We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheila & Bob”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sheila & Bob”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have been staying at the Royal at least once a month for 2/3 days at a time for the past 2 years as we work away and come back to Liverpool to visit family.We have stayed in plenty of hotels over the years but the Royal beats the lot. We run a social club so have a hectic life and we absolutely relax so much and sleep very well as the location is lovely and quiet. The staff who always have a smile for you all now seem like friends. from Gavin the chef and all who work in the kitchen, Lisa on reception,Steve and Jeff, Carole at breakfast and all the other staff who make us so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and very well priced, the menu for both restaurant and bar is super with loads of choice, we never eat anywhere else. As soon as we walk in the door we feel like we have come home. If you are considering a stay in Liverpool try the Royal you will not be disappointed, beach is just a short walk from the hotel so good location and Liverpool city centre is easy to get to. Thank you all at the Royal and see you in a week or so.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have lovely sea views, but all rooms are comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We a family run hotel and believe that in the days of faceless corporate chains, an hotel should be a home from home and encourage our staff to be a part of "The Royal Family" . See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    113
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
132
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We held our wedding at the Royal yesterday, and cannot praise it highly enough.
It had been recommended by a colleague and Steve, one of the managers, gave us tremendous confidence when we made enquiries, so we booked our wedding there. Steve and his colleague Jeff helped us plan the day as things came together, and absoultely nothing was too much trouble, they were very professional and organised, and helped us with ideas and contacts for flowers and room decoration.
On the day, the restaurant was laid out exactly as we'd planned it, our guests were treated like royalty by the staff, and the odd request for variations to our agreed menu were accommodated without any problems at all.
The food was fantastic - we've eaten there before and always enjoyed it, but serving nearly 70 people is always going to be a challenge, but the meals were absoutely perfect, and beautifully presented.
Steve helped the day go to plan by acting as toastmaster and was always on hand whenever we needed anything at all, with a smile and a cheery comment, and nothing was too much trouble for him and the team.
We stayed overnight, and our room was lovely, and some of our guests also stayed and were equally delighted with the room and we joined them for a great breakfast.
The feedback from our guests was fantastic, and I'm happy to recommend the Royal to anyone, whether for a stay, a meal, or a function.
Thanks to all who really made our wedding day very special!

Room Tip: our four poster bed was great, and some of the rooms have a great view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review. A wedding day is one of the most important days of a persons life and we understand this at the Royal Hotel. We offer a bespoke service to our guests and by using fresh local food, cooked by highly trained chefs, we aim to please. On behalf of myself and the team at the Royal Hotel, we wish you all the very best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

Popped into the Royal tonight for a quick tea and felt I had to write a few words. I'm always delighted by how welcoming this place is - the staff (led by an exceptional, gentlemanly young manager) are very good and attentive - both the young lady who took our order and the young chap who waited our table were very good.

The food is a cut above the rivals at very reasonable prices. There's a great selection of main courses with something for everyone and a great range of veggie options too.

In an age of carbon copy chains the Royal is a really special, first class venue. Welcoming, warm and serving first-class food and drink - Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLF1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves in cooking from fresh wherever possible using local suppliers unlike certain chains who use bought in frozen ready meals. We often find it incredible that chains buy in pre cooked food as well, such as burgers and sausages! We will continue to provide our customers with home cooked food and will continue to support our local suppliers and producers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my sister.Staff are exceptional in all areas of the hotel nothing is to much trouble, very friendly and efficient. This may be a small hotel but it catered to all our needs and the location was excellent as we were visiting friends nearby. Access to public transport is great. Meals good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandEamonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you chose the Royal Hotel again should you return to Liverpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Scousers seem to be naturally friendly, and the staff at the Royal were among the most helpful and good-humoured you'd find anywhere. They let us wheel our bicycles through the main dining room into secure storage. There's some sort of 'historic English battles' theme going on - several busts of military commanders about the place, and on the first floor landing, paintings of a naval battle in the 18th century. My room was quite small but perfectly adequate, and looked out over a small park and a lake; the road outside is very quiet. Dinner in the restaurant was good quality although the service was a bit inattentive; they had a big birthday party in, which may have been a distraction. On the downside, there was a lot of smoking around the door, which permeated the entrance area, and the most disappointing bum note was at breakfast, where you get your coffee from an automatic dispenser, and it is truly horrible. People will pay a premium for good coffee, and awful coffee leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Apart from that it's good value at the price, and close to Anthony Gormley's beach sculpture 'Another Place' if you want to see that - about 15 minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We had changed our coffee machine to an automatic one the coffee was better than some others. We had changed to this machine as a result of poor quality filter coffee which goes stale quickly. Our breakfast menu does state that we can do espresso, cappuccino, latte etc to order at a small £1.50 per cup charge. I am currently looking into a coffee machine replacement. Black coffee is fine, however the problem with this machine is the milk which is UHT. Your comments regarding smoke around the entrance will be looked into however, we are a little restricted as the entrance is the only area under cover and being a Grade 2 listed building in a conservation area, are unable to erect a smoking shelter. Hopefully we will have a superior coffee offering upon your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Booked here by work. Usually there are major issues with hotels that are booked by my office, but not here. A warm welcome was received. We had been working nights and had to check out our previous hotel at 11am we were able to check in straight awAy at 11 and were able to access rooms as soon as they were ready which was about 12. We were able to wait in the comfortable bar. The room was ample plenty of gadgets like hair dryer, flat screen telly, trouser press. Rooms were clean and well maintained . Good wifi connection in all areas we were in. Lots of parking but spaces were small. The hotel has a restrauant and bar open to the public so was a little busy at times but service was still very good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Royal is quite a nice hotel, having stayed in several of the bigger, more impersonal chains of hotels. The room was very clean and comfortable, with a side view overlooking the street. There was a 42” flat screen tv on the wall facing the king size bed, the bed being made up with blankets, rather than a duvet. The bathroom was well lit and modern, with a good shower cubicle.

We were a couple just staying for one night, attending a wedding reception in Crosby, so the hotel was probably the nearest to the venue and ideally placed. On arrival, we checked in and then decided to go for a walk to the beach and see the 100 metal statues that form up to make Antony Gormley’s “Another Place”. These can be seen after walking for about 15 minutes from the hotel.

Returning to the Royal, we availed ourselves of a drink in the bar, which had a warm and welcoming atmosphere, with a good selection of beers and lagers. We didn't bother with any of the food as we were eating later, although there were several others dining there at the time. The service at the bar was prompt and cordial.

On Sunday morning, we went down to breakfast at just after 09:00, ordered a full English breakfast and also two poached eggs on toast. This took twenty five minutes to arrive, which we found to be too long, particularly as others, who arrived ten minutes after us, were tucking into theirs before ours arrived. The breakfast was quite good, when it eventually arrived, other than the toast, which seemed to have been made with tasteless cheap bread. The dining room was not particularly busy, with twelve people there at the time.

The check in and out of the hotel at the reception was conducted very formally, without any smiles, welcomes or much cordiality, which was disappointing after reading the other reviews on here.

We would certainly return to the hotel again, if needing to stay in the area and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngw4br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,695 reviews
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing