We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, a little pricy”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #40 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, a little pricy”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

On approaching, an impressive looking building. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was OK, comfortable, maybe a little small and no view but otherwise perfectly acceptable. The bar was quite modern and comfortable, sitting in the conservatory is recommended. The breakfast staff were extremely helpful and jolly (a good start to the day) and breakfast itself was good, I recommend the full English!!
Top marks to the staff, my partner left her coat in the room and we only found out much later. After a call, the coat was found and returned within a few days, thanks to all involved.
room price prevents top marks but otherwise a good stay

Room Tip: Perfect for 'Another Place' by Antony Gormley on Crosby Beach The local railway station in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveByfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    113
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
132
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Service at the bar was slow and the cost of food and drinks high for the area .Hasn't changed much since it was owned by Threalfalls Brewery could do with a decent refit which may then reflect it's prices

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Sir,
You obviously walk around with your eyes shut. Since the hotel was bought from Whitbread, the entire front verandhas have been added and glazed, the entire reception area moved the entire bar area changed with toilets placed at the rear instead of the front and last year the bar was redecorated with new chairs and carpets as was the restaurant. The hotel is grade 2 listed and 200 years old so we are limited to what we can do to preserve this historic building, maybe sir would like to change other historic buildings in Liverpool, let's take the Liver birds down and replace them with more modern Parrots, I think not. Our prices are around 50% cheaper than those found in other hotels and whilst not as cheap as what you find in chain pubs locally, at least we cook our food from fresh and not ready meals found in others. You get what you pay for and we hope that you are happy in other places
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked our in laws into the Royal for two nights and they could not fault the food, staff and service. The rooms were slightly dated but clean, comfortable and an adequate size. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had lunch and dinner which was well cooked and presented.
They had a great time, so a big 'thank you' to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRGR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you all enjoyed the Royal Hotel. I noticed that you stayed in one of our slightly older rooms, however, I am pleased to say that the room in question is down for a full refurbishment and also, by discovering a void in the walls, the room can and will be made larger with a better bathroom as well. So maybe, on your next visit, you will be able to see the changes we make. We have a team who are constantly doing work on the hotel (without causing any issues for guests!) and we currently have them hard at work repainting the front of the hotel in the nice weather, so when it the weather changes back to cold, in other words during our summer months, we will retreat back on to the rooms
Hope you will use the Royal Hotel on your next visit
Kind regards
Gordon
Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arrived home after a 4 night stay, this is our fourth visit, we come to Liverpool to visit relatives. Again everything was first class, nice staff, (not forgetting the breakfast lady), good food with plenty of choice and clean rooms which were serviced daily. We always ask for a room at the front which has views looking out to a marina and the River Mersey.
No doubt when we come to Liverpool again we will be staying at The Royal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patandtommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to see your returning to the hotel again and we trust that your next stay will be as pleasurable
Kind regards
Gordon
Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL UK
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Prior to buying a Living Social voucher for a meal at this place I didn’t even know it was there, despite having been to Waterloo many times.
The food and service here were very good, but there were a couple of minor niggles.
The Royal is a substantial old fashioned hotel with a bar and restaurant. We were seated in the “posh” side rather than the “bar side” (where they also do food). There is a dress code, which we were unaware of ;I think my boyfriend’s tartan trousers were deemed to maybe frighten the other clientele so we were sat in a corner which was a bit disappointing considering the restaurant was pretty much empty (bar side was much busier).
When I booked I had asked for a 7pm table but was told they only had 6pm or 6.15pm available. When we finished our meal there were still only two or three other tables seated…hmmn, who knows maybe they had a rush once we left…
Despite this we both enjoyed our meals. Service from the young staff was attentive and my fish was delicious. It was served with a side of veg (onions/ courgettes/ parsnips) which while tasty were a bit random and didn’t really compliment the meal, seemed more like something you would have with a roast dinner, but otherwise the food was very good.
So overall good and yes we would return, but next time would probably try the bar side (and leave the tartan trousers at home!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review and minor niggles.
We do have a dress code for the hotel, however, it is limited to simply excluding the notorious tracksuit and baseball hats. We certainly do not seat people according to their dress and if any guests are unhappy at where they are sat, please do ask as we can move you to another table if required. Tartan troozers are no problem as we often have Kilts at weddings and nobbly knees are far worse, plus personally, I am a Keer Clan descendent so enjoy the tartan. I take on board your comments regarding the vegetables and will look at it in the next menu revamp
4 out of 5 isn't bad and hopefully on your next visit we can make it 5 out of 5
Kind regards
Gordon
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Myself and husband recently purchased a living social deal for the hotel it was 2 courses for 2 people £20 served in the hotel restaurant which was a fabulous deal we enjoyed it so much so I told friends and family who also got the same deal.
We have a real soft spot for the Royal as we had it as our Wedding venue back in 1998 and we have been regulars ever since, we visit the Royal Bar area at least once a fortnight either for just a few drinks or for a bar meal with drinks and never have we been disappointed, as for the staff they couldnt be any nicer so friendly and helpful including the management team nothing is too much trouble for them and you do get a nice friendly welcome which is why we have been returning for over 16 years and look forward to many more happy nights/days in the Royal,
If your looking for a real nice place with a friendly atmosphere good food and drinks at good value with fab staff serving you then this really is the place to go.
Well done to all the team.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review. It is a testament indeed that you have been coming to us for 16 years and we shall continue to provide you with great food and service
Kind regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Excellent well filled sandwiches on good fresh bread, nicely garnished with salad and chips.

Old fashioned, formal service from young well trained waiter.

A lovely change from usual fast food outlets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on the fact that we have not followed in the footsteps of the chains who often use ready meals and pretend it is freshly cooked. Even our ham is roasted on site unlike a certain sandwich chain which uses reformed. Our bread is from a local bakery also. We hope you will return in the near future
Kind regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 97 in Liverpool
4,692 reviews
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing