We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveller rating
500
467
207
107
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
467
207
107
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decoretail parkdavid lloyd gymcontrol towerambassador suiteterminal buildingjohn lennon airportthe club loungewedding partycity centrean early morning flightexecutive roomreception stafftwo double bedslovely hotelan overnight staycar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What a beautiful place to stay. It has been refurbished from the old airport building and what a great job the developers have done, managing to keep many of the original features of this fantastic building and combine it with the luxury of a superb hotel.

My partner and I stayed overnight as we were attending a business function at the hotel. We upgraded to an executive suite which was very reasonably priced. We loved the room, it was spacious and airy and very comfortable. The bed was huge and comfortable with plenty of extra pillows.

We noticed a leaking tap when we arrived and called to reception to report this, within 2 minutes a maintenance crew were in the room and fixed the problem promptly.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. We also had access to the 'David Lloyd' leisure centre next door to the hotel, although I wish I had known about this beforehand so that I could have brought swimwear etc. We also had access to the executive lounge which had plenty of complimentary drinks available as well as pre-dinner canapes.

I would most definately stay here again even though I live in the City of Liverpool, I may have to look for an excuse to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsbellsbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel has a distinct style due to the history of the building so it doesn't feel too much like "one of a chain." Good sized standard rooms, very clean and well turned over. Didn't bother with breakfast (circa £16) or use any facilities other than the room. Beds were very comfortable, lots of storage space. Nothing exciting in terms of the view but we were there just to sleep really.
The hotel is close not only to the airport but also Liverpool South Parkway train station (about 5 minute's drive away) which offers free parking and regular train services into the City Centre (takes about 15 minutes) and also to Manchester.
The room was booked as part of a special offer which meant the room came in at under £80 for two nights for two people sharing (Fri and Sat nights) which was excellent value. On arrival we were given entry card for a certain room, but the room we reached was already occupied. This issue was dealt with swiftly at reception and an alternative room was offered. Our room was above the function suite and there was an event taking place which meant music could be heard until approx 12.30am on the Saturday night. It didn't bother us but if you are a light sleeper it may be worth requesting a room away from this area.
I've stayed in worse hotels for more money. On a room only basis this was a bargain. There is a retail park opposite the hotel which has a 24 hour fast food restaurant and a branch of a well known coffee chain, also other high street shops so good if you arrive and realise you have forgotten something.

Room Tip: Close to rail links and opposite a retail park.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramleyapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We recently got married here ( Feb 2011) and honestly it was beyond our expectations. My husband and I stayed for three nights in the Ambassador suite which was fabulous, two floors, outside balcony, dressing room, dining table and lots of space which made it perfect for getting ready. The service, staff, food and room were much better than the very expensive 5 star Shangri La hotels we went on to stay at during our honeymoon.
Every member of staff from reception, bar staff, waiting staff and porters made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much of a problem, they made our day very special.
We had a lot of family & friends who also stayed and they had nothing but praise for the hotel including lovely rooms, very comfortable beds, and fantastic service.
We highly recommend the hotel not just as a place to stay but also as a wedding venue, the art deco building is beautiful which also means we have some excellent wedding photographs.
We would like to thank every one at the hotel for such a special day we will not forget.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We used the Crowne Plaza as a base for two nights as we were visiting relatives nearby and booked a twin room (with two large doubles) to house ourselves and our 2-year old.

We did have some trepidation staying here again after we were booked into a room above the function rooms at our last stay a couple of years ago. It is well located for us as it's near Aigburth. The staff attitude was variable then and the service was mediocre at best. Throw into the mix our 2-year old and a repeat of that would not make for a good combination.

We were very relieved that the staff have clearly upped their game and they were very good in all our dealings with them. They were happy to keep our stock of toddler milk in a fridge at reception.

Booking in was very straightforward and all the paperwork was prepared, it took less than five minutes. My wife did negotiate a good rate for them which did require paying up-front and this was dealt with well before arrival.

Checkout was the same and effortless, reception were always happy smiley faces and a pleasure to deal with.

The place still looks good after a couple of years and it is clearly a hotel that is well looked after. The car park is secure and they haven't allowed the grounds to overgrow and present a security risk thanks for high hedges, etc, etc. There was plenty of room and easy enough to park a larger sized car.

We opted for a ground floor room overlooking the front of the car park at the further reaches of the hotel (known as G20 to 25). It was quiet, away from stairwells and lifts.

The room was well appointed with all the amenities we needed, it was clean, well cared for, the beds were of an excellent quality and it was easy enough to fit the two side panels to one of the beds to stop our little one falling out of it as they are quite high up!

The room was cleaned well and the beds turned over, it was good enough to warrant a tip.

We did have the breakfast twice and here we only had a few minor quibbles, the food needs looking after once its been cooked, it is under lights and also on a hot plate and as a result it can go dry very quickly. It needs to be turned over regularly to prevent drying out or the temperature of the hotplates turned down a little as the lids to the pans were so hot to the touch they needed a napkin on them to handle them.

Other than that, our nipper got a booster seat at the table and was happy with the food, the service was good, the food was reasonable and there was plenty of it.

I did give the hotel only 2-stars last time and it is worth 4-stars now. It did exactly what it said on the tin, comfortable room, reasonable rate, decent enough breakfast and easy to get in and out of the hotel.

We would recommend the hotel to friends with the caveat of avoiding the rooms above the function rooms. I did query this when we checked in and I came away with the impression this is now something the reception staff are aware of.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirplaneCattleFodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Had a weekend here and everything about the place was superb. Reception , Bar and Reataurant Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Fri night we ate next door at Damons. Overpriced American style rubbish served by kids supervised by managers who are brilliant at hiding, don't bother going in . Saturday night we had a bar meal in the hotel and the Club Sandwich was superb. Rooms very nice but our sleep on Saturday night was badly disturbed by a bunch of scousers in the next room who seemed to be partying until about five am. The night staff seemed inept at dealing with it but the complaint was very capably handled by the excellent duty manageress, thank you. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthEastLancsBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews