We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great V=Customer service but lacked information”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #48 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 10 January 2012

On arriving we were told after check in to park at the rear of the hotel for our 1 week holiday "park and fly." We were not however given diirection back into the hotel so then had to walk around the property to reception again with bags in tow to be told to knock on the service door at the back of the hotel again and someone would let you in. We then found ourselves dragging our luggage through the restaurant! Strange set up and would have been nice to be informed of this prior to wasting1/2 hour walking around the building dragging luggage around. The reception staff were friendly though and the mince pies on the reception desk were a nice touch. Bed was uncomfortable and on investigation the mattress seemed to have a duvet covering it, as a mattress protector which was lumpy and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeeladMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is an excellent property. A little out of town but well located for Liverpool Airport and the motorway network. The rooms, some are a little tired, are on the whole excellent. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms large, and the facilities reasonable. What lets this property down is the staff (especially the night staff). Late evening the staff are rude, unprofessional, and certainly not willing to "help". One customer asking about late night food options was told to "goto McDonalds". I stay at this property regularly and I have observed the same staff traits over a period of 6 months, and it is the same staff members all the time.

The rates offered are excellent and hard to beat; however, management need to sort out this staff issue.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephLDN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Near Liverpool airport this is one of several offerings for the stay and park deal. We enjoyed a hassle free check in and service was very attentive from all staff from the front desk to the bar to the restaurant. Good sized clean rooms and a comfortable bed. Transfers to the airport are by taxi that is paid for by the hotel. Super value and much more cosy than some of its competitors that charge more.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelidenRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Good location, not expensive to get into town by taxi. Rooms were clean although a bit aged.
I was visiting Liverpool for a friends engagement party and the buffet breakfast was amazing, escpecially to help clear the hangover the following morning. Staff are very friendly and offered my lost of freebies (not big, free parking and half price breakfast voucher) without me having to push for them which made a pleasant change. Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We booked the Crowne Plaza as we had an early flight from Liverpool airport. The Hotel is situated in the old Airport Terminal Building, but the decor is very modern with old Airline publicity posters on display. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Very nice. The downstairs bar was a bit too brightly lit, and had 4 large screen tvs which didnt add to the ambiance. All in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stayed here on the work Christmas night out and it was very good. Excellent value for money (£51 for the room), clean and professional staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deni48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is very close to the airport (and also my grandmother's house), making it a convenient option for travelers and my family.

The hotel seems fairly new, with an impressive facade and clean and modern interior. We booked a points break (5000 points) room and a normal paid room (the cheapest at 64.95).

Initial impression was very good. The woman on reception was polite and professional, and informed us that we had already been checked in as Platinum members. Both rooms were on the 2nd floor, near the lounge. The size of the rooms (one twin and one double) lead me to believe that they were upgrades. I asked the hotel and was told that they were standard rooms ("but a bit nicer ones that we use for our gold and platinum members").

The good:

-beautiful hotel and rooms
-nice shower
-upgrades and recognition for Platinum members
-convenient location
-reasonable prices

The bad:

-internet is expensive (5 pounds for one hour, 13 for a day)!

Overall, we really liked this hotel. It is reasonable, attractive, and they treat Platinum members very well (even to the extent of upgrading award rooms). Apart from the excessive internet charges, I couldn't find much wrong with the hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#59 of 99 in Liverpool
373 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
1,458 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £50 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing