We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Royal Hotel
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

A group of us stayed here when in Liverpool for a funeral and I cannot recommend it highly enough. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The evening bar food menu was superb, well-cooked, tasty and beautifully presented and the breakfast was the same. There is also a restaurant in the hotel which we did not use but the staff offered to make up a table large enough for us all. The bedrooms were clean and well-equipped and it was lovely to be able to make a cup of tea in the morning. I am surprised this hotel only has a 3* rating as I would rate it 4*. It isn't too far from the city centre and is also family-friendly. We would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Director at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
Thank you for your review, we aim to please and all feedback is acted upon

Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    109
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
81
130
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Good Say but beds need duvets not outdated bedsheets. 2nd stay here and heating still an issue turn it down! Great Breakfast and service good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GordonDirector, Director at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
Thank you for your comments.

We are currently looking at Duvets for the Hotel, however our current Laundry supplier does not offer the crisp white quality we require as our bed sheets are now.

We will continue to improve our hotel

Regards
Gordon Tartt
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

came up here to see my daughter. Again for the 2nd time we stayed at The Royal Hotel we asked for The hougoumont lodge which we got check in nice and friendly a young man working on the bar helped us with our bags. This time it was our turn to treat our daughter to a meal as last time she paid. So we booked a table for four in there restaurant and the meal & service was fantastic i had king prawns for starter then tournedos rossini could not fault it at all.It had a great atmosphere for a friday night then in to the bar for a nice relaxing drink . Many thanks again 9& a half out of 10

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentBilly_the_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

i arrived at this hotel around the last week of august 2008. The gentleman in reception offered me a single room at a very good rate. I arrived to my room i found it very small, However it was spotless clean and i was happy with that. The hotel is in a very nice location of Crosby. I would agree with other reviews that the staff could not do enough to help they were always very friendly. The hotel is only about 10 min by taxi to the centre of liverpool and the taxis are very reasonable.I had to leave my hotel over the weekend due to prior bookings which i totally understand. I booked into Jurys Inn in the centre of Liverpool and i have to say the staff were not as helpful or friendly as this hotel.I am hoping to get back to Liverpool in a few weeks time and look forward to booking the Royal Hotel for my stay

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

I can't claim that I really expected an awful lot from this place, and I suppose that's exactly what I got.

Check-in was swift and problem free, although the clerk's patronising tone was uncalled for (I am visually impaired, and my colleague was asked whether I would be okay on the second floor - I am perfectly capable of answering for myself).

The room was spacious, although the fittings were rather on the tatty side. The television inparticular had a very poor reception, and it seemed impossible, however I tried, to get the set-top box to "talk" to it. The single radiator in the room seemed to be venting must of its heat straight out the window, leaving the room on the chilly side.

The bathroow was very basic, although it was a fair side. The complimentaries were restricted to soap (no shampoo, etc), there was no heating, and the sash window was decidedly leaky. Worst of all, after running half a bath or scorching hot water I found that turning the cold tap completely failed to produce any water. After some effort turning it this way and that I eventually resorted to topping up with cold water from the shower. It somehow seemed wrong to complain about there being too much hot water, but it wasn't ideal.

The bar downstairs, though of a good size and with comfortable seating, wasn't really up to much - with no ales on at all. I didn't look at the bar or restaurant menus, and we instead went for a couple of drinks and a good Greek meal nearby.

I had a fairly good night's sleep, although the room was very cold by the morning. Breakfast was basic, and the service even more so. Unspecial food was plonked down in front of my colleagues and I without ceremony - or a word from the staff, and when one of us asked for more orange juice to be put out, the staff failed to use their initiative and bring some to the table.

Check-out was uneventful.

Overall, an okay hotel, so long as you don't expect anything special, and I have definitely experienced better for the price (see my review of The Sun Hotel and Bar in Lancaster, where we stayed the previous night).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorRJNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

Stayed in this Hotel for two nights. Asked for a wake up call for 7.15 next morning only to be woken up at 8.05 by a guy asking if we had received our wake-up call. Tried to have a shower but the water just trickled out of the showerhead. Didn't have time to report it as we were running really late for Christening due to lack of wake-up call so reported it next morning along with the fact that the juccuzi did not work, was told that he didn't know how it worked and proceeded to take our £199 that it cost to stay there. So unhelpful on check-out so emailed hotel when I returned home. As of yet still not had any reply from hotel.My advice- don't stay at this hotel, you can get the same price hotel in the city centre and you will probably get better service............

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
Park Hotel
#56 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Marine Terrace | Waterloo, Liverpool L22 5PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#32 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a privately owned 25 bedroom 3 star hotel located at Waterloo in Liverpool - the hotel overlooks the Marine Gardens and the Mersey Estuary with views of The Wirral and North Wales in the distance - the Anthony Gormley Art Installation another place - which consists of 100 life-size iron men - is directly in front of the hotel - originally named the Crosby Seabank Hotel - this fine grade II listed building dates back to 1815 - just one year later on the 18th June 1816 - the first anniversary of the battle Of Waterloo - its name was changed to the Royal Waterloo Hotel and the District in which it stood adopted the name of Waterloo - today with its grand proportions and Georgian facade - much of the original character is retained - furnishings and decor have been selected to reflect the elegance of the era whilst at the same time ensuring that the surroundings are comfortable, relaxing and above all homely - set in the suburbs of Liverpool - We Are A 10 Minute Drive From The City Centre - Anfield And Goodison Stadiums and Aintree Racecourse - home of the Grand National - we are ideally situated close to the M62 and M57 motorways - with Liverpool Airport and all docks and ferry terminals nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing