We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, staff & food”
Review of Azzurro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Azzurro
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, staff & food”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Found by chance trying to get dinner on Allerton road with my boyfriend. We were seated in the back room near the fire, waitress was lovely - really, really lovely. Ordered a meat sharer sample plate, 2 carbonaras and moretti beers. after around 5/10 minutes the waitress returned with some free olives and to apologise that there may be a slight wait of the food - not an issue, the atmosphere was relaxed so we and it wasn't too long a wait. It was nice of her to give warning though.
Both the starter and main were delicious and we stayed alittle after to have an extra drink. The bill for the food & 6 beers came to around ££35 (I can't remember exactly) I felt that it was great value for money. Had a great evening here. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PickleMitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor Service, Poor Food!”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Having visited this resturant a couple years ago and being very impressed we decided to go there again for a Birthday celebration as a party of ten...we were very dissapointed! The staff didn't seem to know what was going on and their waitressing skills left a lot to be desired. We were shown up to a very cold room and ordered drinks, which eventually came and were plonked on the table all in bottles, even the wine was unopened for us to pour ourselves (not that we are unable to pour our own drinks but it's not the kind of service you would expect to recieve). We then waited for what seemed like a life time to even get the menus...we should have really got up and left then!
Both the starters and mains were very poor quality. The food did not have any taste and meals looked incomplete. How they get away with charging the prices they do I don't know!
And then to top it off the people who had the carbonara (if thats what you can call it) all suffered with bad tummys.
I would definitely advise people to avoid this resturant and I will be very suprised if it is still there by the end of the year!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammieb_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restarant manager required”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Visited for an early dinner. No dinners where in house at the time. Menus were given out but return to table for drinks orders and food order was far too long. The menu is very limited.The staters were ok but olives really poor quality ( cheap mass tinned).The mains again were ok, no more than that. Between courses again the service was slow with empty plates taking forever to be removed from table. The drinks were also poor quality with the diet coke been poured with no fizz at all. I suspect it was rola cola.
This place needs experienced staff in place ASAP.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth A Try”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This restaurant has recently changed hands and is now in new ownership. It offers the type of menu that you would expect from an Italian restaurant and at a reasonable price. At the time of our visit we ( a party of four ) we were quickly made to feel welcome and offered a selection of refreshments (only bottled beer ) The food was ample in portion and we all enjoyed the related atmosphere chatting with the attentive staff one of whom (Hayley) we made blush.
There is a lot of completion for restaurants in this area and time will tell how this one fares. Our party all agreed that we had enjoyed our night, it had been good value and that we would return.
Definitely worth a try

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cosy, friendly Italian!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We visited Azzurro with family and found the staff friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere was warm and comfortable and the food was delicious. I had a pizza which was excellent as were the starters we shared. The house wine was very good and the prices are very good value for money. We have since visited as a couple and thoroughly enjoyed our evening and we will return again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azzurro also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing