We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cavern Pub

Cavern Pub
Ranked #9 of 196 Nightlife in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oshawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent music - and food ... reasonably priced ... Right across from the Cavern Club - you can do both places at once ...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    111
    23
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Not the Cavern Club..... still great”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Situated across the small lane from the Cavern Club, this is a small and welcoming city centre pub. Whilst I visited for lunch and a few beers, it is set up for evening entertainment, with a large open space set aside near the entrance for gig audiences. Memorabilia around the walls is fascinating (to music lovers) and people called in just to look at the pictures. Very limited snack menu but you get good food for a reasonable price. Beer and burger with chips and salad for about £10. Good background music, clean and very helpful staff (and quick).
Thoroughly enjoyable couple of hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Check where you are going”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went here thinking we'd gone to the Cavern Club - it's just across the street. Full of TV's, the band thought loud = music, the staff were grumpy, and the locals seemed to sense we'd come to the wrong place. Ok as a city centre boozer but not as a iconic tourist attraction.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spent thursday eve from about 9 in here, A lot lighter and more pub like than the cavern club, a great band was playing, didnt stay to late so no idea what time it closes but for the time i was there i really enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“"Amazing"”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

everyone says go there, and I have to say the same, you HAVE to go there and experience something truly amazing.
ok so its not a massive place but you lose all that with a relaxing beer and some truly amazing live acts... after going once we had to revisit again... and again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoobyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavern Pub also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Cavern Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing