We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm old fashioned hotel of good quality”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Quite a contrast from the modern chain hotels this is a much more traditional experience. Room 8 in which I stayed had a double bed but there wasn't room for much else! I did wish for an armchair and a tv that had more than 2 channels! But everything was clean and comfortable, the food was good and the staff very friendly. There isn't really a lounge as presumably the bar area covers this need but there are no comfy chairs there either! The hotel seems to thrive and provides good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review. I have just checked the TV in room 8 and found alot more than 2 channels, however, there does seem to be a problem with the TV tuning with some channels missing and it will be replaced accordingly. All of our flat screen TVs have the full free view line up which is a contrast to many hotels that still offer just the basics. We always point out that if guests experience any problems during their stay, please ask and we will sort it out. It helps not only with your stay, but also with the stay of other guests. If you found the room too small for your needs, just ask, we have 25 others of varying sizes and some with sofas and armchairs. Being nearly 200 years old, the hotel does not conform to the Boxes you get in the chains. Our recently refurbished lounge has chesterfields and armchairs as well as the dining height ones, however, we will take on board your comments in the next round of furniture renewals
Kind regards]
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed two nights; there is nothing which which to find fault. A lovely hotel. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Food and service great. Recommended wholeheartedly.

Not much else to say but since 200 characters required as a minimum suggest you go for a walk and admire the Gormley statues on the sands. There is also keep fit equipment on the parade.

Ben and Clare Thomas

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs request lower floor as there is no lift. Staff very helpful with lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beetee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found everything in order. Your point of the stairs does pose a problem for some guests which is why we built "the Lodge" which is on the ground floor has it's own ramp to the front and a walk in wet shower room. It is ideal for those less mobile and equally those who are!
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed 20th May to 22nd May
Could not fault this hotel the room I had was clean and very comfortable the bed was very comfortable as well cant remember room number but it was a single at the front of the hotel with a lovely view looking out onto the park and the lake then the beach staff at the hotel were good as was the breakfasts plenty of everything had a evening meal in the bar area which for the price u could not complain about and it was very tasty and plenty of it. would I stay again yes it was very handy for the docks where we were working for the 2 days. but if down that way again with the wife would stay there no problem
Dondarr

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dondarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

our second stay at the royal a very nice hotel with really nice staff from recepetion to breakfast and this allways makes a differnce.our room was spotless they seem to keep this hotel in tiptop shape,breakfast was nice but the black pud didnot seem as tasty as our last stay,all in all a lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed in the Royal hotel on Friday 27 sep . I had a good nights sleep preceded by a very tasty
we'll presented dinner served by a lovely fair haired friendly waitress . I would stay there again . Room 20

Room Tip: Facing the marine park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Omg omg oOOMmmmggggg me n my gaz had a fab stay in the royal we went over 2 visit r friends who live up the road from the hotel we checked in early n left r case at reception we came back bout 9pm 2 a very busy hotel which was buzzin me n my gaz had had a long day wiv few wee be vies on board and when we arrived at 9pm we were greeted wiv the most gorgeous chattiest most friendliest manager James and omg we must have tortured him wiv r drunken humor n he jus luvd it (we think) we even had a pizza delivered n offered him share at reception n when we came down next mornin he even offered us the remainder of r pizza lol but he's a fab guy and a total assett 2 the royal hotel he came n chatted wiv us this morning beautiful hotel breakfast yummy even wiv a hangover wel def b back and the staff r brill from the cleaners this morn 2 the girl on reception this morn 2 James the manager luv luv this hotel bein friendly and initiate wiv ur guests def makes it home from home

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thanks for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our stay. We encourage our staff to be as friendly as they are and to be honest, it is the main thing we look for when we have to take on new staff. We pride ourselves on a personal experience as we are family run which means that we often go the extra mile for our guests, even if it is a pizza late at night!
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for one night on 13/09/13,the staff are a credit to the Hotel,the service was exellent throughout the hotel,rooms are spotlessly clean.
Probably the best Hotel staff we have ever come across.
We will definatley return here for a longer stay.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the rooms are as good as the one we had.Probably rooms at the front would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly refurbishing the hotel on an on going basis rather than (as the chains do) spend alot on total refurbishments and then leave it for 10 years. Each room is different with us being a listed building and now that we have just refurbished the lounge bar, we will be concentrating on the rooms during the winter months.
Regards
Gordon
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#57 of 98 in Liverpool
367 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
5.4 mi away
Beech Mount Hotel
Beech Mount Hotel
#75 of 98 in Liverpool
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Liverpool Stonedale Park
10.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
5.0 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £80 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing