We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than reviewed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 31 January 2011

After seeing the poor reviews on TripAdvisor I was a bit hesitant about staying at this hotel but went for it based on the price (£57/night for a double room). The reviews are wrong. This hotel gives GREAT value for money. The room was spotless although it would have been nice to have had facecloths in the bathroom. The bed was AMAZING! A super king which was VERY difficult to get out of because it was so luxurious, soft and comfortable. We could have stayed in bed all day!!! There was little or no noise from the airport which is just next door. The downsides I would say are the room service menu which is limited and when the food arrived it was going cold. On the plus side, this hotel is 7 miles from Liverpool city centre and half the price of hotels there and what they don't say is that the hotel is across the road from a retail park which is great for Sunday shopping!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man_From_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,083 - 1,089 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

This is a lovely hotel, the staff were lovely and no task was too much bother. We arrived at the hotel at 10.30 am we asked if we could leave our luggage as we were too early, the receptionist said she Would see if there were rooms available, ther was and we checked in, this made our day, we freshened. Up and went on our trip, even the cleaning staff were friendly chatting to us in the bathroom, the guy on reception on the check out was great too he sorted out our breakfast as we thought breakfast was not included. All round excellent. Thankyou :)

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisadins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Nice Hotel and the rooms are large and well kept.
The shower often over sprays on to the edge of bath and you end up with a swimming pool on the floor.
The heating at night seems to be reduced and can end up a little chilly.
Wasnt that impressed with the resturant and was certainly not value for money
Staff are very pleasant

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJOPOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Booked an executive room but were told that it was not ready when we arrived at 3.30pm.

We had a couple of beers on the hotel in the bar and then we got our room but it was not very clean. Hairs in bathroom, toe nails under bed etc. The bathroom was full of dust and had not been claened properly for some time.

Got the duty manager to the room and showed him how poorly presented the room was and he agreed. Moved to a slightly better room but still not what you would expect of a hotel that charges £100.00 per night. I told him if he was charging top prices then he had to provide top services and cleanliness. Again he agreed.

Breakfast was poor too and was not very hot and served by disinterested staff. Someone had dropped a tomato on the floor in the breakfast area and it remaided there for the whole time we were there with staff stepping over it rather than picking it up. All in all a big disappointment and I adjusted the bill accordingly to what I thought a dirty room with a cold breakfast was worth....nothing......and again the manager agreed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

beware this hotel no longer offers airport transfers as stated on website. After using this hotel for a number of years my company and clients will no longer be staying here before flights. Not fair on taxi drivers either ( 2 mile journey) because some clown at head office is trying to make a few more pence for share holders. Mark my words this will backfire!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kejame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Typical chain hotel but the Art deco interior made up for all that . The decor is in part original and it extends from the public areas to the rooms . A 'must visit'place for enthusiasts. Period flying posters and photographs on display in foyer and conference area of hotel .
Rooms (on the first floor) have paper thin walls so expect to hear your neighbours.
Service was impersonal, but a managers special room rate excused any shortcomings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luptonmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Very easy to find, as the hotel is off the Speke Boulevard dual carriage-way.
Very close to the airport. The complimentary shuttle from the hotel to airport was dis-continued.

Quick easy check-in, got up-graded to executive room with use of the executive lounge-complimentary wine, beer & canapés included every night.

Room very spacious & clean, complimentary toiletries.

Very comfortable bed, as the rooms are sound-proofed slept very soundly.

Cannot comment on the food as we ate out all evenings. Limited vegetarian/vegan options at the hotel restaurant. 3 Restaurants in the area. Selection of restaurants/bars located on Allerton Road, which is 3 miles from the hotel.

Full leisure facilities not in hotel premises, but is located in the gym next door. Emphasis on this as a previous comment stated that the leisure facilities were in the busy retail park.

Retail park literally across the road with most High Street names.

There is a gas station 0.2 miles on Penketh Drive off Speke Boulevard.

If one prefers not to drive, leave your car at the free hotel car park & take bus 86A from the bus-stop outside the hotel into Liverpool City Centre. Great shopping experience, ample parking in the mall car park should one wish to drive instead.

It was a perfect place to unwind and totally relax!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#58 of 98 in Liverpool
373 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,457 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#25 of 98 in Liverpool
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £51 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing