We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Unique styling and brilliant location for airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Unique styling and brilliant location for airport.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Husband and I stayed here for one night prior to early morning flight. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly and helped with anything we asked about.
Had bar food fairly late in evening which was good and delivered promptly.
The art deco styling is amazing and sets this hotel out from the usual airport hotels that we have stayed in before.
Room was very spacious and bathroom amazing!. Bath sheets were enormous and really fluffy. Great toiletries too.
Extremely positive experience and would certainly recommend to friends.
Taxi transfer to airport under £4 so with parking onsite it makes real sense.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you Glynn20 for your review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport.
I am pleased that our hotel and staff met all of your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    390
    167
    89
    61
See reviews for
228
366
58
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was impressed with our decision to stay here. Lovely hotel, very comfy beds. Set out nicely. Clean. Although I cannot comment on the food as we went elsewhere for breakfast and tea. (We went to the crown carvary 2 miles from the hotel, we were not too impressed with the food here.) All staff very friendly. Free parking at the hotel. Not too far away from the centre of Liverpool. Parking is expensive in Liverpool. We found cheaper parking on Jamaica road for £3.50 all day, where as the first day we paid £7.50 for 3 hours in John Lewis parking. The only negative I have with the hotel is the shower kept going hot and cold every few minutes.

Overall good weekend. Great hotel choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you Katie R for your review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport.
I am sorry that you had challenges with your shower I can assure you that our maintenance team will inivestigate and rectify any problem you may have had.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport on your next trip to Liverpool.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked a room with two double beds through Superbreak. The room was comfortable, and breakfast was good, but the most impressive thing about this hotel is that it is within a beautiful industrial art-deco building. There are similar buildings nearby that were presumably part of the old Speke airport; the one next door houses a David Lloyd leisure club that hotel guests can use, and which has both indoor and heated outdoor pools.

There aren't too many hotels around with well-preserved thirties-style features, and they are often rather expensive (I'm thinking of Burgh Island and the Midland Hotel in Morecambe for example) - so staying here was a real treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport, we are very proud of our building and the heritage it holds so I am pleased that you also appriciated the structure and yes the 2 hangers either side which house David Lloyd and Shop Direct.

I look for ward to welocoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
349 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Another visit for another family member's birthday. The hotel always offers good value for money in terms of the rooms, parking and general facilities available. As usual, the sleep quality was ok (usually much better) and rooms were clean and quiet.
We stayed in a standard room as we had quite a few problems with suites last time we stayed. The standard rooms though, have everything you need, especially if only staying for one night. Saying all this, we did have a problem with our air conditioner, which didn't seem to work very well (although reasonable new) and I know several other in our party had the same issue. If we were staying more than one night, we would have complained but seeing as we were staying one night, we didn't bother. The room was VERY hot though as it was a warm day and night, and this was even with the window open all night. The heat did affect our sleep.
We also had a slight issue with flushing the chain, but nothing major. Apart from these two issues, room was perfectly fine and great value for money.
The bar was great as usual, made even better by the staff who were wonderful and welcoming, even taking time to chat to the children on the party. They were very understanding of our needs. The prices in the bar were usual for a hotel and not a problem.
Last time I stayed here with my partner, it was the food that let the hotel down. Again, this was the case. Great staff in the restaurant, but poor food choice and very expensive food has once more let the hotel down. We had planned to stay for breakfast in the hotel, but decided to visit Damons (restaurant next to hotel) and managed to save well over £100 on the price of breakfast over the party.
Food in the hotel restaurant was very inconsistent too, with the same dishes being different when served to different people. For example, a few of us orders 'scouse', some got a lot, some got a little, some got a lot of meat, others got hardly any...too many variables. Again, a big change to the last time we were all there together for a family get together.
I know hotel management feel pricing is competitive, but it really is not. Also a rip off here, is the charge for wifi when a lot of hotel chains, and even B&Bs offer this for standard and for free these days.
As in previous reviews, I think it certainly is the staff that make this hotel. The good price for rooms is definitely a positive too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulos_C_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport and thank you for choosing to spend your special celebration with us.
Your feedback has been passed on to the Operations Manager for his investigation.

If you would like a more detailed reply please contact myself at gsm.cpliverpool@kewgreen.co.uk.

Many thanks for your positive comments regarding our staff, I look forward to welocoming your back soon.

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went to a wedding here recently, it was a beautiful hotel. The room was impressive, the staff were friendly there seemed almost no faults. We were looking forward to tasting the wedding meal. It was cooked on site from the hotel kitchen, the food was AWFUL rubbery chicken (so bad that some elderly people couldn't cut it) the veg looked like it was frozen and from a packet and barely any sauce. It was meant to be pan roasted chicken with a white wine gravy. Sack the chef lol xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki_noo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the food you received during a recent function at our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and food quality to our guests. And I must apologise if you feel we fell short of this during your visit.

Your feedback has been given to our Head Chef for his investigation. If you would like a direct reply please contact the hotel on gsm.cpliverpool@kewgreen.co.uk.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here at the weekend, booked two rooms for my family and my brother who flew in from Canada. Staff were incredibly helpful and very friendly. The lady on the front desk on Saturday morning was particularly helpful, and I wish I could remember her name so I could post on here. I had a million and one requests, and she dealt with them professionally and politely every single time. There was a wedding going on at the same time, and she just handled everything without breaking a sweat,

The real jewel in the crown of the visit though were the old planes behind the airport. A group of volunteers work on a number of old planes behind the hotel, and we were lucky enough to be there on the Saturday when they came. They were incredibly friendly, and gave us a tour of the planes, told us about the history of the site, and we even got a chance to fly a flight simulator !! The kids were made up after this, and my brother, who happens to be an aerospace engineer was very pleased.

All in all, a great weekend, and this will be my hotel of choice when next I'm up in Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Vicki Mangan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here at Crowne Plaza Liverpool Airport . The art deco style is amazing The staff were all really friendly especially the young lad on the reception (With the black glasses) he is an excellent member of staff and the hotel should be very proud of him.
Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sj8610211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding James on reception.

I hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing