We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #46 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have stayed three times here in the past three months and always paid the extra for the king executive suite.
The reception area is charming and that is were it stops
The rooms are in need of new furnishing,the bathrooms arent to bad. Jacuzzi tub was incrusted with years worth of dirt that will not come off.
I also read on there website that with the executive rooms you can help yourself to drinks / snacks in the lounge plus free newspapers etc, we were never informed of this from the reception staff.
One good thing, the rump steak and duck hoi sin pizza is fabulous.

Room Tip: Quite noisey as the windows arent double glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

There was a wedding and a Tribute Band on which was fair enough but the Hen party went on all night the hens were leaving when I left to catch an early morning flight much the worse for wear and still creating such a volume of noise, I complained to staff on duty but they were not interested, they should have been told to keep the noise, screaming and shouting down , or asked to leave guests should have been considered.

Room Tip: Dont stay there on a Saturday night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adeline07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

stayed here overnight with my son.the art deco design is very impressive the rusting aircraft in the car park less so.i wasw surprised to find when oi attempted to book this hotel that they have a max 2 persons per room occupanct in spite of having rooms with two double beds. i rang up to query this and wa stold that single people like a double bed but children up to age of 14 could stay in the same room but if older would have to have separate room.thias is contrary to hi policy of children under 18 being permitted to stay in same room for free. in the event we only needed one room anyway because my wife could not come but this policy of two people per room only is unnecessary. couple this to a service charge in excesss of norm in the restaur\nt and a larger than average tray charge for room service and you are left with the impression that this hotel puts profit above good public relations. also breakfast does not start till 7.00 am unsuitable for those with early flights.also i was not offered any benefits for being a platinum club member. the food in the restaurant was ok but not outstanding. i feel this hotel relies heavily on its decor to attract custom. i do not feel inclined to rush back however

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Dear CleethorpesGtfcfan,

Thank you for sharing your concerns.

We surely apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay with us. Your comments have been noted. For future reference all of our rooms do have a maximum occupancy of 2 adults. For those who are traveling with children please call our front desk and we will do our best to provide a solultion.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.


Sincerely,

Brenda Johnson

Case Manager

IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I've stayed here several times now, alone and with my girlfriend. The staff are consistantly very freindly and delivery fantastic service, especially a lovely lady called Brenda who works in the priority club lounge, always so helpful, nothing is to much trouble, a real gem!

The service on the desk is always freindly and helpful, the restaurant is also good with better than average crowne plaza / holiday food available (holiday inn stratford could do with taking a leaf out of your book!)

An extensive David Lloyd gym and spa is available next door which is always good.

Good location, only about 10 - 15minutes from Liverpool city centre.

Tend to stay here everytime i go to Liverpool

The beds are great to, very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask nicely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Situated in the old Liverpool airport building, the Crowne Plaza is one of the most interesting hotels you will find. Restored to it's former Art Deco glory, there really is a sense of opulence as you walk in. I stayed here as part of a wedding party whose reception was being held in the function room. The rooms are in-keeping with the sleek Deco stylings as is everywhere else in the hotel! The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were also very welcoming.
The old aeorplane situated outside is the perfect place to have pictures taken and is an intersting focal point. The bar area has recently been done up and it look wonderful, prices are what to be expected in a hotel.
Across from the hotel is Speke retail park with a number of highstreet shops and located in the same area of the hotel is Damon's resturant. It is located about a 10-15min drive away from Liverpool city centre but other than shopping there's not much to do in the direct area. Beatles fans might like staying here as the Fab Four often landed here from trips overseas! There are pictures showing them arrive back in Livepool at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLoreleiLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed over weekend with wife as part of a Re-Union of 17 people all in Executive Rooms. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and importantly, spotless. We ate in the Restaurant both nights and the quality and quantity of the food was very good as was the variety.For me the breakfast selection was really good and was a highlight as the quality of the bacon, mushrooms etc was outstanding.

Room Tip: Go for the executive room-includes Lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianp923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What a beautiful place to stay. It has been refurbished from the old airport building and what a great job the developers have done, managing to keep many of the original features of this fantastic building and combine it with the luxury of a superb hotel.

My partner and I stayed overnight as we were attending a business function at the hotel. We upgraded to an executive suite which was very reasonably priced. We loved the room, it was spacious and airy and very comfortable. The bed was huge and comfortable with plenty of extra pillows.

We noticed a leaking tap when we arrived and called to reception to report this, within 2 minutes a maintenance crew were in the room and fixed the problem promptly.

The staff were all friendly and helpful. We also had access to the 'David Lloyd' leisure centre next door to the hotel, although I wish I had known about this beforehand so that I could have brought swimwear etc. We also had access to the executive lounge which had plenty of complimentary drinks available as well as pre-dinner canapes.

I would most definately stay here again even though I live in the City of Liverpool, I may have to look for an excuse to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsbellsbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,841 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £64 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing