We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save your money”

Liverpool Beatles Tours
Ranked #21 of 67 Tours in Liverpool
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Liverpool Beatles Tours have been providing personalised Beatles tours for fans since 2004, and can design a tour especially for you. We provide personalised tours, and can pick you up from the train station, hotel or wherever is convenient for you. With tours designed by Beatles historian David Bedford, author of the definitive boo on The Beatles and Liverpool, "Liddypool", we offer unique tours. We can arrange tours from 3 hours, 4 hours and up to All Day Tours - we have even done 3 and 4 day tours!
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“save your money”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Didn't get the tour I paid for. I did this tour in the past. Ask for a different tour. They gave me the same tour as the first minus tickets to John and Paul's inside home tour and the Beatles story. Tour guide stated he didn't know of the change to his routine tour. There's no communication among the staff. I also paid for a private tour. Twice, I did not get a private tour. They combined other tours using one vehicle in the afternoon. I do not recommend these people. Try anybody else.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lene_1211, Owner at Liverpool Beatles Tours, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear John, I am so sorry that your day didn't work out as you had hoped.

Your main contention is a lack of communication, and this is always an issue when making plans. However, this has never happened to us before. What has become clear from our internal investigation going back over emails, is that some of our emails to you were never received, even though they were sent to you. This happened both before and after the tour and must have contributed to the problems.

Although we have acknowledged a miscommunication regarding the tour you received, when you were told by the guide at the beginning of the day what the tour would entail, you didn't question it or state that you had asked for something different. Why not? At no time during the day did you raise any concerns or question what was happening? Even when there was a private discussion after the tour had ended lasting 20 minutes or so about the day, no concerns were raised.

It was only later that you decided to complain to the hotel where you were staying and followed it up the following day with us. Once we had been told that you were not happy, you were given another private tour lasting over 2 hours taking you to most of the places you had missed out on originally, which was worth £90, but at our expense. You also received other tour benefits worth £70 on top of that.

You mentioned about a private tour and having to share with others. Actually, this was for the last 15 minutes of the all day tour because our driver for the day had to attend to something personal, so, as our company already had one vehicle at the Casbah Club, you joined that vehicle for the 15 minute ride into town where the other couple were dropped off at the Beatles Story museum, and you were then taken back to your hotel. The rest of the day tour was totally private as promised.

I'm sorry we couldn't meet your expectations this time, which is always our aim. Maybe if you had communicated with us more on the day, this could have been avoided?

However, it is clear from the hundreds of "thank-yous" we receive, and the glowing commendations on Trip Advisor that we provide an excellent service and unique tour experience for our customers, and just sorry that your day didn't work out as you had envisaged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    18
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beatles museum”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we visited here last year found it really good especially if you are a big beatles fan.you can spend as long as you want there and there is a second site at the pierhead if you want to carry on with the beatles experience.however is a bit pricey but I suppose you wont mind that if you are a big fan especially our many visitors who love them.there is also a starbucks coffee shop inside it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonne947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beatles fans a must and more.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We only had one day in Liverpool on our cruise and our tour guide was amazing. He picked us up right time and made sure we were back in plenty of time for some last minute shopping and back on the boat. We went in John Lennons house, had pictures at Ringos and went to Sir Paul Mccartneys house. He also made sure we saw the Beatles museum and penny lane, strawberry field, the Cavern pub and never felt rushed at all. We also had time and went to the town of Chester outside Liverpool and what a great place to visit. I would highly recommend Liverpool Beatles tours to everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffnri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lou & Jennie L. with Liverpool Beatles Tour”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I can't imagine anyone more knowledgeable about the city of Liverpool in general, and the Beatles' Liverpool in particular, than David Bedford and his partner Ian Crabtree of Liverpool Beatles Tours. They can provide the most comprehensive, fact-filled and thoroughly enjoyable tour of their native city than you could ever want. For a recent trip my wife and I just returned from, they worked closely with me to customize a 6 day combination guided/self-guided itinerary and tour for us, to mesh precisely with our levels of knowledge and interest. During our 3 and 1/2 days together, their expertise fleshed out the skeleton of the Beatles stories we knew from books alone, and their humor and most pleasant personalities made real to us the famously down-to-earth and amiable character of the people of Liverpool that we had always heard of.... All in all, it was a total pleasure spending our days with them, and we often had a "right laff", taking the mickey out of each other all along the way. Well done lads ... you are the best !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“3 Hour Beatles Tour Monday 05/05/14”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From my original contact with Carollyn at Liverpool Beatle Tours to enquire and book this tour,she was a pleasure to deal with, so helpful and accommodating.
We booked the Tour for my wife and friend who were staying at Liverpool for the weekend.
As scheduled Ian arrived at the Hilton on time and took them to a lovely spacious and comfortable car,He was absolutely brilliant so informative and amusing,the following three hours passed so quickly.
We can only have praise and would recommend them to everyone,give them a call you will not be disappointed.
Shirley/June

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liverpool Beatles Tours also viewed

 

Been to Liverpool Beatles Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing