We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second stay”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #36 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

our second stay at the royal a very nice hotel with really nice staff from recepetion to breakfast and this allways makes a differnce.our room was spotless they seem to keep this hotel in tiptop shape,breakfast was nice but the black pud didnot seem as tasty as our last stay,all in all a lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed in the Royal hotel on Friday 27 sep . I had a good nights sleep preceded by a very tasty
we'll presented dinner served by a lovely fair haired friendly waitress . I would stay there again . Room 20

Room Tip: Facing the marine park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Omg omg oOOMmmmggggg me n my gaz had a fab stay in the royal we went over 2 visit r friends who live up the road from the hotel we checked in early n left r case at reception we came back bout 9pm 2 a very busy hotel which was buzzin me n my gaz had had a long day wiv few wee be vies on board and when we arrived at 9pm we were greeted wiv the most gorgeous chattiest most friendliest manager James and omg we must have tortured him wiv r drunken humor n he jus luvd it (we think) we even had a pizza delivered n offered him share at reception n when we came down next mornin he even offered us the remainder of r pizza lol but he's a fab guy and a total assett 2 the royal hotel he came n chatted wiv us this morning beautiful hotel breakfast yummy even wiv a hangover wel def b back and the staff r brill from the cleaners this morn 2 the girl on reception this morn 2 James the manager luv luv this hotel bein friendly and initiate wiv ur guests def makes it home from home

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our stay. We encourage our staff to be as friendly as they are and to be honest, it is the main thing we look for when we have to take on new staff. We pride ourselves on a personal experience as we are family run which means that we often go the extra mile for our guests, even if it is a pizza late at night!
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for one night on 13/09/13,the staff are a credit to the Hotel,the service was exellent throughout the hotel,rooms are spotlessly clean.
Probably the best Hotel staff we have ever come across.
We will definatley return here for a longer stay.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the rooms are as good as the one we had.Probably rooms at the front would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly refurbishing the hotel on an on going basis rather than (as the chains do) spend alot on total refurbishments and then leave it for 10 years. Each room is different with us being a listed building and now that we have just refurbished the lounge bar, we will be concentrating on the rooms during the winter months.
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband, my cousin and her husband went there earlier this year for the weekend. We have been many times before but never thought to comment on trip advisor. This really is a lovely comfortable hotel, very friendly staff especially the lady who serves breakfast! Plenty of food and the bar meals are lovely but you have to get into the bar early as it is very busy and popular and you cannot book a table in the bar like you can in the restaurant. We love it, there is parking and we have never had a problem.

We will be going back many more times. Can't fault it.

Maggie Ramsden

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front overlooking sea, lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
I am pleased you decided to write a review on trip advisor as many of our regular guests do not as they are happy with the service we offer. We shall continue to maintain our standards and improve where possible. We never stand still!
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I ended up here after booking into and walking out of another local " Hotel " due to the appalling conditions and was very impressed with the service from start to finish, having heard of my bad experience earlier in the evening they went out of there way to make up for my misfortune even though it was nothing to do with them. Nice rooms and a good breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Wellington room is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review. I know the other hotel to which you are referring and can only agree. Luckily not all hotels in Liverpool are quite that bad and I hope that the documents you left by accident reached you after I sent them to Denmark.
Regards
Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a lovely weekend trip without the kids, room was great, food was lovely. Staff where very helpful, especially Steve on reception who could not have done enough to assist us. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed you weekend without the kids and hope that for your next relaxing weekend you stay with us again
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Park Hotel
#58 of 98 in Liverpool
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Beech Mount Hotel
#75 of 98 in Liverpool
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £81 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing