallish but quite well appointed and comfortable. The hotel and decor are traditional, dark wood and chandeliers, rather than bright and modern. There is no lift (elevator) and when we arrived back late from a party it was several minutes before the night porter arrived to let us in as he had other duties. At over £75 per night for double room and breakfast for 2 people it was a bit expensive when there are city centre hotels at the same price. English breakfast was perfectly fine and the staff were friendly enough. There are good rail and road links to all the city attractions. Nearby is the Antony Gormley artwork "Another Place" which is well worth seeing. No real complaints and would probably stay there again for convenience when visiting relatives.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view but may present problems for disabled - no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thank you for your review.

As mentioned in previous reviews, our rooms are of different sizes due to being a Grade 2 historic building. We contact guests shortly after checkin and if guests require larger rooms please ask, we do have them. The staircase is dark wood, however, reception, bar & restaurant are all light wood, Ash to be precise. Again, we do not have a lift. We offer assistance with luggage at check in. Also, for disabled guests, there is no problem as we have the "Lodge" which is on the ground floor, has a disabled parking pay right outside, ramp to front and also walk/wheel in shower and so on. Anyone with walking or mobility concerns can book "The Lodge" as it was purpose built for our disabled guests. I am happy that you generally enjoyed our hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I've stayed here several times over the last few years on business. Some of the rooms were in need of a refurbishment but that seems to have been sorted now. The bar meals menu is new and as always the food is good. Service is always friendly and helpful.

I'll happily continue to stay here when in Merseyside even though it's not th emost convenient hotel for the office!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
379 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We needed to stay in Liverpool for two nights. Searches on the web picked out expensive city centre hotels without any adequate parking. Expensive commercial parking is available nearby but very inconvenient. The Royal Hotel is located in Crosby a five minute walk from Waterloo railway station. Trains to Liverpool Central railway station go every fifteen minutes. The journey also only takes about 15/20 minutes. The Central railway station is just across the road from Liverpool One Shopping Centre and John Lewis. There is ample free parking at the Royal Hotel where the bar and restaurant serve excellent food and wine. As we needed to catch the P&O ferry to Dublin for our return home, the hotel is only five minutes drive from the ferry terminal. This friendly hotel is ideally located for a stay in Liverpool for anyone who does not want to be in the expensive city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thank you for your review.
Yes, The Royal Hotel is not slap bang in the city centre and is located about 10-15 minutes drive from the very centre of Liverpool connected via a direct road just 2 minutes from the hotel. Many of our guests find this better as alot of the city centre hotels are in the middle of the city and suffer from noise problems and also, the parking is expensive.
We hope to be of service again in the near future on your next visit to Liverpool

Regards

Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Park Hotel
#56 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing