We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour of the city with Phil”

Liverpool History Taxi
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great tour of the city with Phil”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a fantastic and very informative tour of the city with Phil. Starting from 432AD to present day. There is so much to learn about this absolutely fantastic city, it is a real gem. Phil showed us so many interesting sites and concluded with an intensive visit to the Liverpool Cathedral. I would strongly recommend this tour to anyone who wanted to see the city and get a history lesson at the same time. Phil was a great guide, to sum it up in a word - AWESOME!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kld1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
poole
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kevin and Stuart”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hi this trip is awesome.
Highly recomend you do not miss it.
If you want to learn about Liverpool Phil is your man.
His ethusiasm is amazing. He is such a great guy and loves the city.
Price is extremly fair and well worth every penny.
Trust you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank KEVIN c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great way to see Liverpool - well worth the money !”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were visting Liverpool for the first time and wanted to see some of the famous sites and hear some of the history of the city - Phil did not disappoint ! His two and half tour of Liverpool was interesting and enjoyable and time passed very quickly indeed. Phil is very knowledegable and his enthusiasm for his home city is obvious and infectious.
I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who is visiting Liverpool - it is much better than the Hop on/Hop off bus and well worth £38 - there were just two of us and it would be exceptional value if there were 4/5 of you.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Liverpool tour is also a great bargain”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We were lucky enough to run into Phil Gerrard at the ship dock when we arrived on a cruise ship to Liverpool. We had planned to use the hop-on Hop-off bus to see the city, but when Phil offered us a personalized guided tour tailored to our interests for about the same price we took it - and it was a highlight of our entire European Cruise to 5 countries. We were mainly interested in seeing the beautiful country manors around Liverpool and although we enjoy the Beatles music we were not as interested at the time in Beatles History. However, Mr. Gerrard knows and loves the history of his city and that love becomes contagious. He threw in visits to Penny Lane, Strawberry Fields, John Lennon's childhood home and the grade school he attended -and we are so glad that he did. Mr. Gerrard is very pleasant, will take all the photos you want of your group and has a little library of historical information and photos for your perusal as you visit the sites. Our 12 year old son and 11 year old daughter also enjoyed the tour very much. We would highly recommend this option for visiting Liverpool.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Coaltrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Phil Gerrard of Liverpool History Taxi Tour for Beatles Tour is Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We visited Liverpool on March 12, 2011 with a pre-booked reservation of the Beatles tour via the FabFourTours. This is how we met Phil Gerrard of liverpoolhistorytaxitour.co.uk when he came to pick us up - not for the Liverpool History Tour - but for the Beatles tour. As a huge Beatles fan our personal tour of Liverpool with Phil is nothing more than awesome. Being in such places as Penny Lane and the Beatles homes, schools, even the hospital where John Lennon was born. Being in these places + the Beatles anecdotes/history that Phil gave on every place meant a lot to us. Phil was probably our "lucky charm" because we had this extra bonus of meeting Dave (of the St. Peter's Church Hall where John and Paul first met in 1957) as Phil drove us to this landmark church. Dave let us in into the actual Hall where is all happened! Phil Gerrard with Liverpool History Taxi Tour met all my "Beatles tour" expectations and would highly recommend him to anyone. Also, you don’t have to bring your tripod for photo ops. Phil will take your photos to your delight. Phil will never hurry you up; instead he wants you to spend as much time as you want on the places you visit. Thanks Phil and keep Liverpool Beatleful!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Manilenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liverpool History Taxi also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Liverpool History Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing