We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we always stay here pure luxuryxx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #48 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 19 July 2011

we always stay at crown plaza before we fly from liverpool its a lovley hotel and we love it damens is 5 min walk from crown plaza were you can eat lovely meals and have a drink theres a big shopping centre over road we book to stay here every time we fly from liverpool i would recomend it to all travelers they arrange for you to park your car for 15 nights and arrange a taxi transfer for you to airport its a verry good price and well worth staying here ,

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

From the first time we walked in, until the time we left, we had a brilliant time.
The hotel was absolutely immaculate inside and out, the staff were superb, and the meals were delicious.
All this in the Art Deco surroundings of this former airport building.
We could not have asked for anything more.
Many thanks to you all at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for couple of nights, at first we have hesitation to book the hotel because the review on here is 50% negative /50% positive, but after all we decided to book in from the expedia.co.uk travel website. The reception staff was excellent we got upgraded to the executive room and have the access to use the executive lounge as well, per the information board at the lounge, we can have breakfast there but the next morning when we get to the lounge nothing was prepared and there were some dirty glass and cups still on the table from the day before. We went to the reception and asked, and told that the breakfast is now in the restaurant, a little miss lead from the infromation board but after all breakfast was pleasant.

We visit the David Lloyd Health Centre next door, as we staying at the hotel we have free entrance fee only had to pay 1 pound for the locker and pick up the towel from the hotel reception, the reception at the health centre Diana was lovely as well, my wife also went to Saks hair salon at the health centre for her hair do and she is happy because it's very handy.

The Location of the hotel is excellent, we can easily park our car and it only crossed the road from a retail industrial place, about 20 minutes to city centre, just for fun we use the bus system to go to Liverpool city centre, it's very easy access, the bus stop just out side the hotel.

We also went to the italian in front of the hotel, it was my husband birthday yesterday and he had free meals and the staff at the restaurant was friendly and service very good.

We had a great stay and amazing weekend in Liverpool, love it and we'll be back!

Room Tip: always read reviews it help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldclasssister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the building, which is the original art-deco airport terminal, beautifully restored and complimented by a faux-1930s interior. What's nice is that the details extend to the rooms which give it far more character than most hotels of this type. If you want to pretend you're in an episode of Poirot then this is the place for you.

As it's been about 10 years now since it opened (as the Marriot) we noticed on this trip that the rooms are showing a little bit of wear but overall it's still very comfortable. We've been here twice and been lucky with our rooms but as this is a renovated building they do seem to vary in size and shape so it may be a bit pot-luck.

We didn't eat any meals here. If returning, we'd probably take the bed-and-breakfast package as the choice within walking distance is a bit limited - McDonalds, M&S cafe or a really rotten American diner called Damons which is definitely best avoided. There are however plenty of places 5-10 minutes drive away.

As an added bonus, guests can get free use of the health club next door, complete with indoor and outdoor pools.

The only possible problem with this hotel for some people could be that it's some way out of the city centre with no easy public transport links but that wasn't a problem for us as we had our car and the hotel has a large car park.

Room Tip: Go for floor 2, ask for room facing airfield
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinkyenjoyinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I can't believe I thought it would just be ok to stay here having read the reviews.

The worst part of this hotel are the staff. They have no concept of customer service. I mean none.

Every request is met with you feeling like they are doing you a favour.

The room was tiny for four of us despite it being described as large.

It was roasting hot - the air con was useless. It never left 24.5 degrees all weekend. The safe didn't work - and a report to reception did nothing - despite them assuring us they would sort it.

The beds were awful. Having stayed at crowne plazas before I know they have great beds. Not this one - we had 2 doubles - when I turned over my wife likened it to bouncing on a trampoline !

I must comment on the health facilities. You get free use of the David Lloyd club next door. The club is excellent but also quite odd. First off - top tip - if you want a swim make sure you tell the hotel reception staff you need a towel - the health club don't provide them to hotel guests. ( bear in mind that by asking the hotel reception staff you will feel like you have interrupted their chat and they have dine you a massive favour - but hey - no towel no swim right!

The health club is excellent, however walking out to the outdoor pool can feel like you have wandered into a scouse swingers party to which you aren't invited la, but good all the same.

So to sum up - dear mr hotel manager - please train your staff to offer done customer service ( it's not ok to get to our room - find our key has been disabled, trek back to reception and ask tell one of the receptionists what happened and be greeted with an annoyed "arrrriggghhht!"

Room small, beds poor, service abysmal. But it was 55 quid a night and there's a maccy dees over the road la.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoggy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here before an early morning flight from John Lennon airport.
The hotel has lovely art decor decorations.
The beds are comfy as well as the pillows. in fact the rooms were very pleasant.
We did not know about the leisure club next door so were unprepared to use it.
we ate in the hotel and it was okay nothing to blow your mind. There was a wedding reception taking place and the bar was very busy there is only a curtain type of affair separating the bar from where you eat so it was very noisy and did not lend it's self to a restful meal.
Because the hotel caters for events such as weddings etc and others are staying here for an early flight the 2 do not mix together.
my main grouse is that when I booked I was led to believe that there was a shuttle to the airport. This is not the case and had to be done by taxi. the taxi was ordered by the hotel and was prompt and we had no trouble getting one coming back. It did add another £10 on to our stay though.
Another plus was the car stayed in situ at the hotel.
For a nights bed evening meal and transfers for 10 nights parking it racked up to nearly £150. We have done this far cheaper with the Crowne Plaza at Manchester airport.
Although nothing drastically wrong I think if I was flying from Liverpool again I would choose one of the hotels nearer to the airport or with a shuttle.

Room Tip: Have a shop across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have stayed three times here in the past three months and always paid the extra for the king executive suite.
The reception area is charming and that is were it stops
The rooms are in need of new furnishing,the bathrooms arent to bad. Jacuzzi tub was incrusted with years worth of dirt that will not come off.
I also read on there website that with the executive rooms you can help yourself to drinks / snacks in the lounge plus free newspapers etc, we were never informed of this from the reception staff.
One good thing, the rump steak and duck hoi sin pizza is fabulous.

Room Tip: Quite noisey as the windows arent double glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#59 of 99 in Liverpool
373 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
1,459 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £50 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing