We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devoid of any atmosphere ”

The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen
Ranked #522 of 1,720 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: European, Grill
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Devoid of any atmosphere ”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Been here a good few times now as my friend lives locally. Some bar staff are great, but others let the place down.
The place is beautiful.
Shame about the silly mannequins hanging on the wall
The beers and other drinks are decent and with the new outdoor area, its quite pleasant on a sunny day.
The food however is overpriced, flavourless, greasy rubbish.
I thoroughly understand that its a pub not a restaurant but £8 for a burger with no sides is ridiculous. It came with a jelly baby on top (which seems like a joke).
They seem to be attempting to recreate what one of my favourite Burger bars in the city centre are doing. Unfortunately, the chef fails miserably. Come on 'The Dovey' put a bit of effort into your menu.
Almost Famous and Byron Burger are nailing those gourmet style burgers.
At present, yours are just lazy and overpriced.
All that said, I would really love to see this place get its act together so I could justifiably frequent it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Reg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoveyTeam, Manager at The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your constructive criticism. It has definitely been taken on board and is reflected in the removal of our old "burger van" menu and replaced with our new menu. A lot has changed in the past few weeks here at The Dovey and we are very keen to show everyone all of our changes. Feedback from the new menu has been very positive and hopefully we can get you back to The Dovey and you can agree to all the hopefully positive changes we have introduced. Once again, thanks for your help in identifying past issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    9
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I don't usually write review but the one below berating the 'horrible staff' annoyed be, This place is brilliant. The staff among the best I have come across in any place. Always friendly and willing to help whether it's packed or quiet. I don't see how the bar man having a bit of a joke with you about the menu would cause an issue. Stop taking yourself so seriously. It's not a Wetherspoons so why do you need a menu, how many times have you been in a pub, surely you understand the concept of drink ordering by now and what you can get? I HIGHLY recommend this place and will continue taking my friends as no one wants to go to a bar/pub void of any personality. The food is pretty good too!

P.S it is spelt 'Disgusted'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank StevenR420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoveyTeam, Manager at The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for the feedback Steven, We always try and deliver excellent service whilst not taking ourselves too seriously and this is reflected in our staff's attitude towards their jobs. We are trying to build a client base who will be comfortable and at home in The Dovey all year round and it is a very friendly place to be for all. The positive feedback has been passed onto all the bar team and they are happy they managed to create a nice atmosphere for your evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Dovey”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very good bar which does modern bar food, the burgers are a speciality and are very good. The staff are very nice here and our dog is allowed in. Even my parents, who are very fussy, ate here! They do a lot of good beer, however, they do seem to run out of real ale which is a bit of a basic thing in a pub!

Helpful?
Thank r4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We popped in here by chance to have something to eat mid afternoon in the week and were very impressed with both the service and the food. The bar manager was extremely helpful - think his name was tom - and the food we had was exceptionally good. Would recommend this to anyone and will be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FatBoyFat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoveyTeam, Manager at The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time for your review and apologies for the lateness of our reply. Whilst we are glad you enjoyed your previous visit to The Dovey, we are keen to get you back in and see the improvements from your last visit, We have a new menu and ever changing decor and ambience which is currently creating something very special on Penny Lane. Hopefully you can visit and see what we mean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“horrible staff”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we went to the dovey a few days ago and was greeted by a scruffy looking bar man with long brown hair tied back who when we asked for some drinks menus replied with 'ha you want a drinks menu ?? you have clearly never been here before we don't do menus look with your eyes' we then told the BoY we didn't like his attitude and his reply was if you don't like it the penny lane wine bar is round the corner go there me and my friend was absolutely discusted and left and I suggest the manager reviews his or her staff as this young lad obviously hates his job !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank lacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDoveyTeam, Manager at The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Lacey, First of all I would like to apologise that your visit to The Dovey was such a bad experience. The Dovey has has a major change in the past few months and we have only just got round to reviewing all our feedback from previous regimes. I hope your previous negative visit will not keep you away from The Dovey as we are very proud of all the changes we have made and are very keen to show them off. If you would reconsider re-visiting The Dovey then we will happily shout you a round of drinks and show you just how much better the place has become. The Dovey has a new lease of life and we are very keen to let everybody know just how we do things now here. Once again, thanks for your constructive criticism and please give us another shot at giving you an enjoyable evening on Penny Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Dovey - Brew House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing