We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palatine Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #19 of 71 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't Fault it!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

10 of us visited The Palatine Hotel and stayed for 2 nights. We didn't arrive until 11pm on the Friday night and we were in good spirits after having few drinks on a long journey from Bicester. The Staff were second to none, they sorted our rooms out straight away so we could dump our bags and get back to the bar until the early hours. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Shared bathrooms were clean. There is a kitchen on the first floor for you to make a cup of tea. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is a five minute walk from Liverpool South Parkway where you can get a train into the city centre in 10-15mins. Taxi is about £15 into the city centre. The Bar prices are reasonable and the staff Jay and El couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely use again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

we booked this last minute as we got a cheaper flight from Liverpool & still saved on the price of our flight if we flew from Manchester. It was ridiculously cheap & so didn't expect much & we were only stopping 1 night so we thought we would check in, get some food & get our heads down for our 3am rise for the airport 5 mins away. HOW WRONG WERE WE!!!!!!!!

This place beats most star rated hotel/b & bs, it was previously a pub & they've done a fab job with the refurb, we didnt get to bed till gone midnight & we were certainly the worse for wear :-) this place is sooooo friendly, the staff & locals who drink in the bar make you feel so welcome & include you in their company so we decided to have a couple, (big mistake) that COUPLE turned in to A LOT :-) well, they were so friendly we forgot what the time was & how much we were drinking.

Ellen behind the bar was lovely & so helpful, her son John also works the bar & they will tell you or help you any way they can, the check in was easy & quick & we also got a complimentary bottle of wine compliments of the management (thanks Ian & Jan), we were shown to our room & the kitchen & bathroom was pointed out to us, to say we were surprised is an understatement, yes you share a bathroom, not a problem, they are right outside your room door & all you need to shower is there free of charge, the kitchen is fully stocked with a free continental breakfast, unlimited coffee/tea in kitchen during your stay, cereals, fresh fruit, you can help yourself at whatever time of the day during your stay.

If you want a cooked breakfast i think its an extra £3.50 but its huge & well worth the money, the dining room is clean and welcoming & is situated at the other side from the bar which would have been the vault in its "pub days" the food is home made & delicious & so cheap they even do an offer is an adult buys a meal, the kids eat for just £1...... YES £1...... ridiculous!!! although i do think this is going up slightly & so it should.

We retired to bed with a promise from Ellen that she would give us a wake-up call early hours to catch our flight, bless her & she did, & its a good job, we most definitely would have slept in, so thank you Ellen :-)

The airport is only a 5 min drive from the hotel & a train station 2 mins away.

We planned on driving straight back to Manchester on our return from Majorca but enjoyed our stay here we emailed them before our return to the U.K & we were booked in again in the same family room, they didnt disappoint, again so helpful & friendly, even the locals remembered us & asked if we were moving in :-)
They have entertainment on at weekends & i believe they are fantastic so i think maybe a girlie weekend will have to be planned in the future....

I would recommend this place to everyone (already have) you cannot hear the bar noise upstairs so great for families too & ideal for groups of lads/girls planning on clubbing in the town, train station takes you to the center & i believe the taxi fare back is reasonable so go on, price it up & if your happening to be passing through Liverpool book in here, if your after 5stars dont bother, pay the extra!!!! if its a clean down to earth friendly cheap local hotel then you will love this little gem. we will definitely be returning, thanks guys. (ann-marie & mark) :-)

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank batts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Just got back from a lads weekend away very clean rooms and the staff where brilliant couldn't do enough for us thanks Ian and jay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

wasnt sure what to expect! last minute booking and for the price of it you cant really expect more than what we got! the staff are fantastic! you feel like your at home i would stay there everytime i got to that part of liverpool even if you are coming from the airport its literally 5 mins away, absolutely fantastic world reccomend to anyone :) thank you again to all the staff

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantsatic ellen showed me the available rooms and they are fantastic room 3 was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew-kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

From outside the hotel locs like a friendly local pub on a corner. When we went inside the staff were very friendly and couldnt have done anymore to make my 18th birthday trip amazing. We booked the room for 5 and the day before wanted to take another person. we phoned the hotel and they were more than happy to add in another bed for the 6 of us. Nothing was too much trouble.The bedroom was so clean and fresh it was really relaxing, and surpassed our expectations. It is approximately 10 mins in a taxi costing around £10. Before we went out we had a few drinks with the customers in the pub who were very friendly. Would like to say a huge thank you to Jay and Ellen the staff at the Palatine. Would most definately stay there again and would be more than happy to recommend it to anyone - families, couples, and grooups of friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect but I needed a room close to Liverpool South Parkway (also handy for John Lennon Airport as there is a bus directly to the airport) and the room was clean, neat, and well decorated. Bathroom was opposite the room and clean. The separate kitchen is a nice touch, allowed me to help myself to breakfast myself (early train)

Room cost £45 continental breakfast was included and full English breakfast offered for an extra £3.50 - very good value.

Would agree with the previous poster that the people who work in The Palatine were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weiry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We were going to a friends party in Liverpool and opted to stay in a hotel rather than stay on a sofa at a friends house. I know Liverpool,as my Uni town, so chose an area that I knew was easy to get into town,but not town centre as the hotels in the city centre at short notice are around £300!!

This hotel was £65, the room was huge and clean and tastefully decorated, the bathroom was opposite our room, clean with two toilets and two showers. There was also a kitchen downstairs that we could use for tea and coffee and breakfast. Towels were also provided which is a nice touch.

The high point of this hotel has to be the incredibly warm staff and warm welcome you recieve. We ended up staying for a Sunday lunchtime drink after checking out as the staff were so lovely to talk to.

I would certainly say you should stay here, if you want somewhere warm and clean to stay in Liverpool without paying the extortionate city centre prices.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielleW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,959 reviews
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#14 of 71 in Liverpool
69 reviews
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 71 in Liverpool
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palatine Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palatine Hotel Liverpool

Property: Palatine Hotel Liverpool
Address: 1 Island Road, Liverpool L19 1RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palatine Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing